We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #31 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights with two teenage sons in October despite mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. However, we were really impressed by everything about the hotel. Made the booking for 2 adjoining rooms a few weeks ago and got 3 nights for the cost of 2 and a free breakfast every day. A couple of weeks before we were due to travel, saw the same rooms 80 euro cheaper so the hotel kindly gave me the rooms at the lower rate. From the minute we arrived, the staff were very pleasant and extremely efficient. The hotel is well-located with an s-bahn station right opposite and very convenient for travelling everywhere in Berlin. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean. However, our two sons were a bit put off by the glass panel walls in their bathroom! The breakfasts were the absolute highlight. In all our travels, we have never seen such a selection of well-presented, fresh high-quality food and the waiting staff could not have been more helpful. My sons absolutely adored the freshly-made crepes which were incredible!
I could really recommend this hotel based on our experience!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    714
    112
    25
    9
See reviews for
275
867
108
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wise_rita
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Close location to public transit (both U- and S-bahn stations, though travel was always required as the hotel isn't "right in the middle of the action".

Immaculate rooms with a reasonably priced mini bar. Huge bathtub and the rubber ducky was a nice touch. Front desk staff was very friendly, spoke great English and eager to help.

Didn't eat at or near the hotel as other reviews scared us off. Wasn't pleased we had to pay for wireless internet.

The biggest flaw was the carpet in the hallway, which I thought was ugly and mismatched (totally trivial), so, highly recommended!

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Prices seem to have gone up and special deals are more hard to come by since I last stayed a few years ago. The building itself is impressive - the former Siemens building in east Berlin now converted. Location is excellent in a quiet street overlooking an open lawn (not really a park) just a few minutes walk from Potsdamer Platz and well connected on the S-Bahn. The rooms are adequately presented if beginning to date a little. The high point is definitely the dining area in a covered inner courtyard - busy in the morning for a copious if pricey breakfast, quieter in the evening for meals that always impressed. Service varies - restaurant staff were attentive, whereas the reception staff were frosty and generally unhelpful and robotic.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

My trip was sort of a last minute thing, so I picked the hotel purely based on the location. I went to a concert in Tempodrom and had a morning flight the next morning so I wanted the stay to be as simple as possible. I had a single - the room was modern, felt spacious, had a good sized bath room and good air conditioning. Iron & board was available on request. The view was ok, over to the park and Tempodrom. As this was a last minute thing, I wasn't too well prepared, and had quite a few questions/requests, and I got excellent assistance from the reception staff.

Breakfast was not included, and I had mine at the airport, so can't comment on that.

The only downside probably was the very pricey internet access, probably priced for the business travelers in mind. Other than that, I had a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aapeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We were moved to the Moevenpick hotel because of overbooking from a different hotel. The room was prepaid using booking.com service (EUR 228). Nevertheless these clever folks blocked another EUR 318 on my credit card. I was not able to use the credit card during my stay in Berlin. What a nice surprise. After all my attempts to make them to release my money I have only received the promises. After one week my money are still blocked, so I went into overdraft on my current account and still paying the overdraft interest rate.
These guys just do not care. Front office staff is ok, most likely they are instructed by management to block as much money as possible "just in case".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vkupcis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JZirkler, HR Assistant at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
Without having any other information we as a hotel were obliged to safeguard the occurring costs by charging your credit card in advance. When the costs will be finally paid another way (e.g. by another credit card or hotel), the reserved amount of the charged credit card will expire after 24 hours from our side. But in the end the bank issued the credit card and has also to release the reserved amount. The period of time for releasing the credit card depends on the bank - within one country normally one day, offshore up to two weeks.

We regret that it led to problems for our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Moevenpick Berlin for five nights in June and have nothing but enthusiastic praise for the staff, decor, location, room rate, etc. We got a great rate at hotels.com for one of the fantastic “designer bathtub” rooms in the attic. The breakfast buffet is as good as they get but at 21 Euros per person it’s overpriced. Other than that we recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Stayed there for 1 night in June 2009. Hotel was clean and modern, but lacked any sort of character that makes a hotel welcoming.

Staff were OK but as with all the hotels I've stayed in Berlin lacked enthusiasm for their job, they were laid back to the point of being disinterested. Room service not 24 hour and menu fiddly and limited. Food when it turned up was quite good.

Had a suite room that was a decent size, although for the price not really worth it. Plenty of room to move about in it though as furnishings were very limited.

To be honest, never felt at home. One very annoying feature was automatic blinds that went up and down outside the windows depending on the light levels outside. If you're sleeping in the day the noise will wake you up and when they are down they completely block any view you may have of outside.

Another annoying thing was the air-con wouldn't go down low enough, even on the lowest setting the room always felt hot.

Not a bad hotel, but for the money well below average in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomster100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Property: Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#35 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing