We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent all round hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Ranked #15 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Was there for two nights in March 2011. The location is very good. Right beside Rosa-Luxemburg u-bahn (underground) station- literally 50metres. The hostel itself is fairly old, the room decor would be quite old too (rooms, stairs, lift).

That being said: the staff were excellent, the reception doubles up as a bar and there was always good atmosphere there. The hostel was very clean and tidy, the breakfast provided was good (cold meats, cereal, tea coffee). There are a number of good bars, shops nearby. It's one train from Alexander platz station.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed here for a stag do with 19 mates and had the best 3 days of our lives!! The bar is perfect. Cheap and cheerful. Bar staff were brilliant with us. (Crystal/Sally) was very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. Would highly recommed this hostel to everyone. The rooms were perfect, secure and clean. Also the food was lovely and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodcw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I, my parents, and my sister stayed in an apartment and were very pleased with it. The location is terrific (very close to Alexanderplatz) and steps away from a metro/subway station. The apartment itself was very comfortable and even had a view of the Alexanderplatz tower from the living room. The food in the Belushi's restaurant is also very good (who doesn't love a hamburger and beer combo?). I really liked this place because it's comfortable, clean, and very affordable.

Room Tip: We were in apartment 3b, I believe. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nationsbeglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

great beers, good service, the bathrooms are always clean, comfortable and close to sights. For those travelers who want to spend very little worth the stay.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
Thank Obermuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I visited Berlin in May 2010 and stayed for 3 nights. The room I chose at St Christophers was called 'The Girls Loft', which was a 6 bed shared room, and I thought it was brilliant. I only paid about £12 a night, and it was very very clean, spacious, good toilet/shower facilities and comfy beds. It is very light and airy, plus has good heating. The one bad point was that there was no luggage lockers in the rooms. The location of this hostel was also very convienient to walk to most of the main hot spots in Berlin, and the train/metro station was only about 3-4 minutes walk away. The hostel had fairly cheap food and drinks, plus a good internet service. The staff I found, however, were quite rude and unhelpful and not really bothered about making an effort about anything. Overall I would recommend staying here if visiting Berlin.

To Summerise:

GOOD POINTS:
-Good Location
-Very clean, spacious and good facilities
-Cheap prices
-Quiet nights sleep despite being in a hostel
-Good place to start a night out

BAD POINTS:
-Unfriendly and unhelpful staff
-No luggage lockers in rooms

Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ara_nobilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Really awesome hostel, we stayed in apartment which is really nice, with nice rooms and living room, new kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We didn't book a room in advance to stay here so we had to move around to different rooms. The first two nights we stayed in an apartment at the inn and it was comfortable. The room had two twin sized beds, desks, chairs, closet, etc. We shared a bathroom and a kitchen with another room but our room had a lock so security was never a problem. The kitchen was nice and had a table to eat, a fridge, stove, sink, coffee machine, glasses, and plates. It was just like living in an apartment and not a hotel/hostel. The third night we moved into shared rooms because it was the weekend and all the apartments were booked. The rooms were pretty clean. The shower in the hallway was a bit annoying because it was automatic and would shut off every 30 seconds or so. Everything was cleaned in the morning and it really wasnt so terrible except that it got a bit crowded in the morning. If you are traveling alone the shared rooms are good but if you are two or more, i think its well worth the investment to get an apartment since its only a few euros more for more privacy, the full kitchen, and a shower that is not automatic! The last night we stayed in an apartment that was in a separate building next door. It was super nice and big and had two bathrooms and two bedrooms (with locks). we also shared this apartment with strangers but again it was fine. I preferred the apartment in this building more than our original. The view was out towards the theater/street but it was still quiet. the location was great. it is across from the babylon theater where they were playing metropolis! and its an easy walk to great restaurants. the subway station is right outside the front entrance. I enjoyed my time here. There was also free breakfast in the morning and free wifi in the lobby. The lobby is also a bar so there were lots of outgoing friendly people watching sports and drinking beer. good place to socialize.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yes_architect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,280 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 358 in Berlin
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 358 in Berlin
734 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#27 of 358 in Berlin
1,461 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 358 in Berlin
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Berlin

Address: Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 39-41, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Circus II)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £25 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Berlin Backpackers Hostel is ideally located in the exciting and historic Berlin-Mitte. Step up into our Berlin Hostel where you'll be greeted by our friendly, knowledgeable and multi-lingual staff. Here there are over 160 beds, an extensive bar and a tasteful restaurant - making this backpackers hostel in Berlin a great place to befriend fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing