We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant classically decorated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GOLD INN Angleterre
Ranked #145 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very pleasant classically decorated hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is located next to Point Charlie on one of the main streets of Berlin; from there you get anywhere easily with the metro and have several shops next-door at the Friedrichstrasse.
I recommend a large book store about 1 km away, which had a beautiful garden wall!

The decor of the hotel is classical and the double room we stayed in was very large, clean, with a modern bathroom, big flat screen TV and windows facing a quite internal garden. The bed was comfortable, I felt like sleeping on a cloud.

We did not have breakfast there, so I can´t comment on this, but all in all would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    714
    230
    48
    23
See reviews for
204
705
95
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had a comfort room which was really good, very satisfied. The cleaning superb. But two things was a little disappointing. The fitness had one big machine to use for the muscle. And it was not working. I asked the reception. One man look at it and could not fix it. But maybe I was the first to use it, since nobody had told about it before me. The breakfast was acceptable, but in Germany the breakfast is normally more than good. So I was a little disappointed. All in all a mixed but ok stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Good location and decent rooms for the price, but the staff was remarkably rude from day one. Never experienced being treated like that in a four star hotel anywhere else in the world. Would not recommend anyone who value good service along with good price to stay in this hotel

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank piotr a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosh Haayin, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location is excellent - walk to the center or the Uban just across the street.
The staff were always kind and helpful (and we asked alot of questions).
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was varied and delicious.
What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayelet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated. Close to the U-bahn and central to everything else really. You can walk from here to everywhere on the tourist map that we were given when we arrived. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast room does get busy but the breakfast had everything to set you up for the day. I would go back here definitely,

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quiet. The road is quite busy so glad we got the room we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRGKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the angleterre for 5 nights in June. I had previously stayed here in 2010. I really like this hotel it is beautiful to look at and is in a great location. I was a little bit saddened that several staff members had left from my previous visit. The new staff didn't seem as friendly however I still had a good stay. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank markscura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

30 seconds from the U-Bahn station, and only a short walk from shops and restaurants. Nicely central for any visit to Berlin. I was able to walk to all the tourist sights in the old city centre (though my feet did hurt a bit afterwards).
Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was perfectly acceptable, clean, with all the necessary amenities. The bed was pleasantly comfortable. The bathroom was fine, though the shower screen was a bit short and I ended up mopping the floor a couple of times.
Complimentary mini-bar (for some, not all, the drinks). The restaurant in the hotel has a limited selection of options, but does a great breakfast buffet. The bar is a nice, cosy size and has a good choice of drinks and some bar food.
Overall, happy with my selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteW-201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#118 of 634 in Berlin
646 reviews
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GOLD INN Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GOLD INN Angleterre

Property: GOLD INN Angleterre
Address: Friedrichstr. 31, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Berlin
#105 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Business Hotel in Berlin
#123 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — GOLD INN Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GOLD INN Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel Berlin
Hotel Angleterre Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing