We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #130 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
mahwah, nj
1 review
“WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Not very clean, hallways smell like rotten eggs, no room service, terrible area (graffiti everywhere), small rooms!!!

Would not send my worst enemy there!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvtms910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    296
    80
    28
    9
See reviews for
66
333
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night city break in Berlin in December, staying at the Arcotel Velvet. We were very please with our choice and thought it was great value for money. The hotel was in an excellent location with the tram and UBahn (Oranienburger Tor) just outside/next street. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us an information pack on arrival. The hotel was very comfortable and stylish with a modern design and fantastic floor to ceiling windows. 2 PCs were in the bar where guests can access the internet free of charge. The breakfast buffet was very generous. The central location of the hotel allowed us to walk into the city centre, but we took the UBahn back after we were exhasuted from a full days sightseeing. Airport transfer: We took the SBahn to and from Schonefield Airport, it took about 1hour with 1 change (Route: UBahn Orienburger Tor to Friedrichstrasse, then changed to SBahn for Schonefield changing at Ostkreuz)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MozartEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Fantastic boutique hotel in a fantastic location. We stayed 3 nights over New Year's Eve in 2008.

The room had great amenities, with a great view of Oranienburger Strasse so we could see the madness from a safe distance.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

This was a great hotel in a fun artsy area of the city. We stayed 4 nights at the Acrotel Velvet during our 3 week trip the Eastern and Central Europe.

The Acrotel Velvet is right around the corner from the U-Bahn underground subway (U Oranienburger Tor Stop) and right across the street from the tram stop. We used the highly efficient and easy Berlin BVD Public Transit System to get to the hotel from the airport to get to the train station as we were leaving.

There are dozens of restaurants in the immediate proximately to the hotel (five minutes or less walk) and dozens more within a a twenty minute walk in almost any direction. We had great food and good service everywhere we went in Berlin.

We found Berlin to be an amazing and welcoming city with incredible history and culture and would be happy to spend more time there.

The Acrotel Velvet was a perfect home base location for our daytime sightseeing and evening dining and nightlife. We walked most of the time and also used the U-Bahn and tram to get around with the Berlin Welcome Card which also gave us discounts at some attractions.

The hotel public areas and our room was was very modern and nicely decorated. We received excellent service from the desk staff and the bar staff.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsUK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

The hotel is in an excellent central location. Not everything is within walking distance though as Berlin is such a vast city, but the subway (i suggest you get the berlin welcome card as you'll use public transport alot and it also offers discounts off attractions) is just down the road (left out the hotel, 5mins walk) and the tram stop is right outside the hotel.
Even though the hotel was on a busy street, surrounded by bars and restaurants, our room was very unaffected by noise pollution, it was by no means peaceful, but as someone who can't sleep in noisy surroundings, I had 3 very restful nights sleep at this hotel.
A few reviews on here said the hotel rooms were too small, but it was more than adequate and had more than enough room for myself and my partner.
The shower was excellent, really powerful, bonus with safe in room and mini bar which was useful to store your own seperately bought drinks, mini bar was very expensive, nothing unusual there.
One restaurant down the road called oranium, right near subway station, is definately worth checking out, especially for their fresh stone baked pizzas which were MASSIVE and cost only 5euros.
My tip is to buy a good guide book, from that you can get an idea where you would like to visit etc. Also pay a visit to the large tourist information office at brandenburg tor, lots of info, maps, etc. If, like us, you are interested in berlin's role during WWII then definately do the third reich tour (info on this can be found at tourist info at brandenburg).
All in all, this hotel is a great base to explore this vibrant, fun and interesting city.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J_HOMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Till know we stayed three times in Arcotel Velvet situated in the nice Oranienburger strasse with lots of restaurants. Try Mirschi for nice Asian food and take the big breakfast at Orange! The staff is very pleasant and so are the rooms with lots af glass. Take a room in the front so you can see the Oranienburger strasse. U bahn is around the corner and take a sip of wine by Lutner & Wegner. Arcotel is at a hot spot and is a well designed hotel with a good staff

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTheHaguearea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It's near major sights and close to the subway station. The bus stops right in front of the hotel. The hotel is very beautiful with lovely but very impractical design. The tubs don't have curtains so water comes out when you shower. We had a beautiful enormous sink but you had to stretch far to get your hands under the water. After a couple of days of that your back starts to hurt. The beds were very comfortable.

We didn't have breakfast there because at 12 euros per person it was a bit too much and we are not big breakfast eaters, but right next door there's Expresso Ambulanz, where you can have a large capuccino and a freshly made croissant (they are baked there) for about 4.50 Euro.

The staff at the Arcotel Velvet was very helpful but they forgot about our wake up call the day we were to depart Berlin and we almost did not make the flight. That is unacceptable.

However, I do recommend the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#72 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#89 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#73 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Property: ARCOTEL Velvet
Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#96 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#161 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing