We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can I give more than five stars?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Ranked #19 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can I give more than five stars?”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton this weekend for the second time, the first stay being two years back. Even though there are a lot of hotels in Berlin, the Ritz Carlton is by far the most magnificent and overwhelming grand hotel there is.

This time, we were in for a real treat. Since the hotel was fully booked, we were upgraded from a regular double room to a Grand Suite (the Lenée Suite on the 9th floor). Above that, there is only the Presidential Suite. We were on a prepaid, discounted rate - I have never experienced such generosity from a hotel! Thanks again!

The suite was big. Really big. 105 square meters, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, living and dining room, library and working room, bedroom, walk in closet. 4 TVs, 3 sofas, 8 chairs and so on. Huge bathtub, walk-in shower - and everything decorated very lovingly. Since it is on the corner of the building, great view across the Potsdamer Platz. But don't worry, we have also stayed in the regular rooms and they are just as great - only a tad smaller.

The beds are really amazing, the best sleep we have ever gotten in a hotel (and we have been to a lot of them, including LHW, R&C etc.). Service perfect, very friendly and authentic.

The breakfast is definitely worth it (book a rate that includes breakfast instead of paying 38 Euros for it!). It is served in the Brasserie which has a real French feel to it. The variety is amazing, ranging from wide fruit choices, a good assortment of French cheeses, live cooking to a little bakery. Ah, the bakery - this is a special treat. They have all kinds of breads you can think of as well as French croissanteries like chocolate croissants, cinnamon rolls and so on. Furthermore, they make fresh crepes (!!!), waffles and pancakes, have a wide choice of toppings (little caramel bits, chocolate sprinkles, gummy bears and, and, and...) and fabulous marmelades. I would definitely consider getting up at 6 in the morning and spending my time there until they close breakfast. This breakfast is just too good to be true.

In short - spoil yourself for a great price (when you compare their prices to what you would pay in other capitals of the world in such a league). Stay here - you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning_trvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    458
    161
    41
    24
See reviews for
419
974
143
629
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

The Ritz Carlton situated directly on Postdamer Platz in the center of New Berlin is an elegant experience in every way. The rooms are elegant, the restaurants and bar are exquisite and the staff is polite and accommodating. The hotel is situated so that all areas of Berlin are easily reachable. Prominent guests stay here, but also the 'ordinary' guests are of very high quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sujuBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My husband and I love Ritz Carlton's. It's kind of our guilty indulgence. We booked a club room for two nights, including New Year's Eve. Club room was nice and the staff was very attentive but the food and beverage selection was not really that good. It was nice being able to check in up in the club room rather than deal with the crowds (because of New Year's) in the lobby. The room was a typical Ritz Carlton room which is always very comfortable and clean. For the fireworks in Berlin, this hotel is about a five city block walk from the festivities and the Bradenburg Gate. There is NO VIEW of them from this hotel. Period. Also, most of the rooms have no view of anything but the buildings on either side. There is a metro stop right across the street. The pool is VERY small and we gave up trying to swim after about five minutes because it was so crowded.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This hotel is superb! From the moment one arrives you feel valued and important. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the excellent staff. The rooms are wonderful, the bed is a dream and the breakfast, although expensive at €38 each, is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritneyNorthGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

This is one of the most beautiful hotel's we have ever stayed at. Everything is super clean and brand new. Gorgeous wood tones and quality furnishings everywhere. Very nice location in Potzdammer Platz, near Sony Center is convenient to shopping, dining and S-bAhn/U-bahn transport.

Bathroom is very luxuriopus. Bed is very comfortable, but we had to ask for for an exttra sheet since the beds only come with a nice but too-warm duvet cover which is very warm.

Staff was hit and miss: on occasion there was no greeting or acknowledgement of our presence as we entered or left the hoyel. At other times we got a warm greeting. Restauranr serves a fabulous breakfast buffet which was include din our toom rate.

Bar is very nice, elegant and cool.

This was a very good bargain: less than 600 Euro for a roomy suite through AmEx Fine Hotels and Resorts. We'd happily stay again. One beef" the high speed internet charges are exhorbitant, about 28 uro per day.

The hotel is so beautiful that we'll give it another try in the hopes that the staff can measure up to other RC properties...

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldo_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel to see the Christmas markets in Berlin after getting a great deal on-line. This hotel was a true 5 star experience. We arrived early and the hotel were good enough to allow us to check in early & we really appreciated this as we had a 5am flight. Ill never forget walking into our room and seeing the huge bed and falling into the and waking up about 4 hours later. It was the most comfortable bed Ive ever slept in and was hard to leave every morning!

The room was nice, tasteful and spacious, absolutely no complaints.

The staff were also excellent, especially the concierge who was very helpful and recommended a fabulous Italian restaurant to us. It was one of the best I've ever eaten in.

The location is good. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Brandenburg Gate and also has an underground stop right beside the hotel. There are a number of shops and restaurants nearby in a rather large & modern plaza.

I also found the doorman to be extremely helpful, I wish I could remember his name.

We did not eat at the hotel so unfortunately I cannot comment on that but I can say that it was a 5 star experience from start to finish and would go back just to sleep in that bed again!

One word of warning though.. Be very careful if you are using the train system to get to the airport. We followed the map only to find that the train did not travel to the stop which was stated on the map & as a result we missed our flight home. I have since talked to a friend who suffered the exact same problem. Check with the hotel for the best route to and from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We arrived late but were checked in with efficiency,quickly shown to our room on the club floor with smiles all the way.

The rooms are large and with a neat electronic panel at the bed to open curtains,call maid service,do not disturb etc.We retreated on night one to the bar downstairs where service was with a smile and the surroundings typical of a ritz carlton.
There was a full breakfast buffet at the club lounge which we tried on the first morning.
Service here was woefully disorganized.
Examples...coffee never topped up..you were just left waiting until you found someone and asked and then you waited some more...
They ran out of plates at the buffet counter and no hurry to replace them.
I was given an omlette but no knife and fork to eat it with.
plates and cup taken away while I was back at the buffet.
This is all slipshod and not what you want to start the day.

At all times though the staff there were friendly and courteous,that has to be said.
They just seemed rushed.
The food presentations during the day were quite good.
We saw some tasty beef medallions at lunchtime and a stew in the evening for instance.
The club is in my opinion a tad too small and could do with more comfortable seating options.
It's prone to being too busy as a result.
There's a quiet area alright in it that doubles up as a tv room.
We couldn't use that on a few occasions as it seemed to be used for meetings.
On one occasion someone was conducting a job interview there...on a Saturday in the middle of a weekend,while there are guest's who are there on leisure...the mind boggles!

After the first poorish breakfast experience in the club,we opted to have it downstairs the next time at the bar.
A totally different experience! The servers there looked after us very well :)
I'll also give high praise to the concierge service,they couldn't do enough for you.

Another nice thing about this hotel is the pool and jacuzzi on the lower ground floor and the fitness area.
Top marks to that area.
We didn't try the spa.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 634 in Berlin
2,794 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 634 in Berlin
3,206 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
1,492 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#16 Business Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing