We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Ranked #66 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This wasn't our first choice in Berlin, but after our initial reservation failed, we had to book a convenient hotel within two days' notice during the busy pre-Christmas period. We booked what was supposed to be a deluxe room with breakfast. Hotel location is fine if you like to be in Alexanderplatz. Reception area is cool, trendy and modern, but the rooms are so small and there is barely any closet space, let alone any space to open one's suitcase! When we complained that the first room they had given us was not a deluxe room, we were given another, larger one, on the spot, which was still quite small. Luckily, the beds are high and we could slide our suitcases under them. Toiletries are great (Aveda brand) but never complete as every single day of our stay, one item (soap, shampoo, floor towel) was forgotten. We were told breakfast was included but found out it wasn't (not the hotel's fault), but at 17 euros per person, one could easily cross the street and go to the cafe in front, have whatever one would like for less than half the price. If you want to stay at this hotel for more than two days, then make sure you book a deluxe room

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room to have some closets and more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1001night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear 1001night,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note that you liked our hotel location, reception area and brand of toiletries. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a relaxing, enjoyable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectations in particular the size of our rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are very important to us and we are confident that the hotel management will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Chose the Indigo through IHG app. Location great but if you get a room at the front remember earplugs.....the trams run right by the front door.
Hotel very welcoming,room was absolutely fine for the 2 nights.
Staff all very helpful and obliging. Breakfast was very good with adequate choice.
Will book again for sure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 777-200flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear 777-200flyer,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz for your recent stay in Berlin.
On your next stay with us we will make sure you will get a quiet room with a view to the courtyard.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you are planning to book again. Why not coming back in spring ?

See you soon in Berlin !

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for five nights in this well presented and centrally located hotel. The customer service was excellent, from the point of booking. Prior to arriving in Berlin I was impressed that the General Manager Herr Dreyer was taking time to respond to guests on tripadvisor and this influenced our decision to stay at the Hotel Indigo. I was able to ask for a room facing the TV Tower on as high as floor as possible with the much talked about Neptune glass facade. I did not think that all parts of the request would be accommodated due to availability but Mr. Dreyer responded kindly to my e-mails. When we arrived we were given a free upgrade to a King size room and it was perfect - all that I had asked for. The room was modern and clean and, as promised, there was a great view. Do not be put off by others commenting on the lack of privacy that the glass faced to the shower affords. This is not the case. I did not find it intrusive. It was a nice, unique feature. You really would have to go peering up close to the glass if you wanted to see more of your roommate then you wanted! The furnishings are modern and that is reflected in this design. It is good that the management have offered something different than the usual drab catalogue furnishings.

This hotel is extremely well-located. You are in easy walking distance to Museuminsel, Mitte, Scheunenviertel and Prenzlauer Berg. Postdamer Platz and Tiergarten are slightly further away but manageable for a longer walk (particularly if you are admirers of history). Even so, Alexanderplatz U-Bahn station is about two minutes from the hotel. Airport transfers are also easy, 22 mins from Schonefeld airport to Alexanderplatz station. There is a 24/7 shop next to the hotel and the hotel also has its own steak restaurant. There is a set menu for 30 euros per person that includes a decent bottle of Syrah-Merlot and is very reasonably priced considering the quality of the meal and the ambient surroundings. The hotel bar is also sleek and a relaxing place to have a drink. I got the impression that the bar was also popular with non-hotel guests, which is a good sign.

Other reviewers have mentioned the decent extras in the rooms - free wi-fi, coffee machine, safe, bath robes, Aveda products. I can't comment on the tv as I did not turn it on. You shouldn't either with the wealth of culture and entertainment that Berlin offers!

With the exception of the major sights and landmarks the architecture in the Alexanderplatz neighbourhood could be considered grey and ugly, but, by no means let this put you off. The interior of the hotel is very smart and you would be hard pressed to find a better option for this price in this location. The hotel is probably best suited to couples and business travellers. It is ideal if you wish to do and see a lot in Berlin.

Again, the customer service was excellent and Sebastian and all the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing Alexanderplatz offer a great view of the iconic and striking Fernsehturm (TV To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eliot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Eliot P.

thank you for staying with us at Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are very happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you had such a good time in Berlin and at the hotel.

Whenever you are planning to return to Berlin - you got my email ! We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again.

Yours truly

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Indigo to celebrate our anniversary weekend in Berlin, and we were far from disappointed! The hotel is very chic and starts off with a sophisticated bar on the ground floor serving brilliant cocktails. This contemporary vibe continues through to the rooms which are very stylish and most importantly - superbly comfortable! The mattress and pillows are great, and you even get 2 single duvets on a double bed so there’s no fighting for the cover! The room was immaculately clean, and even comes equipped with a tassimo machine which is ideal after a long day of venturing round the city. Breakfast is good and served until 10:30am so you can have a lie in and still make it down in time. Above all, the general manager, Dirk Dreyer, is absolutely brilliant. From before we even arrived he was helping to make our weekend more special, and throughout our stay his kindness didn’t falter. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Berlin!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lakhani25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Lakhani25,

thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for your five star review. It was a pleasure having you here with us at Hotel Indigo and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you soon again. We recommend a Berlin trip in spring as the city has so many cafes, beer gardens, parks and outdoor activities to offer. You can contact me anytime on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We just spent three night at this modern smallest hotel 1 block from Alexanderplatz. The location was perfect for getting everywhere, restaurants, etc. The staff were so helpful and kind. I particularly want to single out Conrad Erik. We arrived about 8AM after an all night flight from the US. He graciously arranged for the cleaning staff to get our room ready first. So, we were allowed to check in early and sleep several hours before going out in Berlin. The room was very modern and emmaculate. The bathroom was awesome with a huge shower. We had a corner room with a nice view of Alexanderplatz and the TV tower. The breakfast buffet had everything you could possibly want. On our checkout morning, Conrad arranged for a taxi to be at the door and ordered box lunches for us to take on the train, since we were leaving too early to eat breakfast. Those box lunches saved us as we had no time to buy food in the Bahnhof, and we had an 8 hour train trip to Krakow. They gave us 2 sandwiches, two pieces of fruit and a bottle of water in our lunch!! It took care of breakfast and lunch. The staff was wonderful, the hotel was clean, the food great and the location perfect! What more can you ask? One more thing I liked that I had not seen before. To use the elevator, you had to scan you key card to go up. I nice level of security. Plus there was a safe in the room to store valuables in. Great Job Hotel Indigo-Berlin!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sqpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear sqpeg,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for your terrific review.
I am delighted to read your feedback and especially your compliments for Konrad make me very happy (and him even more !!).

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here in trip advisor. Whenever you need something in or from Berlin please let us know.

All the very best and best regards from Konrad

Yours truly

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Was not impressed. I booked a deluxe room via Booking.com and was treated badly for it.

1. Arrived and was allocated a room on the 7th floor, was told that only standard rooms looked into the courtyard so I had a room looking towards Alexanderplatz. Room 723 was the size of a broom cupboard with barely room to move. Finally I was given room 725 which was slightly bigger.

2. Dreadful pillows. Even with all 4 stacked I could feel the mattress.

3. Even though it was a new building, the windows were cheap and let in the noise of the trams passing all day and all night.

When I checked out the different receptionist told me that no, they had deluxe rooms looking into the courtyard. Clearly when I arrived I was lower than dirt.

However:

Location was not bad, walking distance to Alexanderplatz and the bus to Tegel airport. Breakfast perfectly adequate.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Belgian_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Belgian_EU,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for taking the time to write us your feedback.

Our standard rooms have a size of 18 sqm which is four star hotel standard. We have upgraded you on a complimentary basis to one of our deluxe rooms with a size of ca 25 sqm. On the day of your arrival we had no deluxe rooms with courtyard view available as we were fully booked. It must have been a misunderstanding that we do not have deluxe rooms with courtyard view in general, we just had none of those rooms available on this special day. Please accept my apologies for your bad feeling on this.

Please mention your preferred room when booking online or contact us prior your arrival via email. We always do our best to fulfill our guests' wishes and the earlier we know the more flexible we can be. Many guests love the rooms facing the street as they can enjoy the view to Alexanderplatz and the TV tower and accept the sound of a major city directly at Berlin's most frequented square. However our rooms facing the courtyard garden are very quiet.

We usually receive excellent feedback here on tripadvisor on the quality of our mattresses and beds and I am inconsolable about your feedback you did not get a good night's sleep even with four pillows stacked. All our rooms are equipped with a total of seven pillows and two blankets. In case this is not enough we offer the full IHG pillow menu with a choice of five different pillows. Please ask the reception on your next stay with us.

I am sad to read that you had a 'budget' feel when staying with us and that you did not enjoy our amenities like the hot towel and welcome drink on arrival, the free WIFI and landline calls, the Tassimo machine in your room, the free SKY movies channels, the Aveda products and the complimentary late night snack.

Dear Belgian_EU, you can contact me anytime on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Yours sincerely

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We've just checked in and I'm really pleased with hotel. Modern well equipped with a great steak restaurant . Even on a Monday nite was buzzing. Fab bar Lovley cocktails. Rooms although small very well done. Comfortable beds robes great coffee , wifi. And very powerful shower all aveda products. Welcome drinks two glasses of prosseco , Bar snacks and a breakfast to suit all needs fruit , yogurt. Smoked Salmon omelettes. Bacon meats cheeses. Breads pastries.I thought 17 euros was pricey for breakfast but I can see why. It's in the right position to get to everything Stay here good choice. Can't wait to get out and explore this city. !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Caron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Caron G,

thank you for your fantastic review - I am delighted to read that your very first impression of the hotel made you write a review before you even are back home. I hope we will bump into each other while you are at Hotel Indigo and we can have a drink.

I wish you a great stay and thank you once again for sharing your Hotel Indigo experience with the trip advisor community.

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,939 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 634 in Berlin
5,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Address: Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £71 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Lifestyle Hotel Indigo Berlin Alexanderplatz is located in the city center of Berlin, only 300m away from the Alexanderplatz and surrounded by countless shopping attractions, culture and fashion highlights. Its location at the very heart of Berlin makes it a perfect spot to start your Berlin Experience. Waking up in the "neighborhood" design, all rooms artwork is inspired by the neighborhood of the Alexanderplatz and Eastern part of Berlin, bringing some of the creativity of the city onto the walls. All our 153 modern, comfortable and cozy rooms are equipped with flat screen LCD TV, SKY TV, safe, air condition, electric kettle with a free choice of coffee and tea facilities, minibar as well as a hand-picked choice of toiletries and an invigorating rainfall shower. Free Wi-Fi and free phone calls landline in 17 European countries, the USA and China are also included. An extensive and delicious breakfast buffet with a rich choice of homemade marmalade, fruit juices and coffee specialties awaits you in the morning in our restaurant. Enjoy an authentic delicious meal at our restaurant La Maison de L'entrecôte for lunch or dinner. Our head chef uses only the freshest ingredients. The entrecote in all its variety is the signature dish of our restaurant. In addition we offer a choice of international specialties. Relax after a long day of work or sightseeing in our fancy "White 5 Bar" by a classic exotic cocktail or a whiskey in our Bar Lounge. Further, the Hotel Indigo has 3 meeting rooms for a maximum of 80 people. All rooms are located on the ground floor are equipped with daylight, modern meeting technique, Wi-Fi, air condition and can be darkened. For sporty active people, the hotel offers 24h an own fitness room with cardio equipment free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing