We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We discovered the ex Stasi Prison turned hotel now known as Arcotel Velvet”
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #171 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
SF
Level Contributor
268 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“We discovered the ex Stasi Prison turned hotel now known as Arcotel Velvet”
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Because Berlin was filled with a major tourist convention in Berlin this March, hotels were charging outrageous prices for available rooms. As a result we booked what was rated by Trip Advisor reviews as a cool place hip and only 62 on the rating scale of places to stay. Well it was in an up and coming neighborhood but the hotel turned out to be a cheesy version of someone trying to mimic the Hotel W concept. They do not pull it off.
Because the hotel is in the former East German side of Berlin, I jokingly referred to it must being a former Stasi (secret police) prison converted to a hotel. So here is the rundown of what to expect if you stay there:
1. Lobby area is small rundown and there is a bar to the right of the entrance to get your lousy free coffee and stale rolls in the morning. I wonder if the same former Stasi prison cook is making those "breakfast included" breads for the guests? What I found funny is that whatever the paid guests don't eat they leave on a tray by the front desk. We came back one night and those miniature door stops were still there. Maybe it was chastise the guests that they did not finish the morning stack of nasty treats? You know how those Germans are on not wasting food.
2. The rooms are small and the fixtures are dorm room style. The carpet is threadbare and in a hideous dark red. I wonder what those Stasi colors were hiding? A lot of dirt I am sure.
3. The bathroom is very small in a dorm room style and oh do not expect the maid to clean the floor. Our bathroom had body hair and muddy foot prints on the tile for the first three days of our stay.
4. The bedding is most definitely left over from some prison or military camp that was long abandoned. Maybe when the Russians left Berlin in the late 80’s? You could feel every spring in the thin mattress and when you moved the bed moves with you.
The only thing good about the room is that the internet worked fine without any problems and that the room was quiet. No shouts or screams of torture :)
But I saved the best for last. One afternoon we had returned to our hotel/prison room and the light was on indicating we were in the room. (when you enter the room, you place your key card into the slot to turn on power) It also lights up outside your door to let the staff know you are in the room. While we were fully dressed and working in the room, the maid just opened the door and came in. We were quite startled as she did not say a word, did not knock or apologize. But she came in and changed a pillow cover. She then walked out. We were laughing over it. But seriously what if we were undressed or making whoopee?
So in conclusion if you want to be in this up and coming area, want the feel of what to me seemed to be a former secret police prison turned hotel then by all means stay here! Just make sure you do not pay much for the room, expect much from the hotel and you really don't mind if the room is shall we say clean by anyone's standard other than maybe a prison maid or a flop house keeper? But in our case we paid a lot of money and got very little. This place is some place I would recommend only as a last resort booking.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    303
    80
    29
    12
See reviews for
67
340
37
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The hotel is art deco with the bathroom in the bedroom, which is unique. There is a seperate toilet though!!! It is very near the S and U bahn and is an ideal base for exploring Berlin.
The hotel is clean and the staff were helpful. There is a TV and DVD player in the room and they are a good size. although you only need to sleep in them as there is so much to do in Berlin.
The street they are situated on has plenty of restaurants from all nationalities. There is a lovely pub across the road that does traditional Berlin food and an Indian further down that is very nice and extremely popular.

I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnsley245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This smart hotel is in a great location, with easy access to all forms of public transport in Berlin. Our room on the second floor looked out over a fairly quiet main road, though we did notice when sat in the restaurant opposite that the net curtains do nothing for privacy, so keep the proper curtains closed!!

We'd seen the layout with the all-in-one bedroom/bathrooms before booking so weren't surprised, it didn't cause any problems and we thought it was just a neat touch.
A free small breakfast (coffee, juice, croissants, yoghurts and fruit) was provided each morning in the bar. The staff were very helpful, we could buy our travelcards from reception each morning which was very useful.

The hotel is surrounded by bars and restaurants, with more choice just a walk down the road towards Hackescher Markt. We also walked to the Reichstag and Unter Den Linden in about 15 minutes.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would go back when visiting Berlin again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleur1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahwah, nj
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Not very clean, hallways smell like rotten eggs, no room service, terrible area (graffiti everywhere), small rooms!!!

Would not send my worst enemy there!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvtms910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night city break in Berlin in December, staying at the Arcotel Velvet. We were very please with our choice and thought it was great value for money. The hotel was in an excellent location with the tram and UBahn (Oranienburger Tor) just outside/next street. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us an information pack on arrival. The hotel was very comfortable and stylish with a modern design and fantastic floor to ceiling windows. 2 PCs were in the bar where guests can access the internet free of charge. The breakfast buffet was very generous. The central location of the hotel allowed us to walk into the city centre, but we took the UBahn back after we were exhasuted from a full days sightseeing. Airport transfer: We took the SBahn to and from Schonefield Airport, it took about 1hour with 1 change (Route: UBahn Orienburger Tor to Friedrichstrasse, then changed to SBahn for Schonefield changing at Ostkreuz)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozartEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Fantastic boutique hotel in a fantastic location. We stayed 3 nights over New Year's Eve in 2008.

The room had great amenities, with a great view of Oranienburger Strasse so we could see the madness from a safe distance.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This was a great hotel in a fun artsy area of the city. We stayed 4 nights at the Acrotel Velvet during our 3 week trip the Eastern and Central Europe.

The Acrotel Velvet is right around the corner from the U-Bahn underground subway (U Oranienburger Tor Stop) and right across the street from the tram stop. We used the highly efficient and easy Berlin BVD Public Transit System to get to the hotel from the airport to get to the train station as we were leaving.

There are dozens of restaurants in the immediate proximately to the hotel (five minutes or less walk) and dozens more within a a twenty minute walk in almost any direction. We had great food and good service everywhere we went in Berlin.

We found Berlin to be an amazing and welcoming city with incredible history and culture and would be happy to spend more time there.

The Acrotel Velvet was a perfect home base location for our daytime sightseeing and evening dining and nightlife. We walked most of the time and also used the U-Bahn and tram to get around with the Berlin Welcome Card which also gave us discounts at some attractions.

The hotel public areas and our room was was very modern and nicely decorated. We received excellent service from the desk staff and the bar staff.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#78 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#79 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Mitte
Hotel 38
Hotel 38
#165 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Property: ARCOTEL Velvet
Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#116 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#161 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing