We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #167 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great hotel to stay in. Modern and clean with everything in working order. A few things made it stand out - the floor to ceiling windows and the bathroom that was completely open to the room (there was a separate closed toilet) - I thought it was great - but my husband was uncomfortable with it. The staff at reception were polite and very helpful! the location of the hotel was good - very close to the underground that can get you to the centre for sight seeing as well as to the bus station for the airport.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

We like to thank you so much for your stay in our hotel and for your good feedback.
It is always a pleasure to hear that you have enjoy your stay with us because of the friendly reception team and the good location.
For your next time in Berlin we also offer rooms with a closed bathroom. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your booking. Of course we try everything to satisfy all our guests. We wish you all the best.

Best regards
Your Velvet Team
ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    308
    80
    29
    12
See reviews for
67
341
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

New and modern, very clean and good service. The only difficult we had was to close well the curtain for the morning light, probably our fault but for some reason we never manage to do it well. Front road room tend to be bit noisy as expected.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santhares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our modern, clean rooms and our friendly service. Your positive words encourage us to keep up our high standards.

If you choose to stay with us again in the future we will gladly give you a room towards the backside of the hotel, which are a little bit quieter than the rooms overlooking Oranienburger Straße. Please just ask our front desk staff at check-in.

We hope that we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Picked this hotel due to the location.
The hotel is modern, bright and the room I stayed in was excellent and spotlessly clean with a great shower and air con which was luxury.
The staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.
I am planning another visit in October and I will have no hesitation with booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timthemil .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.
We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our friendly staff and great service throughout your stay.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

The ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pros - Convinient location, right by U station and pretty close to another S station. Nice neighbourhood.
Hotel itself - nice rooms, quiet, nice balcony (!) to the room we stayed at, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons - uncomfortable mattress, no where to put your things in the shower. For placing toothpaste, thoothbrush, deodorant etc there is very small space on the edge of the sink, not so convinient.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We hope that you enjoyed your trip and that you had a safe journey home.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. It is greatly appreciated.
We are happy to hear that we could make an impression on you regarding our central location, the rooms and our friendly and helpful staff.

We want to apologize that you found the mattresses uncomfortable and that there was not enough room in the shower for your things. We forwarded the latter issue to our house technician.

To store your toothbrush and other cosmetics there a empty shelves available inside the mirror cabinet for your convenience.

We would like to thank you again for staying with us and hope you will give us the opportunity to show you our high standards and quality at ARCOTEL Velvet in near future.

Kind regards,
The ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, which made all the difference. The rooms were also great. At least my room was. The room had floor to ceiling glass that overlooked the street. The room was very nice and exceptional for the money. The hotel is also in a great location. It is an easy walk to the Museum Island and towards some of the quieter neighborhoods in the area. Including some good cafes and restaurants.

My only complaint is that I booked two rooms online that were suppose to be on the second level overlooking the street. Instead I only got one room overlooking the street and a less desirable room facing a drab courtyard in the middle. I inquired about chaining the other room. They told me that they could not guarantee rooms that were booked online via third party webpages. But this is the only hotel in Europe where I did not receive the room they was described to me online via a third party website.

Other than my minor complaint. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I prefer the street facing rooms. I enjoy the animation of the streets in Berlin. The other rooms, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank your for staying at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our great service. We have already forwarded your nice words to our staff.

We are sorry that we were just able to offer you one room with a panorama streetview. Of course we do take the wishes of our guests very serious but unfortunately we just do have several rooms like that.

We want to thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback and would be happy to see you again, soon.

Sincerely,
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Berlin. We booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor.
Very friendly and helpful reception staff. We arrived a couple of hours before check in but the very pleasant girl on reception let us have the room immediately. Room very clean. Good air con, great shower, comfortable bed and a very good hairdryer!
Location was perfect for our needs.
Good selection of restaurants around.
We didn't use anything from the mini bar but prices seemed fairly reasonable.
We enjoyed Berlin and would definitely stay in this hotel again. Couldn't fault it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for giving us such a great feedback for your last stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your nice words about our staff and our location.
We would be happy to welcome you again, soon.

All the best
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

• Positive: next to Metro Tram and U-Bahn, long block from S-Bahn; many places to eat in immediate area, although food wasn’t great. The room is roomy. In daytime, the wall of window gives lots of light. Big shower stall (no bath), excellent towels. Plenty of hangers, bed ok, pillows fair to poor. I should mention that every hotel had the same too warm heavy blanket covered with a pillowcase kind of sheet. It’s sized for one, so I don’t how it’s supposed to work with 2 people. There was medicine cabinet with room for stuff, but I mainly used the front of the giant sink for my dop kit. The desk was large with big work area. Room clean, elevators worked, staff helpful if not especially knowledgeable.
• Negative: Number one issue is difficulty working at desk: lighting is insane - 2 lights on either end of desk that shine directly in your eyes, like you’re being interrogated; bench seat instead of a chair. Comfortable chair in corner of room - but no light to read by at night! More expensive than I would like. Breakfast cost 17 euros at place next door, which I did not try; preferred much cheaper coffee place on Friedrichstr.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your extensive feedback.

We appreciate that you took the time to leave these comments.

We are very happy to hear that you have so many positive things to say about our house; especially the room and its arrangement and the area surrounding the hotel.
Since we are located right in the heart of Berlin sights, public transportation and bars & restaurants are all close by and easy to reach. Thank you for your nice words.

To explain the size of the blankets: we offer each guest their own blanket so that is why they are not any bigger. This is a regular standard in german Hotels.

We are sorry to hear that you found it difficult to work at the desk because of the lighting. We forwarded this issue to our house technician to fix the problem.
As for the breakfast prices at the neighboring “Berlin_Theke”, we do not have any influence on them since they do not belong to the hotel but of course we have told them about your suggestion to offer a cheaper breakfast.

We do hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a safe trip home.
We are glad to welcome you back again any time in the future.

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#74 of 634 in Berlin
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#77 of 634 in Berlin
462 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Property: ARCOTEL Velvet
Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#114 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#161 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing