We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfy and cheap sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin
Ranked #128 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were recommended this place by a friend, so expected it to be nice.
Sat right next door to Gorlizer Bahnhof station, it is very easy to find when you first arrive and to navigate back to in the early hours! Yet the security system, with cctv and ID cards makes it feel less like anyone could just stumble in off the u-bahn.
The staff were really friendly and very helpful (and honest) in recommending places to go out.
The facilities are lovely- a kitchen with balcony to eat on, two lounge rooms (one quite, the other with more of a buzzing bar feel to it) and plentiful showers and toilets.
Whilst we stayed (the beginning of April) it felt like something of a low season, with not huge number of other people wanting to group together, so there wasn't a huge party atmosphere as you get with some hostels. Also, unfortunately the free wifi is touch and go- only working in the bar and often not at all for me at least!
Having stayed in hostels all over Europe, this BaxPax was comfortable and just what we wanted in Berlin.

Room Tip: Some of the dorms have both bunk beds and regular single beds, so try to bag yourself a normal bed i...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Amazing people/atmosphere, really friendly staff and super cool location. Cheap, there's a bar in the main social room or a quieter room if you want to chill. Kitchen is good. A bit hard to find at first, especially if you arrive in the dark but I always felt safe in and around the hostel, even as a woman travelling alone, and even at night. However the bars and shops around the street have nice people working there who you can ask and they will give good directions!

Linen was clean, and included in the price, good spacious lockers were provided and any important valuables could be kept in a safe. Beds were comfy and I slept like a baby

Really close to bars and clubs, and a nice walk or a short S-bahn trip from the main tourist spots.

If you're the sort of person who goes on holiday to stay glued to facebook or your emails (or if you need to have access to these for work or another reason) the WiFi was sporadic at best, but this didn't detract from my stay personally.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 20 bed dorm (the largest) and slept fine so I think it's probably the same with an...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oatbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

In this hostel, I had to deal with a sexual offender/ during the night (a penal act). He was sleeping in the bed next to me.
Although it was so obvious a sexual delict, the management allowed this man to stay another night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

really nice, friendly staff and atmosphere. Great location too. The reception was open 24 hours and there was cctv at entrance where you had to show you badge so really safe. Would definitely recommend for large groups of friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodcritic2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Even though Kreuzberg is nice, the hostel itself has a shady location: right next to a S-bahn station, with an unwelcoming entrance. The hostel is on the third floor, and the stairway was totally dark. We got a room with more beds than we booked, and were denied to stay in our friends room, even though they had vacant beds. There was a disgusting smell in the room, so bad that we went to sleep in another place, and never went back. A good decision, since our friends told us how terrible the nights had been at Baxpax, with strange, drunk people in their room, screaming all through the night.

Room Tip: If you'r still going to stay here, book a private room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 500Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Baxpax kreuzberg is a nice hostel in one of the 'coolest' part of berlin, with cozy bars, restaurant and cafe'. The hostel has a very nice and friendly atmosphere, especially in the common room where everyone chill out drinking, chatting and (unfortunately) smoking. This last thing would be my only 'complaint', other than that, a really nice hostel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgeteurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Hostel is nice and has a good asmosphere, but when you will use the men's showers you might get some burns on your body. The water tempature is fixed and so hot you can't stand under it for more than 20 seconds... But beside the shower it is a good hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antjuuhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Neukolln
Hotel Prens Berlin
Hotel Prens Berlin
#348 of 635 in Berlin
147 reviews
Kreuzberg
Armony Hotel & Business Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Freiraum Guesthouse
#93 of 356 in Berlin
27 reviews
Kreuzberg
Die Fabrik
Die Fabrik
#199 of 356 in Berlin
112 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin

Address: Skalitzer Str. 104, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £7 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing