We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast for a 4 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Berlin City West
Ranked #147 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Istanbul
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast for a 4 star!”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

There is a metro station enterence 50m away from hotel. As travelling with metro & bus network is very easy & cheat in Berlin, it makes easy to go everywhere from the hotel.
The rooms were clean, quiet, the reception employees were very helpful.
And the best thing about the hotel for me was the great open buffet breakfast. There were a wide variety of cheese & breads, yogurts, egg, cold & hot drinks etc.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room close to elivator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    267
    124
    39
    22
See reviews for
84
221
62
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Firstly, the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. A call to reception requesting something would see it brought to the room within minutes.
The room was more like an apartment with living room, double bedroom, small kitchen with fridge and cooker, but with no crockery, cutlery untensils etc, and a bathroom. The bathroom was very clean but on the whole the apartment was a little shabbyand tired, with grubby paintwork, and walls. The bed was comfortable although had two single duvets on a zip together mattress. The living room had a round table with four chairs two faux leather chairs and a sofa bed. TV with only two English channels both news. It was not too noisy but I was on the 5th floor.
Breakfast was not included in my room rate and is charged extra at €17.00. This is over priced by about double. It is the usual buffet style serve yourself with a selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals and pastries and bread. The hot alternative is poor quality produce and poorly cooked. e.g. only scrambled egg offered and it had to be SLICED! If I stayed again, which I might, I'd have my breakfast elsewhere. The coffee however was very good and plentiful.
My other major criticism was WiFi or internet connection. Business package cost €5.95 per hour or €17.95 per 24hours or €75.00 for seven days. An economy alternative started at €10.95 (24hrs) but was much truncated. This is a rip off and would discourage me as a business traveller, after all I am out most of the day and only really need WiFi early evening and first thing in the morning. I think €5.95 per 24 hours would be a fairer price, or make it 24 hours during the stay not a 24 hour period.
The standard of the hotel was adequate to a point apart from the aforementioned, it was in a good area, but if it was aiming at the business traveller or budget traveller, Premier Inn it ain't.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerhouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The Hotel was in a residential area very close to U Bahn Berliner Str with connections to DB Train stations. I was flying into Schonefeld and attending and exhibition at Messe/ICC so this was convenient for both. Room was spacious & clean with all requirements including mini-bar, toiletries, mineral water etc. I spent some time working in my room and the Internet access was, I felt rather pricey at €17 for 24hrs. I didnt use the bar or room service but had a very nice and cheap Pizza from the restaurant across the road!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We booked a weekend trip to Berlin and decided to stay at NH Berlin City West. The information on various websites stated that the hotel is located within walking distance of the Kurfurstendamm, which is one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel. Unfortuantely the information turned out to be incorrect, as it was at least a 20 minute walk to the shopping streets.
The hotel itself is fine, the receptionists were very friendly, rooms were clean and quite large.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I am so disappointed with this hotel that I couldn't even wait to get home before writing this review -- I am writing from the dingy hotel room itself. (Thankfully I brought my own internet USB stick... WARNING: they have the gall to charge 17 Euros a day for internet access)

I've stayed at other NH hotels and have always been perfectly happy with them, but I'm sorry to say that the NH Berlin City West does not live up to the chain's name. I wanted to like this hotel as I come to Berlin often and would like to have a go-to hotel that I always stay at, but unfortunately I will never choose to come here again.

First of all, there is NO way this is a 4-star hotel. It has the classic facade of a hotel trying to appear nicer than it is (nice entranceway and lobby, grand check-in counter, big bowl of free apples) but once you get your key everything crumbles. The poor, puttering elevator takes an eternity. (I have taken to climbing the stairs) The walls are like paper (I can always hear the banging of doors in the hallway), the carpet is old and worn, the floor feels thin and hollow, the paint is peeling, and the place is overall in desperate need of a renovation/makeover. It's truly an embarrassment. The first thing I thought when I opened my door was, "I've stayed in HOSTELS nicer than this." Not a good thought when you were expecting 4-stars.

The service is perfectly fine. No heart-warming smiles but nothing negative to note either.

For the area this hotel is priced on the cheap side, so I guess you get what you pay for.

Biggest disappointment in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloratura6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The hotel was fine. Rooms spacious, staff friendly and good location for access to all of Berlin using the underground system. Breakfast was good selection of hot and cold. One complaint: no air conditioning in room and during July the room got very warm. Because of its location when you opened the windows for ventilation the early morning traffic noise was VERY LOUD.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2010

What I did not like in this hotel - the bed. "Double-bed" was just two single beds put together. They tended to move apart every second one moves.
I did not have breakfast, for my opinion, it is too expensive there (around 16 euro per person). For this price one can have a good meal in Berlin. 100-200 meters from the hotel were some nice places to have breakfast for a half of this price.
The hotel was nice and clean, a bit overpriced though. It fits good for a business trip, but for a romantic trip one has to choose something different :(

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natallia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#125 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Two Hotel Berlin
#260 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Köpenick
NH Berlin Treptow
NH Berlin Treptow
#154 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Ibis Berlin City West
#183 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Berlin City West

Property: NH Berlin City West
Address: Bundesallee 36/37 | Wilmersdorf, Charlottenburg, 10717 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in Berlin
#107 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#113 Family Hotel in Berlin
#156 Business Hotel in Berlin
#158 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Berlin City West 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to NH Berlin City West, a four-star hotel ideally located just five minutes from one of Berlin's most popular shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Berlin City West Hotel Berlin
Nh Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing