We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ARCOTEL Velvet
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 38(Berlin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Aquino(Berlin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
312
333
90
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
333
90
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoranienburger strassefloor to ceiling windowsgreat locationaround the cornertram stopwithin walking distancejunior suitepublic transportmini barbars and restaurantseast berlinmitte arealong weekendmuseum islandwould definitely stay here againthe hotel offerss bahn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We liked the room, is a goid price, great location, the coffee shoos nearby are very tasty. The internet is for free and works good. The room is clean, not too big, but comfortable. We would come back for sure in our next visit to Berlin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dra_Gabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin to visit the capital city of Germany.
We are honored that you was impressed by our hotel and the area around us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A very good location. 2 min from Underground U6. 20 wolk from Pergamon museum and the Hackescher markt. 5 min wolk from the galeries at August st. very clean. frienly and helpfull service.No free WIFI!!! but for 4 euro per day you can have wifi, and there are 2 computers at the bar- free use/

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guzzi7262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you could get a good insight about the city.
We look forward that you was satisfied with the pretty good location and
the quality of our guest-service.
For the future we wish you all the best and we hope to welcome you again.
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotels.com and paid about what you would pay for an Ibis or a Premier Inn. Our room was on the front but so long as you kept the window closed at night the outside noise was minimal. The windows open enough to allow airing which was useful as there was a strange smell in our room when we arrived. It had disappeared by the next day just as we had decided to complain! The room was a reasonable size with a good shower over a bath. Although there is no restaurant, it is very easy to find breakfast in the surrounding area and the location is convenient for Museum Island and transport links.
Two niggles: firstly the often mentioned lack of free wifi and the provision of a bottle of water which they wanted over 3 euros for. Either don't provide or give a free welcome bottle. Ok the daily apples were a nice touch and all in all the hotel provides good value for its price.

Room Tip: Third floor front suited me. I think some floors have smoking rooms, apparently the Germans have more personal liberty than we do!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janfrommanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,
We are proud that you staying with us and you took your time to wrote your recommend about the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.
It is great, that you were satisfied with our room-design, the central location of our hotel close by the major sights of Berlin and the good connection to the public transportation.
Our guests have the possibility to contact our front office staff by any inconvenience to find a kind solution for a relaxing stay in our hotel. We keep in touch with our housekeeping staff to check the rooms much better to have a high quality.
We working for a better wifi service in our hotel, we hope we could offer it to the fall 2013.
The apples you will find in every ARCOTEL of our group and the idea is to give our guests a few vitamins for the day.
We wish you all the best.
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with a friend, Really loved the location, the staff was friendly and extremely friendly and helpful. We had a comfortable superior room that unfortunately overlooked the back of the hotel, which was quite depressing as it was basically an empty lot. We probably should have said something, but as we were barely in the room it wasn't an issue. We also asked for a room with two beds, so that may have limited room options. The bathroom was big but only had a shower head and a drain in the middle of the bathroom - no tub, no shower curtain, which made a huge mess and was nerve wracking while showering and hoping that the water didn't reach the door. Nonetheless, a great place to stay and I would definitely go back, making sure to request a street facing room and a bathtub.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing street with bathtub.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAR_CEL_ONA_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and your positive review about us.
That you liked our friendly staff is really nice.
The rooms to the courtyard have the advantage that these rooms are quieter as to the front side and have a typical charm of Berlin courtyard style.
You are right that we have same rooms with a large bathroom without a shower curtain.
But we will give your inspiration to our management to create a better solution about the shower situation.
Please send us an email with your wishes for your next booking in our hotel and
We will happy to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I wouldn't stay here again. The location was OK, but the street was very noisy at night. The rooms were warm as the AC was turned off (it was in September) but the window hardly opened making it very stuffy and warm in the room. There is not a restaurant in the hotel either, next time I'd like to stay in a different area of Berlin and a hotel with a restaurant.

My main complaint is that free wifi was advertised, but when we arrived we were told it was not available. We were there on business and picked the hotel based on wifi.

Also, there was another incident where they gave us the hotel address to give to our cab driver our first night there to get back to the hotel. The hotel gave us the wrong address and our cab took us to the wrong hotel. It cost us nearly double in cab fares.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJK_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks that you choose our ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin for your business trip to Berlin.
We are not happy about it that you dissatisfied your stay in our hotel and we would like to apologize your incident about the double taxi transfer to our hotel.
In this case we would be pleased, that you tell us this incident at our front office and give us the bill of this transfer to refund it.
Our hotel is located in a central area in Berlin, and we also could offer rooms to the courtyard in our hotel, these rooms are quieter as the rooms to the front side of your house.
We send your information about your inconveniences about the AC and the temperature in your room
to our technical staff to check our system for any problems.
At the moment we working for a free wifi service in our hotel, and for this time we cooperate with a cost wifi signal for our guests. We hope that we could offer this in the near future.
But we wish you all the best for your future and sending you
Kind regards from Berlin

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews