We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Ranked #25 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, great staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here for a weekend and left wishing I had booked another few nights. By far the best hotel in Berlin. The first night I spent there, I came to find out that my room was unfortunately next to the service room so there were persistent sounds of doors opening and closing and the sound of the service elevator all night. Fortunately, I explained the situation to the kind people at the front desk who were more than happy to move me to a different (and upgraded room).
The location of this hotel is ideal, just a few steps away from the Brandenburg gate, shopping, restaurants, you name it.
Definitely spend some time at the lounge on the lobby floor. The drinks there are exceptional. Overall, an amazing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the service room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,970
    488
    172
    48
    26
See reviews for
455
1,027
150
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just back from a wonderful holiday and all made memorable due to Ritz Carlton. It was for my 40th birthday and they did all their best to make it a fantastic one. Its a very classy hotel, old charm, impeccable service and brilliant location. Here is why you should stay here:

1. Location, Location, Location. Close to many landmarks, train station, subway, restaurants, bars and shopping centre.
2. Service. We were with our twin toddlers and we all were looked after so well. The girls got a big Ritz Carlton lion stuffed toy on arrival. Our rooms had two cots with baby toiletries. At breakfast they were given their cutlery and everyone was so polite and courteous.
3. The beds. Most comfortable and sleep inducing. Loved the room. We stayed in deluxe room and it was spacious. The bathroom was massive with Asprey toiletries and had heated floors.
4. The concierge. Very friendly. Gave us the most amazing tips. Recommended best restaurants, Go to Peppone Ristorante for the best Italian or Aigner Gendarmenmarkt for the most amazing German/Austrian food. Both advised by the hotel.
5. The breakfast. Very elaborate. We hardly had lunch as the breakfast was so filling and had pretty much everything you could ask for,
6. Curtain Club. For the best cocktails. We had Mandarin Basilic and Aqua Di Gioia by Armani. Strange concept - you drink the cocktail based on the perfume you like. The result - stunning! It felt like nectar. And the hostess explained us the concept and took us to their Fragrance bar/club which is only opened on Fridays and Saturdays.

Forget the Hyatt, Intercontinental and Adlon. Stay here and you won't be disappointed,

Room Tip: Take the room facing the gardens otherwise there is not much of a view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuks393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has everything going for it except service (more about that coming).

The location is excellent, right on the doorstep of the Postdamer Platz S-Bahn hub, which means that one can catch an S-Bahn or an U-Bahn (stop located just a cross the street) to just about anywhere in Berlin or the Greater Berlin Area. The rooms are spacious and the amenities are of upper class brands. Everything is spotless. Air-conditioning works perfectly and in absolute silence. Nonetheless, this hotel has a service problem, especially during breakfast.

The breakfast is a large buffet, but there is a 'refilling' problem. It happened all too often that a certain something was empty and it took the staff too long to replenish it. Same goes for the breads. It took the staff over half an hour to notice that all that was left on the cutting board were just 2 bread-ends. The staff is walking around the tables inattentive, they do not collect empty plates and if they do end up at your table, they never ask if you would like more coffee, tea, etc. At some point there were no more clean glasses at the juice bar and no member of staff noticed (cared) which resulted in guests scavenging for those on set tables. The hunter-gatherer problem did not stop there. Because the staff could not be bothered with replenishing cutlery/plates/glasses guests helped themselves from neighbouring tables and thus some of the tables ended up looking simply undignified and certainly unworthy of the Ritz name. The staff never noted that and never took action to correct the problem.

Furthermore, upon our arrival the porter (in a quite ridiculous beefeater fancy-dress) didn't notice us but was rather busy chatting to another member of staff. Same happened upon our departure. We were not asked if we needed a taxi or instruction on how to get on... Those things are hardly the end of the world and actually we also know our way about Berlin, but this is the Ritz-Carlton and manners of the staff aught to be a bit better.

And so, this hotel has everything going for it except service and thus it is not on par with such other leading hotels such as the Adlon, Westin Grand or the Hotel de Rome.

Green Features: The usual routine of hang towels for reuse, place in bathtub to be replace.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 559ThomasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am a tough client for hotels but the Ritz Carlton in Berlin has it all. First the location is perfect near a train station and a subway. The area is new (where the wall used to be) and has lots of great restaurants. You can walk to the Brandebourg door. The hotel itself is majestic. The room (I stayed in an executive suite) are perfect: lots of space, great bathroom and confortable bed (for Europe). The staff is of 5 star caliber as should be expected. And finally, the breakfast is the best I've had in any hotels (and trust me, I've been to many hotels in my life). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was very excited to stay at a Ritz Carlton for the first time. As an American, the brand is recognized as superior service and top notch experiences. The hotel itself is old world luxury. The building itself was perfectly fine, and I was very happy with the room, lobby, and bar. My biggest problem was with the staff and with the restaurant.

Upon my arrival, I needed some over the counter medication. I discussed this with the concierge and he seemed somewhat reluctant to deal with it. Although he did phone two pharmacies to determine whether they had the medication, I felt he should have been more insistent that he take care of it and then follow up with me. It was clear I was with other people in the bar lounge, and it would have been "Ritz standard" for him to encourage that I return to the bar lounge (or where ever) so I wouldn't be burdened with standing there waiting to figure out what pharmacy had the medication or not. In addition, I felt he could have been more insistent that the hotel picks up the medication. In turn, I went to the pharmacy myself only to learn it was closed. Again, this may be trivial in basic scenarios but this is the Ritz-Carlton!

My second disappointment was the restaurant during breakfast. The hotel offers the typical obscenely expensive breakfast buffet which I'm accustomed to. However, I felt the offerings where very basic - from pancakes and crepes to eggs benedict - all of which sat for quite some time and were not refreshed frequently. If you are interested in a more traditional German breakfast (meats and cheeses) then you'll likely be more satisfied.

On most occasions we would be seated upon arrival, and then more often than not we would have to fight for the attention of a server to get coffee, have plates, cleared, etc. The servers were poorly trained and truly tarnished the reputation of the hotel greatly. One day when we arrived at breakfast we were not seated and were told we may find something in the rear of the restaurant. I was shocked we were summoned without a proper seating, and was only further stunned to see all of the tables in a state of disarray and not cleared. My boyfriend and I literally had to make our own table and scavenge from unused place settings. When we finally got our place settings and returned from the buffet, I had found that someone had the same idea and took my place setting while I was gone.

Again, trivial at a 2 or 3 star hotel, but the Ritz? Disappointing indeed.

Pluses included the bar lounge staff and drinks, location, and hotel room.

Green Features: They actually practiced the idea of not replacing towels unless you toss them on the floor. I'm pleased to see that.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_dc_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzCarlton2014, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear travel_dc_2009,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you.

Feedback is extremly important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at this number +49 30 33 777-6002 or by email on Robert.Petrovic@ritzcarlton.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely yours,

Robert Petrovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over the place
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time venturing out with our then seven-month-old son. The Ritz Berlin staff made it a pleasure. We were in a mid-size SUV with a roof top box - no problem, the attendant parked it on the curb out front and there it sat for the next two night. Particular highlights were bellman Michael and concierge Marc - truly class acts (as one would expect at a Ritz Carlton). Michael even stopped us on our way home and sent our son with a large stuffed Ritz Carlton lion toy. Also enjoyed High Tea - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from a four night stay at the Ritz. We usually stay at another hotel but for various reasons stayed here. The location is fabulous. Across the street from the train and walking distance to many sights which made it terrific. The room was a standard, very comfortable Ritz. We were upgraded to a higher floor where we had a great view and though it was noisy outside kept the window open almost the entire stay. The door into the room opened at a weird angle so you had to move back to depart. The bathroom was very attractive but didn't work in certain ways. The marble floor was very slippery. The glass doors into the shower and toilet room were dangerous if you ever get up in the middle of the night. There was no shower gel but there was a list of special bath features to pay for if you were so inclined - I just wanted my own bubble bath. We were two people and only got two towels. Though they state there is a swimming pool there really wasn't much of one if you wanted to swim it was very small. The breakfast was huge and spectacular and was included in my room rate. In the lobby they have glass, cake containers some with stuffed birds and some with cake - I thought this was weird and not well thought out. Also, felt the area behind the grand staircase had too much furniture. The service was lovely except one day no one made our room up until 3:00PM and one night we didn't get turn down service. My and my husband's major complaint was that you had to pay for wifi in the room or pay 20euro's per 24 hour period. You could use the lobby where free wifi was offered but if you have work to do it doesn't work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach84Jake62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,974 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,205 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,421 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,225 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#16 Business Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing