We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best... Bed.. Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Ranked #25 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best... Bed.. Ever!”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel to see the Christmas markets in Berlin after getting a great deal on-line. This hotel was a true 5 star experience. We arrived early and the hotel were good enough to allow us to check in early & we really appreciated this as we had a 5am flight. Ill never forget walking into our room and seeing the huge bed and falling into the and waking up about 4 hours later. It was the most comfortable bed Ive ever slept in and was hard to leave every morning!

The room was nice, tasteful and spacious, absolutely no complaints.

The staff were also excellent, especially the concierge who was very helpful and recommended a fabulous Italian restaurant to us. It was one of the best I've ever eaten in.

The location is good. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Brandenburg Gate and also has an underground stop right beside the hotel. There are a number of shops and restaurants nearby in a rather large & modern plaza.

I also found the doorman to be extremely helpful, I wish I could remember his name.

We did not eat at the hotel so unfortunately I cannot comment on that but I can say that it was a 5 star experience from start to finish and would go back just to sleep in that bed again!

One word of warning though.. Be very careful if you are using the train system to get to the airport. We followed the map only to find that the train did not travel to the stop which was stated on the map & as a result we missed our flight home. I have since talked to a friend who suffered the exact same problem. Check with the hotel for the best route to and from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,970
    488
    172
    48
    26
See reviews for
455
1,027
150
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We arrived late but were checked in with efficiency,quickly shown to our room on the club floor with smiles all the way.

The rooms are large and with a neat electronic panel at the bed to open curtains,call maid service,do not disturb etc.We retreated on night one to the bar downstairs where service was with a smile and the surroundings typical of a ritz carlton.
There was a full breakfast buffet at the club lounge which we tried on the first morning.
Service here was woefully disorganized.
Examples...coffee never topped up..you were just left waiting until you found someone and asked and then you waited some more...
They ran out of plates at the buffet counter and no hurry to replace them.
I was given an omlette but no knife and fork to eat it with.
plates and cup taken away while I was back at the buffet.
This is all slipshod and not what you want to start the day.

At all times though the staff there were friendly and courteous,that has to be said.
They just seemed rushed.
The food presentations during the day were quite good.
We saw some tasty beef medallions at lunchtime and a stew in the evening for instance.
The club is in my opinion a tad too small and could do with more comfortable seating options.
It's prone to being too busy as a result.
There's a quiet area alright in it that doubles up as a tv room.
We couldn't use that on a few occasions as it seemed to be used for meetings.
On one occasion someone was conducting a job interview there...on a Saturday in the middle of a weekend,while there are guest's who are there on leisure...the mind boggles!

After the first poorish breakfast experience in the club,we opted to have it downstairs the next time at the bar.
A totally different experience! The servers there looked after us very well :)
I'll also give high praise to the concierge service,they couldn't do enough for you.

Another nice thing about this hotel is the pool and jacuzzi on the lower ground floor and the fitness area.
Top marks to that area.
We didn't try the spa.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed at Ritz Carlton Berlin for a long weekend with friends. As a treat we all stayed on the Club floor with its complimentary food and drinks. The hotel was very impressive, well located, good sized rooms, well appointed with all amenities as you'd expect. The Club Lounge was nice, food selection was not as extensive as Rizt Carltons in the States, but still very nice. It was the staff who made all the difference for our weekend, nothing was ever too much trouble and all requests met with a smile - very refreshing for European hotels! The rooms were not the cheapest, but I felt we got reasonably good value considering we had complimentary champagne on tap! Would recommend this hotel if it's your first trip to Berlin as it's nicely located between East and West parts of the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The Hotel is obviously not intended for couples traveling with back-packs on a tight budget, however, money is well worth it. We were accommodated on the 10th floor of this amazing hotel, with window views at Potzdamer Platz, one of the major squares in Berlin. U-Bahn, main train station + bus stops all situated right at your door step. At 230euros/night (booked it via bookings.com) we got an all-inclusive offer for the Club Lounge, which apart from great meals all day long, gave us access to a complete private sector of the hotel. First day there, dined next to Renée Zellweger, so you knew you were getting just the at-most best.
Large rooms with loads of amenities, which included Bvlgari toiletries, heated floors, extra-soft bedding sheets + pillows, complete sound-proof rooms, daily weather forecast of the following day on your bedside table, balance amount at all times also available by pressing a TV-button and really nice personell, ready to take care of your every need.
Would recommend it to anyone. We're visiting again next year for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maraki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORLANDO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

From the minute I walked in the grand entrance of the Ritz-Carlton Berlin, I knew I was some place special and a place I would never forget. The lobby is truly beautiful, the staff very helpful and courteous. Every amenity imaginable is available to guests; don't want to watch German television? No problem! The concierge has a large selection of dvd movies available to watch, FREE! High speed internet available at a nominal fee. Restaurants with grand fare and nearby food markets if you would prefer to gather a few little snacks to have in your room. There is an excellent memorial to World War II and the sad conditions and struggles that German Jews suffered through. It is an emotionally moving exhibit, so prepare yourself to be enlightened, educated and probably shed a tear. There is also easy access to trains and public transportation, and easy walking distance to great shopping.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BASEBALLNUTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. This hotel was supposed to be our 'splurge' at $600AUS per night. When we arrived we were given a room with two single beds but were told by reception that they were 'really big' and could fit two people in. We went up to the room and the single beds were just that- single beds. We went back down to reception and spoke to a different lady and after a 20 minute wait we were given a room with a double bed but told 'not to tell anyone'. The lobby appeared full of disgruntled guests. The room was lovely as was the bathroom. However the service was not up to scratch. Our bathroom did not have any sanitary bags so we called reception. We were told some would be brought up. They never came. We called again the next morning after our room was serviced and there were still no bags. It took a third phone call before something was done. When compared with other luxury hotels such as 'The Langham' this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Definately not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlinkyBillQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Stayed for two nights late December. biokked an executive room and was upgraded to an executive suite. Suite was lovely, like a mini apartment with huge windows that looked out over Potsdamer Platz. Fantastic shower and bath. Bed was extremely comfortable. Enjoyed the club lounge, breakfast, lunch dinner and treats in between. All alcoholic beverages. Staff were amongst some of the best I have ever come across. Location is fantastic, train at your door and a short walk to the Brandenburg Gate.
The bar on the ground floor is a lovely place to start or finish yoour evening and once again impecable service.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigLloydP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,975 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,207 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,424 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,225 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#16 Business Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing