We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berlin chic!”
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #165 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

I loved the quirkiness of this hotel! Might not be to everyobody's taste, but aside from that it was clean, spacious and great location. My partner and I regularly do city breaks and always aim to keep costs down but that usually means taking a gamble on the accommodation and as a result we've stayed in some questionable hotels! However, for it's price this hotel was more luxorious than others in this price range! The bathroom is an odd layout but private, clean and spacious- what more do you need? We had a room overlooking the main road with large windows but noise was minimal. The location of this hotel is a winning factor...some lovely restaurants and bars and close to the u bahn. Most evenings we walked to hackescher markt which has more choice of eateries and is only a 5 min walk. There is an s bahn station there too. Also museum island is only a short distance away from the hotel. Next door to the hotel is an intimidating looking building which is a galley and well worth a visit!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone but especially young couples who like quirky boutique type hotels. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitneyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear WhitneyMay,

Thank you so much for your kindly feedback.
We appreciate your phrases and we will forward them to our employees as a motivation to satisfy our guests.

It nice to hear that you liked the individual rooms and the location of the hotel.
Berlin is a city for every person with all its facets.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and wish you all the best for your future.

Best regards

Your Velvet Team
ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

I like´d it a lot. Very nice rooms, with plenty of space.

A nice location, lot´s of bars and restaurants if front of it, and walking distance from the museums and berlin wall.

The bad thing is that the showers don´t have curtains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heliow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Heliow,

thank you for beeing our guest at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

We appreciate that you have found the time to give us a feedback.
Also we like to say, we will forward this issue concerning the bathroom to our management.
For the year 2013 we are plannning structural alteration measures with our bathrooms.

We are looking forward to welcome you next time at our hotel and we wish you a good time.

Best regards,

Feeback Manager
Your Velvet Team
ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

it's pretty amazing. i've come to expect things to fall through the cracks when it comes to customer service at hotels. they're large organizations with dozens of people working different shifts, things are bound to happen. but when i mention some need no matter how small to a staff member at this hotel, it's taken care of asap. AND, the other staff are informed and on top of things as well. the rooms are small and comfy and very clean. the location is fantastic for eating out and sight seeing. mitte is a neighborhood that never leaves you wanting. frankly for the the price, you can't beat this hotel. no room service, not a fan of the breakfast in the attached restaurant. so what? there are at least two grocery stores, several restaurants and a mcdonald's all within walking distance.

Room Tip: i prefer the rooms facing the street and had no problem with noise level. request an electric ket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekimberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at Arcotel Velvet. It is a clean, comfortable & friendly hotel in a fabulous area - with good restaurant, bars & shops nearby.

Our rate didn't include breakfast, so rather than eat in the hotel we went to nearby places such as the wonderful Mogg & Melzer on Augustsrasse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your second stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.
We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed the hotel and like the location with all the breakfast facilities.
Also we are looking forward to welcome you next time at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Nice, clean rooms and great neighborhood with lots of restaurants, a fabulous ice cream stand across the street and many of the major museums close by. Next to Tacheles, an artist occupied building, a center of the Berlin contemporary art scene. Good service.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank cdla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and for your feedback.
We are happy to hear, that you liked the art scene of Berlin. In Berlin Mitte there a lot possibilities to express yourself.
We will forward the positive feedback about clean rooms and good service to our Velvet Team.
Also we are looking forward to welcome you next time at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and wish you all best for your future.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Very nice, modern rooms. We liked the layout of the room and the view of the bustling street below.

You are within easy walking distance of a lot of great restaurants and shops as well as subway stations to get you anywhere else quickly.

We were given a wireless router for the room which we just had to plug into the wall for wifi access for all our devices for free.

The only reason I gave this place a 4 instead of a 5 was that the bed was way to "firm" for my fiance and I, we both found it to be far to hard for our taste.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the street, which is very nice, but also a little noisier. We opted for st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your time in Berlin and that you liked the hotel and its location.

We are also sorry, that you had such problems with the bed.
In the next months we will replace step by step the mattresses at the rooms.

So we hope, we can welcome you the next time at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin

Best regards,
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The location was perfect. Close to the U ban and in walking distance from a great choice of resturants.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AmirTLVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#75 of 634 in Berlin
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#185 of 634 in Berlin
592 reviews
Mitte
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#429 of 634 in Berlin
160 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#113 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#161 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £60 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing