We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Q!

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Q!
Ranked #10 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Q Hotel the staff were very helpfull, good selection at breakfast. The rooms were very clean and good to look at although it is a bit like design gone mad! We had booked a travel zoo deal and we got free bottle of wine & cocktails and some sweets in our room. Would recommend this hotel, very good location

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cduncan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    323
    80
    16
    16
See reviews for
77
640
86
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The very friendly greeting at Hotel Q was made even better when arrived very early and expected to leave our bags but were told our room was ready anyway so we could check in! There was a welcome pack of sweets fruit and cocktails there for us already.
The room was amazing if a little up close and personal for two friends but we were prepared for that already, the bed was very comfy and every thing was very clean and the hotel was ideally situated for walking, buses, the U bahn and S bahn.
The Breakfast was lovely with everything you could want to chose from, even live cress to cut.
The staff were overall extremely very helpful and smiley apart from one miserable young waiter/bar man who we seemed to upset each day by just being there but we used it as entertainment and didn't let it bother us!
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairyarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I had mixed feelings about booking this hotel.
Once I arrived at the hotel I kind of understood why some people really hated it and others absolutely loved it.
The location is first class, steps away from the main shopping street Kudamm
I believe that people who usually stay in anonymous Sheraton-Hilton type of hotels with vast (mediocre quality) buffets and personnel treating them as sub-gods will find it difficult here. The friendly staff is young and easy going with a cool attitude. People had complained about that in their reviews. I found it quite refreshing and hip!
Yes, the rooms are on the small side. But very clean and kind of sexy! The shower is very comfortable yet fully exposed! The toilet is in a separate room, creating a quite spot. I thought it to be the ideal room for couples! The bed with its awkward wooden frame is only accessible from one side. It is kind of hard to get in. Not my favorite design, I must admit. But once I managed to get it I had a very comfortable and relaxing sleep.
Our standard room faced the street Knesebeck and was really very quiet! The doors are somehow noise proof. You barely hear anything.
There are red lights everywhere, adding to the quirkiness and kitsch. I really loved it!
The breakfast buffet was well stocked with various cold cuts, cheese, fresh herbs and Mediterranean varieties. You could also additionally order omelets and fried eggs.
If I would go back to Berlin, I would definitely stay in the Hotel Q!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my daughter for her 21st birthday. We were lucky to get one of the two rooms with balconies - and had free champagne, cocktails, sweets and fruit delivered to the room. Staff are really friendly and speak excellent English. Loved the dining room and breakfasts were first-class. There's a 24-hour shop nearby (turn left at the front door, walk 5 mins and cross the main road - it's on the right-hand side of the street). I'd recommend using Savignyplatz as the nearest tube stop (turn right at the front door and walk straight ahead - it's about a 3 min. walk). We spent most of our time in East Berlin which was much cheaper than the area surrounding the hotel. I'd recommend Hotel Q! We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: If you'd like a room with a balcony, ask for 602.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Handy location but hotel name is not obvious, one needs to look for the logo outside the hotel. Friendly, helpful reception staff, excellent English. Unusual night clubbish lighting in corridors. Roms are as per advertisement, organic shaped beds with adjacent wash basin. Can be cumbersome getting in and out of bed especially for less flexible people. The room was very warm and one needed to open the window to adjust the temperature. Good sized sauna, one dry and one wet (attire is birthday suits only as is traditional in most of Europe). Also a small but functional gym and a little beach with real sand and 4 lounge chairs together with a large wall that has a tranquil scene projected onto it. Iow a pleasant chill out area (again, a 'no clothes' zone). The clientele seems to be mostly in the mid 20's to mid 40's range. Overall an unusual and fun place to spend a few nights in Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHnRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Here are our thoughts on this hotel:

Location:

Just of Kurfurstendam and about 5 minutes walk from the U Bahn at Uhlandstrasse or the S Bahn at Savignyplatz. You can walk to the Zoologischer Garten in about 10-15 minutes. The road is quiet but it's only a very short walk from the nearby bustling streets.

Exterior:

There are no obvious signs outside the hotel to tell you that you have arrived although there is a large Q motif on the door. If you have the address, you won't have any problems. However, if you haven't and think it will be easy to find, you might struggle.

Reception:

The reception is small and can be cramped with more than a few people in it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were a bit apprehensive having seen some of the comments but, honestly, we felt the staff couldn't have been nicer. There aren't any safes in individual rooms but there are safes available at reception, free of charge. Also, when you check in, you'll be given a code for the wifi, which is free.

Corridors:

Yes-they are red but it's not oppressive. The room numbers are on the vertical lights outside the rooms. The numbers are small and located about a third of the way up.

Rooms:

We loved our room which was a standard one (i.e. without the bath tub). They are a little on the small size but storage space is adequate. The bed is quirky. It's large enough and comfortable. However, it can be a bit difficult to get on and off. Don't forget to check out the ceiling when lying on the bed. The shower in the room is strange but when you are used to it, it kind of works. However, you need to be comfortable with your travelling companion. The sink in the room wasn't a problem.

Spa:

The spa was lovely. It's fairly small and would be crowded with more than about 15 people in it. It has a sauna and a steam room and a lounging area with 4 beds which isn't many. Be aware that the spa is only open between 1800-2200.

Finishing Touches:

Shortly after arrival, we were given a small bottle of sparkling wine and a cocktail and on our morning of departure found a small bag of sweets on our bedroom door.

General:

We absolutely loved this hotel. We can understand that it isn't for everyone but we wanted something a bit different and got it. At the right price, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

When we entered we were greeted warmly with staff that spoke great english. They allowed us to check in early and we were impressed by the rooms and general decor of the hotel too. Although parts of the room were a bit tight - it was easy enough to get around it. We liked the different design.
The beds were comfortable and the shower was good. If you like more than one pillow you may have to ask reception though as we only had one each in our room.
They also gave us a welcome gift of water, sweets and fruit which was lovely.
The breakfast was great too - lots of variety of hot and cold foods.
The hotel is in a great location and close to transport.
Would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,794 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louisa's Place
#4 of 634 in Berlin
610 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#17 of 634 in Berlin
1,238 reviews
Charlottenburg
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Q!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Q!

Property: Hotel Q!
Address: Knesebeckstr. 67, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#7 Business Hotel in Berlin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#28 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#43 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#44 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Q! 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a decade now Hotel Q! ⎯ Or as our friends say das Q! ⎯ Is one of the places to stay in the German capital. Known for its extravagant architecture, the design hotel is a unique visual experience as well as a friendly and warm home to return to from a day about town. Hotel Q! Is located mere footsteps from the famous Kurfurstendamm with its many boutiques and restaurants. Created by the internationally-renowned Graft-Architects, the interior is an awesome red cocoon made from environmentally-friendly materials. The space provides a hearth in which you can withdraw and relax from the raucous of the city, enjoying a fire-side cocktail in The Fox Bar or a cosy soak in your room's elegant bathtub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Q! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel q Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing