We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, does what you need”
Review of Hotel Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Angleterre
Ranked #148 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Nice place - modern and clean with free fast Wi-FI but you have to get a ticket from reception every 24 hours. About a block away from Check Point Charlie so right in the centre of things. Good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Angleterre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Most things have already been said about the hotel.
The location is excellent - a quiet area right by the entrance to an underground station but within easy walking distance of the centre too.

We were allowed to leave bags at the hotel when we arrived early. When we returned to check in the process was quick and efficient. Our room (312) faced the road but was quiet throughout our stay (Friday night til Monday morning). The room was big compared to alot I have stayed in across Europe and was clean and comfortable. Plenty of wardrobe space, TV, chairs to sit on as well as the bed. There was a mini bar (with some free items as we had booked through British Airways on line). The room had air conditioning/heating.

Breakfast was really good with just about everything you could expect. (Egg, bacon, sausage, meatballs, cold meats and cheeses, fruit, salads, cereals, breads, pastries etc) All nicely presented with staff keeping things clean and tidy and topped up. It was busy in the breakfast room but it is a large room and the staff showed people into the bar area next door when it was full.

The hotel was a very quiet place to stay - when we got down t0 breakfast we were amazed at how many other guests there were as we had truly heard absolutely nothing from any other room whilst we were in our room. There was a function there on the Saturday night but once we were in our room we honestly could not hear the disco that we knew was just two floors below us.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin and would definitely stay there again myself if in the city again.

Room Tip: Ours on 3rd floor at the front was completely fine
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepthinker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were a couple with a baby and we got a big room.
Maintained and clean hotel, breakfast was varied and good.
Reception staff answered every question (and we had a lot ...).
The hotel is very close to a U-bahn station and to Check Point Charlie.
Great value hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank omerkannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Angleterre. The location is brilliant and easy to reach by public transport from the airport for a just a few euros. It is really close to the underground and Checkpoint Charlie and is also close to the bus stop where all the hop on hop off buses stop. We used the bus to get a feel of where everything is in Berlin and then walked to most of the sights on subsequent days. We used the underground to get to Charlottenburg Palace where we had a tour of the palace and then a 3 course meal followed by a concert with musicians in period dress. We also went to the TV tower and the Reichstag building, free to enter but you need to book beforehand.The room we had at the Angleterre was comfortable and clean with a slight musty drain smell in the bathroom, don't expect many free cosmetics, just soap and shower gel provided. My disappointment with the hotel was at breakfast where we had to share a table one morning as it was so busy and also the attitude of the staff; some days they were friendly, others almost rude. No staff ever spoke to us at breakfast and some mornings didn't even seem to want to check which room we were in. There is no service provided, waiters are simply there to clear tables, they are so diligent at this that they practically take used crockery from your hand before you have finished eating. If you dare to go and get anything else to eat and leave your table everything will be tidied up, even if it is obvious you are coming back. There is a definite shortage of teapots, particularly lids and a full pot of tea was "cleared" from our table before we had poured any of it out. Cereal bowls also seem in short supply with 3 bowls only out one morning, two of which were chipped. Cooked hot food is limited with scrambled eggs which are very overdone and very hard boiled eggs the only egg options. I usually like to follow the UK and world news when I am away, but out of 100 TV channels only 5 were in English and I could have found out more about events in China than I could elsewhere. I gave up after a short time and surfed the web instead. We returned to our room after breakfast one day to find the cleaner had left the door wide open, nothing was missing but not what you expect at any hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CamberleySheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had 3 nights stay. Great location and we walked everywhere.
Also had the underground station straight in front of the hotel and about 150 metre from checkpoint Charlie.
Clean, large room with air conditioning that worked properly - brilliant. Also had a balcony with door access to let in fresh air if needed.
Good breakfast room with good selection.
The bar had little atmosphere but hen it is in Berlin.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank warnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here on a really good deal we found online for four nights over new year. Really clean & the staff were all very helpful. We didn't use the pool as we forgot our swimwear. Great location to be in the middle of everything & all the touristy bits are a stones throw away, topographie of terrors & checkpoint charlie are on your doorstop. Really appreciated the free mini bar with soft drinks & beer.

The bed was super comfy & the room itself had everything we needed for a great stay!

Would happily stay again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Angleterre hotel is a very good hotel. It's very clean, offers nice breakfast and Close to the U-bahn just 2 minutes walking and the station name is :- U Kochstr./Checkpoint Charlie (Berlin)
And only a short walk from shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgard_touma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#115 of 635 in Berlin
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angleterre

Address: Friedrichstr. 31, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly GOLD INN Angleterre)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Berlin
#108 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Business Hotel in Berlin
#123 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £58 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel Berlin
Hotel Angleterre Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing