We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people, great times!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Ranked #15 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hostel is amazing. Hands down the best I have ever stayed in. The bar is lively and full of great people. Drinks were cheap and the atmosphere was outstanding. The hostel was clean, The beds were comfy and the staff were really helpful. I had no idea what to do in Berlin and they always had brilliant suggestions making every day of my stay enjoyable. Can't give this place enough praise!! 10/10!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The hostel is very good.
The entrance is really bad though: at first you would never say it is a hostel because of the bar (common area). It is confusing and might be very unpleasant if you arrive on busy times.
The room is very nice! I stayed on a room for 6 people and the bunk beds were amazing. It was totally planned and well planned (plugs, lights, lockers, curtains). Large mattresses and very comfy.
Its a very big hostel and the shared showers might be a problem (talking about queuing to take a shower).
Staff were very nice and friendly.
Breakfast included. Wasn't the best, neither the worst. Good for its value ("free" haha), actually very good.
Theres no wifi in the room and thats bad, really bad, specially if the common area is busy and you just want to skype or chill...
The common area is nice. It is the best and the worst in the hostel hahah (if you stay there, you will know what im talking about). Cheap drinks, cheap food (and good) but tiny space.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank JoseArita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is the third St. Christophers I have stayed in in Europe so far and I am simply not sure!!! It is almost like the hostel is trying too hard to be hip and in the "scene". It is a great hostel with some nice people, a lot of nice people actually! We wanted to order food and asked reception about timings and the guy said they stop serving at 2300. So at 2250 we try to order and the bar staff are like ehhh no food stops at 2230. I know it is only a small thing but it is severely annoying, the reception and bar literally share one counter and they don't even know the timings of food? I couldn't find the mens showers on the second floor so i ended up using one in the "Oasis" whatever that is which was nice because it was a private shower! Overall the hostel is good!

Room Tip: Dorm always wins:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuriousTraveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived at st Christopher's at around 7pm the reception is in the bar we had to carry out heavy back packs through a over filled bar full of Americans watching football. They could see we were struggling and they kept pushing us out the way. We were told by the man at reception that we couldn't split our bill 3 ways. I physically had to pick up the calculator from his desk and split the cost between 3 myself as he would not help. We got to our room, it was clean. The beds squeak really loudly at any movement. The next morning at 10am a old man is put in our 6 bed dorm. My friend and I were speaking becAuse it was 10am we were told by the old man that people were trying to sleep and it was a 6 bed dorm not a 2. I found this really rude and uncalled for, why would you book a dorm if you can't handle noise? You would book a private. This hostel has a bar but is very boring there should be an age limit and not throw a old man in the room with young people. I have stayed at st Christopher's in Amsterdam that was great, this hostel should take a leaf out of there book. I'd never stay here again this place is no good. Staff not willing to help no laundry .... If you like to party don't stay here. The hostel claims to have free wifi.. It constantly disconnects they should not clam to have free wifi if this is the case.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank maddi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very quiet place dispite the bar in this hostel. There is no noise from street and everything is very clean. There is lift for apartment rooms and each apartment have 2 rooms: one double and one with twin beds. The bathroom with bathtub is common for this two rooms and is clean in good condition (there is hair dryer).
The staff is quite polite and welcoming, always available to help! There are free tours starting in the hostel (at least in december 2013).
The matress were not best quality but are average and its ok to sleep in here. I would recomend this place, either u are a party person or not! But if u like to know people and to have some party is best combination!

Room Tip: stayed at apartment rooms and they have kitchen included.. i think will be good if planning to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hated this hostel, I guess I'm not much of a party person because this hostel was a never-ending party..really, it's never-ending! (My boyfriend went one year before we met and he says it was the coolest hostel ever!)
The bathrooms smelled so much to humidity and always were dirty, if not flooded! The beds were very uncomfortable and very squeaky. The lockers were so little I could just put inside a purse.
The public area is the bar so you don't have an area where to relax without music at its highest volume. At the end of a very long touristy day I like to relax, with a beer or two, but not feel like I'm in a club where I can't hear the person right next to me..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kariecheverria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Love this place, and love the helpful friendly staff.
They have different rooms for different needs. They will gladly help you with any questions and give lot of suggestions.
Many discounts on both food and drinks. The portions of food is more than satisfactory. Try this hostel if you have not already done so. Merry Christmas St Christopher see you soon.

Room Tip: For a Solo girl traveling you have to try the 4 bed femal dorm. Couples book the dubbel bed room. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiKaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,280 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 358 in Berlin
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#13 of 358 in Berlin
734 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#25 of 358 in Berlin
1,460 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 358 in Berlin
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Berlin

Address: Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 39-41, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Circus II)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £24 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Berlin Backpackers Hostel is ideally located in the exciting and historic Berlin-Mitte. Step up into our Berlin Hostel where you'll be greeted by our friendly, knowledgeable and multi-lingual staff. Here there are over 160 beds, an extensive bar and a tasteful restaurant - making this backpackers hostel in Berlin a great place to befriend fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing