We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, big and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
Ranked #239 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, big and cheap”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hostel has everything you could need when travelling - big dorms, innumerous showers, clean bathrooms. It's quite big though and doesn't really have the backpacker vibe as there's big groups staying there all the time. But all in all, it's a very good hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofienotsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    76
    68
    38
    55
See reviews for
21
39
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Easy to reach from Ostkreuz station. I stayed in a private room. Everything in the hostel is clean and breakfast is cheap and very good.
There is a common place with a bar where you can sit and relax during the day. In the evening there are too many big youth groups (school, sport clubs etc). I also read it in former reviews but I thought to give it a try. Those other former (single) travelers were right! This hostel is NOT the place to meet other backpackers! Look for an other hostel if you are looking for the typical backpackers hostel vibe!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickoes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Slow staff, checking in took 15-20 min per person, while one staff member goes around shouting at tired travellers. We got a room in the 4th floor, and there were no elevators avalible. To get to our room we had to walk 96 steps! No air-condition, bad matrasses, we had to carry our sheets up the stairs and put it on ourselves, pay for towels and so on. When asked of advice about Berlin, the receptionists just shook their heads. The only positive I got to say about this place, is that checking out was quick!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed one night at this hostel and had a pleasant experience. It is located not too far from Ostenbhanhof station and the walk to the hostel brings you past many restaurants, cafes and mini-marts selling good food. I shared the room with 8 others and the room was quite clean and had lockers in it for everyone, and also sufficient power sockets. The toilets were shared with other people from other rooms, but it was very clean. There were also shared Kitchen facilities for those who might want to cook. The common area is a small pub/ sofa area near the reception where there is free wifi. The signal is strong and i was able to use it with ease. The hostel also has a free luggage storage room where you are able to leave your luggage for the day. Lastly, i only paid 6 euros for 1 night at this hostel and this was probably the lowest price and best value for money ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The cheapest and cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in - nothing negative could be found at all. Close to city centre, large if not massive double room, clean, warm and nicely decorated, private bathroom - for 25 EUR a night? Perfect! It doesn't even feel like a hostel at all. Stay here!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyFarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel itself is OK...good location and good breakfast...i am traveling a lot and i have never met so unpolite and rude staff as here. There were simple requests and questions which employees should help the guest but never happened in A&O Fridrichstein! If you expect friendly and helpfull staff please do not come here because you will not found one...even at the bar where u pay for the service the attitude is on a low level...many times hostel is a place where before the quality of rooms you expect friendly staff and usually that is the reason (beside the price) to choose the type of accommodation...A&O Friedrichstein will never see me again mostly because of staff...hopefully the management will read this and try to train the employees properly!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank misko18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

At first the price appeared to me a little too high for a hostel, but everything fell in place when I saw the room. It was actually a very good hotel room, perfectly clean and quite big for two people. The mirror had a source of light right above it (girls can understand how important it is), and the bathroom was not only very commodious, but also had a hair dryer, which I didn't expect from a hostel at all. Also, the staff (young and cheerful people) were always helpful and polite, and there is a bar, a free wifi zone, vending machines and a book exchange at the reception area. Last, but not least, we loved the area where the hostel is located - in the very first evening we found three great metal pubs, let alone other nice places to eat or take a cup of tea.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
BackpackerBerlin
BackpackerBerlin
#142 of 347 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Moabit
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
#60 of 347 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Lichtenberg
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
#254 of 347 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Industriepalast
Industriepalast
#27 of 347 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#23 of 347 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Friedrichshain
U Inn Berlin Hostel
U Inn Berlin Hostel
#63 of 347 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Friedrichshain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Friedrichshain

Property: A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
Address: Boxhagener Str. 73, 10245 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A&O Berlin Friedrichshain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your A&O Berlin Friedrichshain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing