We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!”
Review of Louisa's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Louisa's Place
Ranked #4 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I really cannot understand how people can underrate this hotel. Yes, this is an apartment hotel, which was a wonderful surprise to me. The rooms were gorgeous, with a brand new condo feel to it. Granite countertops in both kitchen and bathroom, quality linens, tasteful and clean furnishings. I never did see the restaurant but does the fact that breakfast is not included except for a price really matter? You are on the Ku'damm! You are surrounded by wonderful eateries and fabulous food, merely steps away from this hotel! Do you really need a hotel bar (don't know if there is one at Louisa's or not, didn't feel the need to know) as you are, again, SURROUNDED by cafes, bistros and bars! This is the Rodeo Drive of Berlin! Did you never hear of 'location location location'?! Yes, things will be a little pricier!

The atmosphere at Louisa's has a quiet spa-type vibe, indeed, there is a spa on site, which may explain why other patrons might complain to managment about noisy family activity at the pool, which is part of the spa facility! (To me, spa equals tranquility). The pool is surrounded by ultra large, ultra comfy lounge chairs and has an unending supply of large fluffy bath towels. The pool gurgles and makes for a great "white noise" to snooze off jet lag or to hunker in with the newspaper or a good book, clad in your large fluffy robe from your room. The foyer, staircases and hallways have a royal grandeaur quite pleasing to my "champagne tastes" and add to the pampering feeling that spending time in Louisa's will give you. I found the staff to be extremely helpful, actually walking my husband and I down to the parking garage behind the hotel rather than just pointing the way or trying to explain directions.

There is a sophistocated feel to this hotel which gains it it's very deserved 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank milo1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    110
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
180
220
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We are a mature, well travelled over the years, British couple.We planned a visit to Berlin as a very special break for just the two of us. We stayed in the city for 7 days and, with the exception of our accomodation, the city and its environs far exceeded our expectations. We shall definitely revisit Berlin and suggest to our friends that they should also visit this spectacular metropolis.
The public transport system is fantastic, very convenient and economical.Our guide book was very accurate.
However the purpose of this review is to comment upon Louisa's Place as a venue in which to spend a week. The staff most of whom are young, polite and very courteous try very hard to fulfil their role in making their visitors experience a good one. From our observations they are not visibly supported by their owners. In our opinion the description of it being a 4/5 star 'boutique hotel' is very misleading. It is, or appears to be, an establishment that supplies serviced apartments. If we had wanted this there are many options seemingly available in the city. The shower room with toilet etc was fine, although if you are under six feet tall your feet won't touch the floor when sitting on the toilet ! ( at least in our room).
The sitting room was adequate and had a kitchenette with fridge, dishwasher, oven but no microwave. The bedroom was simply a disaster. Only one side of the bed had a table and reading light. So for me, it was spectacles on the floor with the book and try not to tread on them during the night. Two of us could not pass side by side in this room. Boutique ? Luxury ? I don't think so. Re-reading the Trip Advisor reviews tells me that our dissatisfaction puts us in the minority. Well so be it. If the faceless owners believe that a price of over 1000 Euros, without breakfast is good value for 7 days, with breakfast per person per day at 20 euros. plus almost 6 euros per day for wi-fi access that's their decision, but it is a bad one. What is also unclear in the various third party PR is that the Restaurant Balthazar is a separate business and not easily accessible.
We expressed very politely our 'disappointment' within 48 hours of our arrival but nothing changed. In conclusion the accomodation and its offering is clearly managed by Accountants whose main purpose is to squeeze out every gram of net profit regardless of the client.
May we suggest they stand back and allow someone with a modicum of taste and flair for colour to improve the sleeping accomodation. Then maybe Louisa's Place will stand alongside its magnificent city. Next time we shall stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The only good thing is the location and - but I take this in an as 5* advertised hotel for granted - the rooms were clean. But it is no 5* hotel according usual German standards.

The entire on night stay turned out to be a nightmare!

Firstly Louisa's Place is rather a self-catering apartment guesthouse (maybe nice for families) than a hotel for sophisticated purposes (as expected with 5*) and definitely not apt for business travellers.

There was in the hotel itself no possibility to get a meal or drinks, no room service, no minibar.

On arrival the staff wasn't capable to issue a bill or provide information about nearby restaurants, next cash machine, etc. and behaved rude.

To complete the misery for that stay the room needed to be changed TWO times after arrival due to failures in the bathroom facilities. Throughout these happening the staff behaved again not really courteous.

At least another member of staff apologized at check-out for the suffered inconveniences.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colibri-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisasPlace, Richtigstellung at Louisa's Place, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
At Louisa’s Place our guests can surely expedience the luxury of a 5 star hotel in a private atmosphere. Room service, Concierge service, a spa area and our restaurant Balthazar are only a few examples of the services we offer to our guests. The minibar in the suite will be fully stocked upon request.
According to the feedback received from other guests our personnel are always friendly and very helpful. Of course our staff is trained to give information about restaurants close by, the closest cash machine etc. at any time.
We would really like to apologize for the obvious missunderstanding during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights, spacious apartment, lovely atmosphere (tall ceilings, huge living room, nice layout). Although we only cooked dinner a couple of nights, it was great to have kitchen facilities for breakfast, lunch, coffee and snacks. Minor downsides - no microwave. Gym, pool and sauna nice, steam was room not working during our stay. Staff extremely helpful (our experience throughout Germany). Good location, at the end of the main shopping section of Kurfurstendamm but an easy work or train/bus ride. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Syd_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This hotel is a wonderful find, on the Kurfurstendam in the heart of Berlin's shopping and restaurant area, yet so quiet and relaxing. The apartment we rented had 2 large, high-ceilinged rooms, a wonderful bathroom, and fully equiped kitchen with a balcony. We also enjoyed a beautiful swimming pool that was most attractively designed with murals of gardens and a villa.
The hotel personnel were extremely courteous and helpful, and recommended excellent restaurants, including Leibniz Klaus which I have also reviewed. They even send us birthday and Christmas greetings every year since we visited (which was July, 20120)!
My husband and I lived in Berlin in the 1970s and wanted to stay in the city but not be disturbed by traffic and noise. Louisa's Place exceeded all our requqirements

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pandrbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantova
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Everything in this hotel is really perfect. We had an apartment, not a simple hotel room, tastefully decorated. We felt at home. Spent there a wonderful week. The staff was so nice and attentive, ready to attend to any request we had. The pool is fantastic and very welcomed after a tiring day of sightseeing in amazing Berlin, as it was the comfort of the sitting room (with sofa, armchair and writing table) and the perfectly equipped kitchenette (dishwasher and coffee machine!). Our room was facing the little garden and the silence was amazing.
We did not had breakfast in the hotel but found a nice place, very local, to the left of the building under a theatre, Schaubuhne. We had very good dinners at the chinese restaurant Hot Spot nearby and also in a spanish restaurant La Caleta in Wieland strasse, a ten minutes walk from the hotel. We had fun eating at Curry 195 on Ku'damm.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elisa038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights (4 - 8 August 2012) at Louisa's Place with our 2 children (6 and 4 years) and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We simply cannot recommend the hotel highly enough - it is grand yet unpretentious, the staff extremely welcoming and attentive, the quality and range of facilities is superb (the children loved the swimming pool), our apartment / suite was perfect and the location of the hotel was ideal for exploring this vibrant and wonderful city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHelfrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisa's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisa's Place

Property: Louisa's Place
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 160, 10709 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#8 Family Hotel in Berlin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#26 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Louisa's Place 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Louisa's Place is directly situated at the world-famous boulevard "Kurfurstendamm". Its location at the heart of Berlin City West surrounded by numerous fashion boutiques, restaurants, cafes as well as theatres and galleries. Visitors for trade fairs benefit form being close to the exhibition grounds and appreciate the possibility of experiencing the relaxing and calm atmosphere at Louisa's Place. Every one of our 47 suites has its own distinctive character and offers two to three rooms. The interior impresses with timeless elegance and high-quality materials. All suites are equipped with satellite TV and DVD player, telephone, a bathroom with under-floor heating, balconies or conservatories in most units as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We offer our guests free access to internet via WiFi. Our spacious Spa area is especially designed to suit your personal needs. You can plunge in our large scale swimming pool, and swim away from your daily cares and troubles. Our fitness room will invite you to perspire, and with a following visit in our sauna you will be able to set your spirit free. Get a new look at our hair salon "Udo Walz Louisa's Place" while receiving a well-deserved hair treatment in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Alternatively let yourself be pampered with a relaxing massage or classical cosmetic. Please come in and visit our land of relaxation. Let yourself get indulged by the metropolitan kitchen of our Chef Holger Zurbruggen in the modern and elegantly atmosphere of BALTHAZAR Restaurant. The ambitious dialogue of the solid middle European kitchen with international influences is distinctive. The atmosphere of the Restaurant is open and communicative. The architecture and interior design with its high windows and the long "Cheftable" in the middle, the BALTHAZAR table, are a synonym for this extraordinary ambience. Only at this special table you will be able to celebrate the exceptional Balthazar dinner between five to twelve courses and will get poured the wine out of our 12-litres-Balthazar-bottles. You are cordially invited to experience pure relaxation and decadent vibrance of VESPER Bar. Submerge yourself in their proudly tailored cocktails and finely blended whiskeys and join them on a journey when the best of everything was uncompromising and the pursuit of perfection was all around at our famous Kurfurstendamm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louisa's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisa`s Place Hotel Berlin
Louisas Place Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing