We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get new staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin
Ranked #106 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
1 review
“Get new staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hostel were without a doubt the rudest I encountered in all my travels around Europe. Asking them for the slightest bit of help seems such an inconveniance. The facilities are extremely dirty and the showers scalding as you can't change the temperature. Though the location is fantastic but I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    58
    35
    13
    21
See reviews for
1
19
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Went in a big group of 9 so didn't socialise that much though anyone we did talk to were really friendly. Nice place rooms were clean, beds were soft, right outside an ubahn station and in the middle of kreuzberg, some the nicest and most vibrant neighbourhoods ive ever seen and loads of clubs and bars not too far away. None of the bad was more than trivial other than the wifi and computers need a revamp.

Room Tip: The room with the car is just a novelty. No sane person would sleep in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 4 friends on a 3 week interrailing trip and this my favourite hostel by far! It wasnt perfect, the rooms werent great, no mirrors and the bathroom was far away, but the overall experience was just great. The best area you can possibly stay in in Berlin and the people i met in this hostel were amazing. It's a great place to have a drink and socialise, play pool and the staff were very helpful. I've stayed in thr baxpax downtown hostel which was also great, but i just think if youre a student and you want a really cool place to go out and eat stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudicrousCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

If you want to meet a variety of people from all over the world and put a heavy emphasis on socialising whilst travelling then this hostel is for you. Baxpax is so conveniently located in the coolest area nearby to everything you want to see in Berlin. The hostel itself just has a partying atmosphere and the staff are always so helpful and kind. It is very clean, cleaners are around all day. The showers weren't brilliant but they definitely aren't the worst for a hostel! There are no negatives to mention, but I wouldn't recommend it to people who are easily annoyed by others coming and going at all hours of the night. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritchsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a really good time. Big social hostel, which was great for meeting people and having a beer, or watching a movie. Very good linen on the beds, and very clean. Nice kitchen, although only one fridge, which gets very full - great if you like playing tetris with your food.

Awesome location with lots of bars and nice restaurants near by. The metro is also literally right out the front, and if you want to walk for about 30mins you can also get to the centre that way too.

Staff were very helpful and friendly - they are more than happy to recommend restaurants and where attractions and the supermarket is. They have free city maps, and lots of information about museums/attractions which is great.

Downsides - only one power point in each room, which in a dorm of 12 is not very useful for charging laptops/phones ect. Wifi was dicky, with a lot of people unable to connect to the internet for days at a time. The internet problem was re-occurring, and the staff knew about it, but seemed unable to fix the problem. There were only just enough bathrooms. The bunks don't have lights, or a shelf to put your things on which is a little inconvenient.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stopped here for four nights for a friends 21st in march. I loved the location as it was in the heart of kreuzberg and it was opposite the metro! However we went in easter and it was still very cold (and snowing) so I think we caught kreuzberg at a quieter time however I saw its potential for the summer months.
The communal area was very lively where we met lots of new people and the staff were very friendly and 'hip'/'cool'. As five students we felt right at home.
The hostel was generally clean and we stopped in a large dorm where people tended to sleep a lot in the day and come alive at night.
If you are coming to Berlin for a young group holiday I would recommend here as you will definitely have a good time, meet new people and enjoy the general atmosphere of the hostel. If you are coming as a family or an older couple I don't think you would appreciate this hostel as it is definitely aimed towards students.
All in all it was good value for money, we enjoyed our stay here and I would definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmac0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE.
My friends and I awoke one morning to find that all the lockers had been broken into and our valuables were stolen - macbook, ipad, ipod and cash. When we approached staff the next morning, they were unsympathetic, unapologetic, did not offer any help and were all over incompetent. The supposed 24-hour reception did not prevent the theft, and whoever was on duty did not hear someone ripping padlocks off metal lockers and rummaging through guests' belongings. We thought the hostel was great at first but left $3000 poorer and feeling that our privacy had been violated by the staff that we had trusted so much. When I was looking to write this review I discovered that this situation had happened to someone else and staff had told them that the thefts are frequent. Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to stay - there are much better places out there.

Room Tip: Pick another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Industriepalast
Industriepalast
#30 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Ima Loft Apartment
Ima Loft Apartment
#87 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Kreuzberg
Apartmenthouse Berlin
Apartmenthouse Berlin
#75 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin

Property: baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin
Address: Skalitzer Str. 104, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing