We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this really a four star or an overinflated 3?”
Review of Hotel Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Angleterre
Ranked #149 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is a nice hotel with lots of historical features as I understand it used to be a palace before conversion into a hotel. I was, however, slightly disappointed with the standard of the room as I felt it was a bit small for a comfort double. Overall I enjoyed my stay but it just did not quite feel like a 4 star. The staff were very friendly. Check in time is a bit late although you can store your luggage at the hotel before check in if you arrive early.
The hotel is in a great location, literally a stone's throw away from the train station. Easy to travel to many places from the hotel with ease. Lots of nearby eateries.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Staying at the Angleterre in Berlin is a real treat. I had a single room with all amenities, 49 tv channels for movies, sports and news from a variety of sources. The location is terrific--1 minute walk to Friedrichstrasse station and ten to the nearest Banhoff. Checkpoint Charlie and all its historical importance is a five minute walk and a section of the original Berlin wall, still in place, is ten minutes away. Besides its art and history museums, there are WWII sign posted information locations nearby and a somber Holocaust Memorial with in view of the American Embassy. A hint for travelers to and from the airports, take the U Bahn or S Bahn or combination thereof because the traffic in and out of Berlin is congested day and night and at best, a taxi ride will take more than one hour...with luck. I was stuck on a bus for 45 minutes until I got off and hailed a taxi whose driver said he could not even got close to the Airport after 2.5 hours of driving and it was he who gave me U and S directions that got me to the airport in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Try BritAir for packages that include airfare and hotel. Can't beat five nights in a four star h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel with attractive original stone facade, and interior still with original features. Great location on Friedrichstrasse next to Kochstrasse station. Within walking distance of many places of interest including Checkpoint Charlie, Topography of Terror, as well as good cafés, restaurants and all the shops on Friedrichstrasse.
Rooms were average size with comfortable beds and the hotel restaurant breakfast had a varied choice of food, as well as good food for dinner. Reception staff were extremely helpfull with advice.
Could improve with shampoo and conditioner in bathroom but the bar fridge had some complementary drinks which was a welcoming gesture.

Room Tip: Low floors may have some noise from occasional functions in ballroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel was very centrally located, right next to Checkpoint Charlie. Staff is very nice but can be slow at times eg I waited about a half hour to have an ironing board brought to my room.
There were also no toiletries in the bathroom except for shampoo and conditioning. There was a shower cap box but when I opened it, it turned out to be empty.... which was extremely frustrating as it was in the middle of the night and I had to take a quick shower and had business meetings early the next day.
Since wasn't a tourist and had a tight schedule due to many business meetings, I would have wished for the service and hotel to be just more efficient and quick.
Also, I felt the room was a little bit overwhelming for being a superior room.
Other than that the hotel was clean, staff was nice and breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel does a lot of things right.

Socket by the bed - Yes.
Good Breakfast - Yes
Good location - Yes (esp if you want to see checkpoint Charlie)
Good Conference facilities.
Clean
Comfortable beds
Reasonably decorated rooms
ok towels.

Where it fell down was:

No kettle in the rooms
No complimentary mineral water
Huge bottle of "shampoo" bolted to the wall....seemed to be full of washing up liquid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend the last night of our honeymoon at this hotel. We got to Berlin a little early and the front desk clerk was so friendly and helpful checking our bags and recommending places to see. I wish every front desk person was as awesome as him. We were given a room with skylights facing the street and it was wonderful! I wish we could have stayed for breakfast, but we had to catch an early plane home. Super fantastic location and less than a block from the U6, Kochstrasse stop.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel in Berlin is not awful or great. Just plain average. The rooms were ok, the breakfast substantial but anything special. there was a huge wedding reception the night we arrived, and I was glad we were on the 7th floor...as the band was loud. My biggest complaint was it was so far away from any good restaurants. The hotel is about 3 blocks away from Checkpoint Charlie...but that is about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cywalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#112 of 635 in Berlin
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angleterre

Address: Friedrichstr. 31, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly GOLD INN Angleterre)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Berlin
#110 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Business Hotel in Berlin
#123 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £58 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel Berlin
Hotel Angleterre Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing