We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in central Berlin”
Review of Louisa's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Louisa's Place
Ranked #4 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Louisa's Place is a beautiful boutique hotel which feels more like a condominium residence. High ceilings, luxury appointments, lovely decor, and a friendly, helpful concierge team greet you upon entering the property. The room/suite which awaits you truly feels like your Berlin home, with a foyer, large bedroom, living room, kitchen, balcony, and stylish European bathroom. The beds and bedding are UBER-comfortable. The kitchen is stocked with dishware, pots, glassware, beautiful appliances ( including a Bosch washing machine for your laundry needs). While at the hotel, don't miss the spa pool in the lower level - - we were sorry we had not packed our swim suits because this is an immensely appealing pool area !! There are many nearby markets, so stocking your refrigerator and pantry is simple, making an in-suite breakfast or lunch possible each day. Location: at the western end of the shopping area on the KuDamm, from Louisa's Place it is easy to get anywhere in Berlin. There is a subway stop outside the hotel door ( Adnauer Platz), and a few blocks away there is an S-bahn station. You are in walking distance to many big attractions ( and shops), and just a few blocks from Savigny Platz, which is a most charming neighborhood FILLED with wonderful restaurants. We would definitely stay here again if we were traveling to Berlin, and we highly recommend it ! (We rated the breakfast excellent, because we know it to be amazing. However, we did not partake of the breakfast offered in the hotel because it is very expensive - - 20 euros each.)

Room Tip: There is street activity on the KuDamm, so staying on the side of the building might be preferable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rklahner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a lovely hotel with amazing staff. There was nothing they wouldn't do for us, I would highly recommend them. We were a family and they really helped us out with anything we needed and also recommended good places to eat and visit. The standard of room was excellent and we loved the pool in the basement.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights at Louisa's Place on our first visit to Berlin. Both the hotel and the city itself, provided such a wonderful experience we certainly plan to return. As other reviewers have advised the hotel is in a fantastic location with a multitude of bars, restaurants and of course shops right outside the hotel door.The hotel is an all suite hotel with each room comprising a bedroom, separate sitting room and small kitchenette along with huge separate bathroom. The rooms are fitted to a very high standard and the space is glorious (especially, if you have been traveling through other parts of Europe where the standard room size is a shoebox!). We only used the kitchen to make the occassional tea and coffee and to chill some wine but it was great to have it available. We had breakfast each day at the hotel and dinner one night at the adjoining Balthazar restaurant. The food and service was excellent on all occassions. Finally, I would like to congratulate and thank the staff for their helpful, professional but above all very friendly service. Nothing seemed too much trouble including a great staff member who ran out to a local supermarket late one evening to bring me some fresh milk for my late night cup of tea! Now that is service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I really cannot understand how people can underrate this hotel. Yes, this is an apartment hotel, which was a wonderful surprise to me. The rooms were gorgeous, with a brand new condo feel to it. Granite countertops in both kitchen and bathroom, quality linens, tasteful and clean furnishings. I never did see the restaurant but does the fact that breakfast is not included except for a price really matter? You are on the Ku'damm! You are surrounded by wonderful eateries and fabulous food, merely steps away from this hotel! Do you really need a hotel bar (don't know if there is one at Louisa's or not, didn't feel the need to know) as you are, again, SURROUNDED by cafes, bistros and bars! This is the Rodeo Drive of Berlin! Did you never hear of 'location location location'?! Yes, things will be a little pricier!

The atmosphere at Louisa's has a quiet spa-type vibe, indeed, there is a spa on site, which may explain why other patrons might complain to managment about noisy family activity at the pool, which is part of the spa facility! (To me, spa equals tranquility). The pool is surrounded by ultra large, ultra comfy lounge chairs and has an unending supply of large fluffy bath towels. The pool gurgles and makes for a great "white noise" to snooze off jet lag or to hunker in with the newspaper or a good book, clad in your large fluffy robe from your room. The foyer, staircases and hallways have a royal grandeaur quite pleasing to my "champagne tastes" and add to the pampering feeling that spending time in Louisa's will give you. I found the staff to be extremely helpful, actually walking my husband and I down to the parking garage behind the hotel rather than just pointing the way or trying to explain directions.

There is a sophistocated feel to this hotel which gains it it's very deserved 5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank milo1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We are a mature, well travelled over the years, British couple.We planned a visit to Berlin as a very special break for just the two of us. We stayed in the city for 7 days and, with the exception of our accomodation, the city and its environs far exceeded our expectations. We shall definitely revisit Berlin and suggest to our friends that they should also visit this spectacular metropolis.
The public transport system is fantastic, very convenient and economical.Our guide book was very accurate.
However the purpose of this review is to comment upon Louisa's Place as a venue in which to spend a week. The staff most of whom are young, polite and very courteous try very hard to fulfil their role in making their visitors experience a good one. From our observations they are not visibly supported by their owners. In our opinion the description of it being a 4/5 star 'boutique hotel' is very misleading. It is, or appears to be, an establishment that supplies serviced apartments. If we had wanted this there are many options seemingly available in the city. The shower room with toilet etc was fine, although if you are under six feet tall your feet won't touch the floor when sitting on the toilet ! ( at least in our room).
The sitting room was adequate and had a kitchenette with fridge, dishwasher, oven but no microwave. The bedroom was simply a disaster. Only one side of the bed had a table and reading light. So for me, it was spectacles on the floor with the book and try not to tread on them during the night. Two of us could not pass side by side in this room. Boutique ? Luxury ? I don't think so. Re-reading the Trip Advisor reviews tells me that our dissatisfaction puts us in the minority. Well so be it. If the faceless owners believe that a price of over 1000 Euros, without breakfast is good value for 7 days, with breakfast per person per day at 20 euros. plus almost 6 euros per day for wi-fi access that's their decision, but it is a bad one. What is also unclear in the various third party PR is that the Restaurant Balthazar is a separate business and not easily accessible.
We expressed very politely our 'disappointment' within 48 hours of our arrival but nothing changed. In conclusion the accomodation and its offering is clearly managed by Accountants whose main purpose is to squeeze out every gram of net profit regardless of the client.
May we suggest they stand back and allow someone with a modicum of taste and flair for colour to improve the sleeping accomodation. Then maybe Louisa's Place will stand alongside its magnificent city. Next time we shall stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The only good thing is the location and - but I take this in an as 5* advertised hotel for granted - the rooms were clean. But it is no 5* hotel according usual German standards.

The entire on night stay turned out to be a nightmare!

Firstly Louisa's Place is rather a self-catering apartment guesthouse (maybe nice for families) than a hotel for sophisticated purposes (as expected with 5*) and definitely not apt for business travellers.

There was in the hotel itself no possibility to get a meal or drinks, no room service, no minibar.

On arrival the staff wasn't capable to issue a bill or provide information about nearby restaurants, next cash machine, etc. and behaved rude.

To complete the misery for that stay the room needed to be changed TWO times after arrival due to failures in the bathroom facilities. Throughout these happening the staff behaved again not really courteous.

At least another member of staff apologized at check-out for the suffered inconveniences.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colibri-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisasPlace, Richtigstellung at Louisa's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

At Louisa’s Place our guests can surely expedience the luxury of a 5 star hotel in a private atmosphere. Room service, Concierge service, a spa area and our restaurant Balthazar are only a few examples of the services we offer to our guests. The minibar in the suite will be fully stocked upon request.
According to the feedback received from other guests our personnel are always friendly and very helpful. Of course our staff is trained to give information about restaurants close by, the closest cash machine etc. at any time.
We would really like to apologize for the obvious missunderstanding during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights, spacious apartment, lovely atmosphere (tall ceilings, huge living room, nice layout). Although we only cooked dinner a couple of nights, it was great to have kitchen facilities for breakfast, lunch, coffee and snacks. Minor downsides - no microwave. Gym, pool and sauna nice, steam was room not working during our stay. Staff extremely helpful (our experience throughout Germany). Good location, at the end of the main shopping section of Kurfurstendamm but an easy work or train/bus ride. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Syd_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
552 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,402 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisa's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisa's Place

Address: Kurfuerstendamm 160, 10709 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#8 Family Hotel in Berlin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#26 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £107 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Louisa's Place 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Louisa's Place is directly situated at the world-famous boulevard "Kurfurstendamm". Its location at the heart of Berlin City West surrounded by numerous fashion boutiques, restaurants, cafes as well as theatres and galleries. Visitors for trade fairs benefit form being close to the exhibition grounds and appreciate the possibility of experiencing the relaxing and calm atmosphere at Louisa's Place. Every one of our 47 suites has its own distinctive character and offers two to three rooms. The interior impresses with timeless elegance and high-quality materials. All suites are equipped with satellite TV and DVD player, telephone, a bathroom with under-floor heating, balconies or conservatories in most units as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We offer our guests free access to internet via WiFi. Our spacious Spa area is especially designed to suit your personal needs. You can plunge in our large scale swimming pool, and swim away from your daily cares and troubles. Our fitness room will invite you to perspire, and with a following visit in our sauna you will be able to set your spirit free. Get a new look at our hair salon "Udo Walz Louisa's Place" while receiving a well-deserved hair treatment in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Alternatively let yourself be pampered with a relaxing massage or classical cosmetic. Please come in and visit our land of relaxation. Let yourself get indulged by the metropolitan kitchen of our Chef Holger Zurbruggen in the modern and elegantly atmosphere of BALTHAZAR Restaurant. The ambitious dialogue of the solid middle European kitchen with international influences is distinctive. The atmosphere of the Restaurant is open and communicative. The architecture and interior design with its high windows and the long "Cheftable" in the middle, the BALTHAZAR table, are a synonym for this extraordinary ambience. Only at this special table you will be able to celebrate the exceptional Balthazar dinner between five to twelve courses and will get poured the wine out of our 12-litres-Balthazar-bottles. You are cordially invited to experience pure relaxation and decadent vibrance of VESPER Bar. Submerge yourself in their proudly tailored cocktails and finely blended whiskeys and join them on a journey when the best of everything was uncompromising and the pursuit of perfection was all around at our famous Kurfurstendamm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louisa's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisa`s Place Hotel Berlin
Louisas Place Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing