We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel i've been too, cracking atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Ranked #16 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This hostel was brilliant, the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the bar had a brilliant atmosphere and the staff were really friendly. I met so many different people because of the layout and fun people who were there. On top of this was good food, good facilities and a brilliant location, not at all far from the centre!

Room Tip: Book online before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshwigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed at St Christophers for 3 nights with my boyfriend and 3 friends. The hostel rooms are fantastic, really spacious, great storage, clean comfortable and nice and moderen. The bar and restaurant are great, nice, cheap food, live music and can get lively in the evenings.
Location is really good, walking distance to most things plus metro station is literally out the front door.
The only thing that lets this place down is the service. Quite often I would be waiting at the bar or the reception area for ages, there was just no one around or they were standing around chatting to each other and would make you wait until they were finished to come serve you, very frustrating.
On one occasion we asked a member of staff how we could get to the East Side gallery and all we got was some mumbling about a bus, he was totally not interested in helping us. We left with no idea where we were actually going and ended up in a taxi.
If they can get some concistency with their staff then this place would be amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClarisTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Was there for two nights in March 2011. The location is very good. Right beside Rosa-Luxemburg u-bahn (underground) station- literally 50metres. The hostel itself is fairly old, the room decor would be quite old too (rooms, stairs, lift).

That being said: the staff were excellent, the reception doubles up as a bar and there was always good atmosphere there. The hostel was very clean and tidy, the breakfast provided was good (cold meats, cereal, tea coffee). There are a number of good bars, shops nearby. It's one train from Alexander platz station.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed here for a stag do with 19 mates and had the best 3 days of our lives!! The bar is perfect. Cheap and cheerful. Bar staff were brilliant with us. (Crystal/Sally) was very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. Would highly recommed this hostel to everyone. The rooms were perfect, secure and clean. Also the food was lovely and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodcw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I, my parents, and my sister stayed in an apartment and were very pleased with it. The location is terrific (very close to Alexanderplatz) and steps away from a metro/subway station. The apartment itself was very comfortable and even had a view of the Alexanderplatz tower from the living room. The food in the Belushi's restaurant is also very good (who doesn't love a hamburger and beer combo?). I really liked this place because it's comfortable, clean, and very affordable.

Room Tip: We were in apartment 3b, I believe. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nationsbeglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

great beers, good service, the bathrooms are always clean, comfortable and close to sights. For those travelers who want to spend very little worth the stay.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
Thank Obermuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I visited Berlin in May 2010 and stayed for 3 nights. The room I chose at St Christophers was called 'The Girls Loft', which was a 6 bed shared room, and I thought it was brilliant. I only paid about £12 a night, and it was very very clean, spacious, good toilet/shower facilities and comfy beds. It is very light and airy, plus has good heating. The one bad point was that there was no luggage lockers in the rooms. The location of this hostel was also very convienient to walk to most of the main hot spots in Berlin, and the train/metro station was only about 3-4 minutes walk away. The hostel had fairly cheap food and drinks, plus a good internet service. The staff I found, however, were quite rude and unhelpful and not really bothered about making an effort about anything. Overall I would recommend staying here if visiting Berlin.

To Summerise:

GOOD POINTS:
-Good Location
-Very clean, spacious and good facilities
-Cheap prices
-Quiet nights sleep despite being in a hostel
-Good place to start a night out

BAD POINTS:
-Unfriendly and unhelpful staff
-No luggage lockers in rooms

Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ara_nobilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 362 in Berlin
1,292 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 362 in Berlin
958 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 362 in Berlin
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#12 of 362 in Berlin
752 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 362 in Berlin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Berlin

Address: Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 39-41, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Circus II)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £18 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Berlin Backpackers Hostel is ideally located in the exciting and historic Berlin-Mitte. Step up into our Berlin Hostel where you'll be greeted by our friendly, knowledgeable and multi-lingual staff. Here there are over 160 beds, an extensive bar and a tasteful restaurant - making this backpackers hostel in Berlin a great place to befriend fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing