We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #11 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great location, brilliant stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Great location for transport and right across the street from really good restaraunts and bars! staff were really friendly and helpful. rooms were nice and really clean. Def stay again in future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    485
    148
    45
    38
See reviews for
88
161
346
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff here are so friendly, patient and hard working that they had no trouble catering for our large group (of around 25 good humoured people of mixed age/gender).

We chose it for its location and good reputation and we were not disappointed. The Generator Mitte is a modern refurb. well designed and spotlessly clean with a good breakfast room, bar and front cafe which serves snacks 24/7.

Just remember that this is a hostel and so there isn't much storage in the room for clothes and no TV. Neither of those things bothered us. The rooms are spacious. Ours was a twin with shower room with very high quality fittings including power shower. It's difficult to think of anything bad about this place. Actually, I can't. The Generator Mitte is absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for advice at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Generally good. just didn't like one of the nights, since the bar was crowded with teenagers (children really) wich was really annoying. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Location is very good as well, everything in a walking distance or by underground.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Fantastic and easy to find location in the heart of the city. the staff were friendly and welcoming when we arrived and continued with the same attitude throughout our stay.

the hostel has a bar and a cafe attached and serves a variety of hot and cold food and beers late into the night.

this is a must for anyone looking for budget digs with comfort included.

for the record, we stayed in a private 2 bed room and barely heard a peep from the other guests in all the time we were there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coemenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend stay in Berlin. Great, possibly one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Friendly and help full staff, good location nice bar/cafe services. All in all a good base camp to explore Berlin from. Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had a wonderful time experiencing Berlin and staying at the generator. Our room was very tidy, everything is easily accessible from the hostel and the staff are extremely helpful! Everytime I went to eat they had a recommendation and helped us out with the nightlife hot spots etc. My only issue was the share room storage under the bed? you have to pull the whole wooden box out to open it, but thats so minuscule compared to all the great things this hostel has!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Generator Berlin Mitte for eleven days and I have no hesitation in saying that this is a excellent place to stay. Great location, tasty food, comfortable beds and a high standard of cleanliness everywhere. And saving the best till last, phenomenal staff. I have stayed in a lot of hostels on my travels and service varies a lot, but here at the Generator every staff member is super friendly, knowledgeable, very obliging and nothing is too much trouble for them. It was great to come back to the hostel at the end of a long day and always be greeted with big smiles and friendly hellos. Thank you to Susie, Miriam, Anna, Fred, Sebastian, Phillipp and Jorge and to all the other lovely staff whose names I did not catch. You guys rock!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,792 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 351 in Berlin
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 351 in Berlin
2,214 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#27 of 351 in Berlin
1,406 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte

Property: Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Address: Oranienburger Str. 65, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte 1*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator in the heart of the city, in the district of Mitte which is one of Berlin’s oldest districts. You couldn’t get a better location if you tried. Great for everything that is a must see in this great city as well as the nightlife. Oranienburger Strasse has become Mitte’s hub for nightlife, galleries, art, cafes and restaurants. The hostel sits in the centre of this grand street and is a terrific hangout for locals and travellers. Once you have seen and done it all head back to Generator, the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons like a USB port and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll definitely need more than a day to explore this city, it’s a culture vultures delight. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing