We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some interesting creations”
Review of Caffe e Gelato

Caffe e Gelato
Ranked #4 of 157 Dessert in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“some interesting creations”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

First off this is quite comfortable and not sure why someone put that it was more expensive to sitdown. I just had cafe americano and 2 ice cream scopes. The server was very friendly. The ice cream scoops may be slighly larger the th Eis on Gneisenstrausse but there 2 scopes was 2 euros and here 3.4 and more if you pick premium. I have never seen such creations made from ice cream and fruit etc. They have some interesting names like food dishes eg suchi and spahagetti. They look like works of art when they go by. So this is a place to splurge perhaps no an everyday place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cactus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    68
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ice cream a little on the expensive side”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

First of all: The ice is really as good as people claim. The pistachio and the dark chocolate chili are amazing, not too sweet and creamy. Due to my gluten allergy, we searched for ice cream with proper declaration, and here you'll find all the information needed. Located at Potsdamer Platz it is easy to get there. The cafe itself is not really comfortable, but as being seated costs additionally, I would recommend to sit elsewhere anyways. To sum up: Central location, great ice, a bit pricey but worth it. But if you can, rather go outside and enjoy your ice in the sun!

Helpful?
Thank DariaLue
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Caffe e Galato happens to be my closest ice cream parlour, and luckily for us, it's also one of the best, if not the best, in town. For those who are after authentic flavours this is the place to go, and my favourite is their pistachio ice cream. For those who are a bit more adventurous there are a whole menu full of their creations and one of the most popular is Fragola, strawberry ice cream.
If you have young children, they also do variety of ice creams for children, e.g. pizza ice cream, burger ice cream, micky house ice cream, etc. But if you don't fancy ice cream, there's also a cafe and they serve great hot snacks, if you're feeling peckish. Overall, a great place to pop in when you're in Berlin, or if you're in Berlin, this place needs multiple visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len_Aye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Latte and Ice cream!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Here I had the best ice cream in Germany, and I have been to many ice cafes. We go every weekend in summer. Their pistachio is exactly what it should taste like. Their ice is authentic to the taste (it doesn't taste artificial with lots of sugar and aroma in it).
If you go in summer time you should definitely try their Sole mio which is a combination of lemon and Basil tastes and also try their yogurt with wild berries.
Their coffee is also very delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khensak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot weather..& amazing ice cream”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Thought it must be a good place to stop as people queueing & one look at the elaborate fresh fruity ice cream desserts & i was in that queue!!. Quick service & ice cream very good & creamy..& at €1.30 a scoop I was seriously thinking about returning again for a second!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zolaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe e Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Caffe e Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing