We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Ranked #26 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor we booked a 2 night stay at the Ritz-Carlton in Berlin.
Maybe I did expect too much (with previous experiences @Shangri-la hotels) but my expectations were not met....

The hotel itself is beautiful and the location is great, in front of the Potsdamer Platz and with very friendly and helpful staff.

Arriving at 1 PM and our room was ready, we were offered to wait for a "non-smoking" room (which was preferred but not guaranteed), which we did of course.
I was asked to provide my phone number so they could call me whenever the room was ready, within the hour as promised.
At 2:30 we weren't called yet so I asked the reception if our room was ready, to find out it was.... Too bad they didn't call me as promised....

Located on the 8th floor we had a room with no view at all, only the office building at the opposite of the street. The room itself was OK, nice materials and a HUGE king bed :-)
The bagage was not delivered in the room yet, I had to call 3 times and wait for 45 minutes to have it delivered. Eventually they found out that it was still left in the car which they (valet) parked themselves...

WIFI internet is available at an outrageous EUR. 20,- a day and bikes are available at EUR. 30,- a day! Ridiculous prices, especially when you can get a bike for EUR. 12,- on every corner (yes, even in front of the hotel using a machine) and free WIFI at almost every mid-budget hotel.

The breakfast experience was average, there were too many people for the (nice) restaurant. We had to wait in a cue for 5 minutes before we were provided with a table.
We had to ask ourselves for coffee and tea and it was no exception to wait for 10 minutes to have some scrambled eggs.

All in all our experience was not that good, we did expect more for the price we paid (EUR 540,- for 2 nights).

BTW: we had a lunch at the Adlon Kempinski hotel and it was wonderful, great atmosphere and service. This would be our choice for our next stay in Berlin!

Room Tip: please ask for a room with a Potsdamer Platz view, so much better...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzCarlton2014, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Daniel V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and would appreciate to be in touch with you.

Feedback is extremly important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at this number +49 30 33 777-6002. I look forward to hearing from you.

Robert Petrovic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,730)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 2,730 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Generally speaking, we had an excellent time and the staff was all very, very attentive and nice. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because there were some issues getting the room that we thought we had booked. Instead of a Junior Suite for €325, we were on the Club for at 385 on a special AMEX promotional program. My advice, echoing some of the other reviewers, is to be sure that you get a corner room, preferably a floor or above. Consider staying somewhere else entirely, if you don't. Many of the other rooms in the back face directly across to the office building on the other side of the street and, though the rooms themselves are nice, the "view" is less than pleasant unless you happen to be an exhibitionist. You can read the newspaper headlines on the desks across the way, it's that close. We called AMEX to complain. They were, as usual, incredibly friendly but totally unhelpful! We were lucky that the hotel staff were sympathetic,. Though we had to wait a couple of hours, we ended up with a very nice room with an expansive vista. Having stayed at several Ritz hotels, I have to say the club here is about the best. You can dine very well all day at the buffet and there is a large selection of special spirits, including oceans of flavored Gin and rum. The staff in the club floor is very professional and extremely friendly, they went out of their way for us on several occasions.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Dane94306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Ritz Carlton is brilliantly situated for sightseeing and is, as one would expect a really well run hotel. Both food and drink are of a high standard and rooms luxurious and capacious. The cocktail menu in the main bar is a masterpiece - almost as long as War and Peace

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmund H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Service is as usual , excellent. The people who serves you or attends to you seem so passionate about doing their task well that I sometimes have to tell them to calm down and take their time. They are all so nice and attentive. I will no doubt be back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a club floor room. At all Ritz Carlton's I've been since reading a re...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swee Leong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a fantastic weekend here for my brother's 50th - 6 adults and 2 older teenagers. The hotel gave my brother and his wife a very nice dual aspect room plus a birthday cake and really nice card.
The staff were very helpful particularly the reception and front door staff. The bar was excellent and the staff very attentive with beautiful cocktails. We didn't eat here except for breakfast though as wanted to get out into Berlin, but did have pre and post dinner drinks. We were having a splurge so we didn't worry about what the cost. We also really enjoyed the piano player, who sang a lot of our requests. There was also a great atmosphere in one of the lounges for the football (Real v Athletico).
Berlin is great. Third time here, enjoyed great meals and also recommend the Reichstag 90min tour (the building tour not just the dome).

Room Tip: All the standard rooms are excellent, what you'd expect in a hotel of this standard, but if you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadAboutShakespeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Congratulations to the management and the team of the hotel
what a great place, what perfect trained crew
outstanding food
all in all this hotel is really a place to stay when you come to Berlin
the breakfast is outstanding, this kindness and friendliness is the very best we have seen since long time
even the F&B manager assistant was in the service on breakfast and served and cleaned tables
we definitely enjoyed and we really highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: all rooms are great and the location is perfect
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 night.

Alina at the front desk was so professional and helpful. In fact, she walked us out of the hotel to show us, not just tell us, where a bank was. I call that "going beyond the call of duty".

The other staff members, including all the door men, were also very helpful and nice.

Our room was big, clean, and the bed was so comfortable. Bathroom was amazing.

A great find from TripAdvisor.

Highly recommend this hotel and the location was very good.

Ina R.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,034 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 635 in Berlin
1,925 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,496 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 635 in Berlin
1,253 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#16 Business Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £161 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing