We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Ranked #26 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed here for two nights in March 2011 and had a great time. I was for some reason upgraded to the club level and therefore enjoyed a wonderful room with a supremely comfortable King sized bed and access to the Club Lounge which was very nice. The staff are all super friendly and professional. The atmosphere of the hotel is very upscale and very posh with all the chandeliers etc. The buffet breakfast was simply the best of any hotel I've ever been to with an enormous amount to choose from and it was all delicious. The staff were however a little slow in clearing plates etc, including that of tables that had already departed.

The hotel is in the Potsdamer Platz area which is a great and modern area to stay. The Sony Centre at night has the Wow factor and the shopping mall was great. It's only a short walk to the Brandenburg Tor and the middle of this wonderful city.

The pool area however was very disappointing, located in the basement of the hotel with no natural light and it was far to small for a hotel of this calibre. There is no hotel car service and the concierge desk was too small for the size of the hotel and had insufficient staff on duty, which has cost it the fifth star.

Still, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ants48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 2,790 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

We loved our stay at this hotel. I am American travelling with my German husband and child. Like a lot of Germans I have met, he doesn't always see the value in spending money on luxury. When I convince him to splurge a little he better get every cent of his moneys worth or he will grumble and complain the whole stay. Being from America, I am used to great customer service and nice immaculate rooms, especially in a five star hotel. Both of our requirements were met by this hotel. We loved our Executive suite. The breakfast the first morning was fantastic with crepe/pancake bar, omelette bar, seafood, and all other typical breakfast foods you would expect, American, British and European. The second day we arrived a little bit later for breakfast and we had to sit in the annex. If we hadn't have been in the main breakfast room the day before we would have never known about the crepes, omelettes and other items as they were not in the annex dining room. We had to order it all through the waiter. That took a while but no complaints, the service was great. Two negative things 1) We wanted to do room service one night but we didn't like the menu offering at the Brasserie Desbrosses and it was expensive for the type of food they offered. But the resturants across the street in the Sony Center were good (and my husband loved the cheaper prices). 2) The hot water in my sink, one of three sinks in our suite, took for ever to get hot even though I had just used it and turned it off only a second ago. So I opted to waste water and energy by keeping the hot water running while I brushed my teeth and washed my face. But it wasn't enough of an issue for me to mention it to the hotel or request maintenance. Some of the positives for the hotel are besides the exceptional five star hotel experience, when my six year old was cooperative, we could walk to a lot of the sights in Berlin or take the subway which was very close by. So we didn't need our car. When she wasn't cooperative we just stayed in lovely pool area. Legoland discovery center was across the street so even when the weather was cold with blowing icy rain and snow we had enough to do within the hotel and nearby to keep us entertained. Lot's of little extras for my daughter.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Ritz Carlton Berlin approximately 2 weeks before Christmas, as a party of 2 parents and a 4 year old child. We booked the reservation directly with the hotel, in order to get both a rollaway bed for our son, and breakfast included. Our flight arrived quite late, and the room was guaranteed with our credit card, so we had no issues.

The hotel lobby was decorated festively, with a large Christmas tree and homemade gingerbread house of the size of a small child. Our son loved both seeing the house as well as the train which ran on tracks encircling the house. To discourage looting from the gingerbread house, the hotel offered up baskets of chocolates for passers-by. Quite festive!! The hotel also had a small games table for kids, which our son loved, and also 2 miniature Mercedes cars which he pedaled around the lobby.

Our room was spacious, even with the rollaway bed added. We had a king sized bed with a soft mattress topper and warm covers. The TV, which had ample foreign language selections (although not much for children) stood on a dresser across from the bed, which also housed the mini-bar. Our son was greeted with a small basket of candy, which he enjoyed. Free glass bottles of water were replenished daily. We also had a closet in the hall to hang our clothing, and an ironing board and safe were included. The room overlooked the neighboring building, so not much of a view.

The bathroom was large and comfortable, with both a tub and shower, as well as a double sink. Somewhat unusually, the shower and toilet were enclosed behind the same glass doors, not really a problem except feet could get wet when visiting the toilet. Toiletries and amenities were plentiful, including robes and slippers.

Breakfast in the cafe was spectacular. Selections were various and of excellent quality. We particularly enjoyed the made-to-order waffles and crepes, omelettes, and shaved prosciutto. Even the cheeses, fruits, and breads had quite interesting selections. And our request for foamed milk for our son was met instantly! A breakfast package is strongly encouraged. Our only word of warning is that the cafe filled up on weekends, spilling over to another room which wasn't nearly as nice. Wake up early on weekends to ensure a seat in the cafe.

The location in Potsdamer Platz was excellent. We were directly across the road from S and U Bahn train stops. The Sony Center and shops were also across the street. A Vapiano restaurant (Italian chain) was on the next block, a particular favorite of our son. And a Christmas Market was in the square, giving us some fun in the evenings before we retired. A huge park was immediately behind the hotel. Also, we walked to Brandenburg Gate in approx 15 minutes.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but did stop for a drink in the bar. The ambience is incredible, and the bar filled up slightly later at night. Drinks were pricey but the overall experience is worth it.

We would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: The hotel is quite tall, so specify if you prefer a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Absolutely perfect days! 2 nights in contrmprorary stylish luxury! Toooo fantastic! Great staff! Great food! Great bed! Great rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Great location, service and staff.
The club level was great too.
Few minutes walk from the Brandenburg gate and many restaurants and metro.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bencosme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

although we found the hotel lobby and the room in which we stayed lovely we found the service lacked the polish one would expect in a fine hotel. we check in after 6 o clock and went out immediately after showering. in the morning we found turn down service had not replaced the towels or shampoo. it took one hour for the new towels to arrive and frankly the attendant who serviced the bathroom had a body Oder problem. when we asked for a restaurant dinner recommeati9ond we were told no restaurant that ewe suggested compared to the hotel restaurant. we found the food to be over salted and the waitress poured our wine into the water glasses along with our water. the spa did not have plastic bags for our swim suits exc exc. on the whole our experience was poor and we would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank diane119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed for a weekend at this hotel and were impressed. The hotel is furnished in a classic style which is warm and welcoming like every staff member we met. The location is perfect, directly at the Potsdamer Platz and 10 minute walking to the Bradenburger Gate. The check-in went fast and effective as you can expect from a Ritz. The room was very very nice, traditional style with all the charm of an "old age" like furnishing. My wife enjoyed a spa treatment and loved it very much. We had also drinks at the bar and we have been impressed by the atmosphere, the kindness of the staff and also the drinks were fine. We enjoyed the atmosphere of this excellent property very much. There are a lot of good restaurants and cool location within walking distance. I can recommend the hotel both for business and also for leisure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy_FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,556 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#18 of 633 in Berlin
3,140 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#14 of 633 in Berlin
3,593 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 633 in Berlin
1,629 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#16 Business Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £158 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, The Ritz Carlton, Berlin provides an amazing location for discovery. Our luxury hotel in Berlin, Germany is close to renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing