We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uniquely beautiful location and design”
Review of Das Stue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Das Stue
Ranked #6 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Uniquely beautiful location and design”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed over the weekend on an excellent 3 nights for the price of 2 deal. Initially I was very worried about the location of the hotel as I did not think it would be convenient but I was very wrong. This is a great location and makes a great change from Mitte and Prenzlauer Berg. The Tiergarten S Bahn station is 10 minutes walk away through the wonderful Tiergarten and the lines through Tiergarten station run to all the main sites in Berlin without the need to change trains. The Hauptbahnhof, Hackesche markt, Alexander Platz, Potsdamer Platz and Waschauer Strasse (for the East Side Gallery) are all easily reached. We walked from the Brandenburg gate back to the hotel through Tiergarten and it was a lovely 30 minute stroll.
The hotel building is a beautiful restoration and at night is stunningly lit. Beautiful interior design with many details that remind you the zoo is next door. Rhino sculptures, a crocodile skull and gorillas made of red wire are dotted around the public spaces. The bar is relaxed and cosy with good music and drinks. There is a terrace outside which is great at night and has a good menu with tapas and full meals. Lovely service over dinner made for a great start to the weekend.
We had breakfast at the hotel and it was nice but not good value. 35 Euros is too much for a buffet spread and unless you have a massive appetite you will not see value here. The produce though is excellent and was enough to start the day.
I had a junior suite and my travelling companion an Embassy Room. The Junior Suite was nicely decorated and had a massive terrace that looked into the zoo. Seeing emus and wallabies from a terrace in Berlin is a genuine surprise! Two iMac computers were in the room and functioned as radio/computer/TV and Hotel info. Very nice touch. The TV channels are 95% German as expected with a couple of English language channels here and there (BBC News and Nat Geo etc) but you don’t come to Berlin to watch TV. There was no widescreen TV in the room as touted but I didn’t care. The bed was large and comfortable with good linen and pillows. The bathroom was tiny with a shower cubicle and a sink. No bath which was disappointing as the website states all junior suites have a bath and shower. The shower is nice and I love a rainwater shower head but it was just too big a shower head (Takes up the whole shower) that did not allow you to step out of the shower stream while in the cubicle. Having water landing on your face 100% of the time in the shower is not comfortable.
The décor in the room was lovely and the lighting is elegant. There is no desk lamp so working in the evening is impossible as there is little or no lighting in the lounge area other than lights in the floor. I have to say the lighting in the lounge area is unacceptably low. One floor lamp by the chaise longue and three lights in the floor are nowhere near enough. A couple of lights had bulbs not working which was surprising as well. Small grumbles but it is a 5 star hotel and God is in the details as they say. Excellent housekeeping and standard of cleanliness. Suite 224 is nicely set out but lacks privacy. It faces the rooms at the back of the original building and is overlooked on all sides. There are net curtains however that obscure people’s view of your room. If you want a view and privacy avoid room 224.
My only other grumble relates to my friend’s room. An Embassy room but the TV did not work and there was no iMac in the room as promised. When he called down to reception they did attend straight away and offer to change the room but why give out a room that was not complete and functioning in the first place? An engineer came the following day and fixed the TV but again for a 5 star hotel it’s not great. I thought the Embassy room was pretty average. Not overly big, a tiny bathroom and again no bath and no terrace or balcony.
Enough with the small complaints. The hotel is fabulous and easily the best in Berlin if you like design and quality with a sense of place. Great staff who are friendly and efficient. I used the spa twice and had great massages in a soothing environment. The spa staff were cheerful and a pleasure to deal with.
The combination of a quiet, beautiful yet convenient location with a stunningly designed hotel is hard to beat and doesn’t exist is many cities let alone Berlin. I spent over 1000 euros here for two days but overall it was worth it. If they iron out the small oversights this is a world class establishment that is my only choice for Berlin from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozplod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having spent the time in reviewing our hotel in such detail. We are happy to hear that you appreciate our location as for sure we are not amongst the popular tourist attractions which makes it so special...(well the Zoo is still a very popular one though!)

Sorry to hear that you did not find that our breakfast was good value, we do have a continental option for those that do not wish to indluge, as our full breakfast offers many a la carte options as well.

If I may kindly respond to some of your observations: We do have some more English channels.. Three sky movie channels (both in English or German), CNN, Bloomberg and CNBC to add to those you have mentioned.

All rooms are equipped with Apple, in some rooms though we have placed normal large screen televisions due to the configuration of the room, these however do run using the Apple OS via Mini Macs.

For the shower, we do offer the option of either using the rain shower or the hand held shower handle...

Apologies for the bulbs being out, there is no excuse, but each room should have a desk lamp and floor lamp as well. I will look into why there is not enough lighting in room 224 as I agree this is very important. Also we are sorry the television did not work in your friend's room. I am happy to hear that we were able to fix it.

Once again, many thanks for having chosen Das Stue and for sharing your positive review. We do hope to welcome you back very soon and I am sure all your observations will be seen to.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    196
    52
    17
    12
See reviews for
178
707
68
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel deserves every single star. We stayed just one night, arriving in the morning fresh off the overnight train from Paris. Our room wasn't ready yet, so they gave us free run of the spa to shower and change, coffee in the bar, and then delivered our luggage to our room while we were out sightseeing. The room was a suite, and is probably the most beautiful room in which I have stayed. We had dinner in the hotel, and drinks in the bar which offered terrific people watching. We were so sorry to depart for Copenhagen the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our suite one of the most beautiful rooms you have stayed in. We have spent a lot of effort in our design. Happy to hear that you were well looked after even if you room was not ready on arrival, I am sorry about that.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you for having stayed with us

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This little known hotel is a gem of seclusion in the very heart of this great City. Walking distance to everywhere which matters with superb service, this is one of Berlin's hidden secrets, which only conoseurs are discovering....so ssshhhhh.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geomeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having stayed with us and sharing your experience! Indeed we are slightly secluded and still a little bit of a secret, which suits us fine to a certain degree!

We hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent the past weekend in Das Stue in Berlin - which leads to the first hotel review we ever wrote. We reached the hotel walking through the park - which is the appropriate way to arrive as it underscores the fantastic location : In the city center and at the same time outside it.
The interior design, with its blend of modern and classic, is one of the best we have seen in our many years of travel. Top marks
The staff is welcoming and professional and we particularly appreciated the personal attention of the GM, an omni present guardian of the hotels standards.
One must taste the breakfast mini burgers, in particular on the summer patio. And how bizar is it to have that burger with an ostrich staring at you (as the Berlin Zoo is annex to the summer garden). Wonderful hotel - a must do

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for having stayed with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that your really enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliments on our service and design.

We hope to welome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently spent out honeymoon in Berlin and had six nights in a standard room at Das Stue. We enquired about upgrading to a suite but this was out of our price range - as it turned out the standard room was more than adequate for us and we really enjoyed our stay. Having advised the hotel on the purpose for our visit, they went out of their way to prepare the room suitably for our arrival, with roses on the bed and one or two other touches which really set the tone for our trip!

The hotel looks superb, from the lobby, the multi-storey library and the pool and sauna to the detail in the rooms - definitely one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. All of the staff were unfailingly warm and friendly, and spoke perfect English which was helpful for us as we have very little German between us.

The bed in the Stue room was very comfortable, and the free internet access with the in-room Apple computer was really useful. The only minor things that were less than perfect were 1. the ambient temperature - our trip was in a heatwave with 27°-28°C the standard daytime temperature but the air-con could not set the room to anything below 20°C - would have been nice to chill the room a bit further for respite at night, and 2. the shower water pressure was a little underwhelming.

The location was ideal - the Tiergarten is literally at your doorstep, and there is no better way to start a summer morning in Berlin than a stroll through the woodland that feels miles removed from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We will definitely be considering another stay at Das Stue when we return to Berlin - which can't come soon enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abroadbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having stayed at Das Stue and of having shared your positive experience. We are honoured that you had selected our hotel to spend your honeymoon.

I am sorry to hear that the A/C did not cool enough, its normally never so hot in Berlin! I will look into what caused this in your room. Also the shower pressure should be better, thank you for advising us.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Das Stue for a long weekend in July. It's a fantastic hotel just a little way out of the central hub of Berlin (around a 45-minute walk along the park), which we liked as it was a bit quieter and gave us the opportunity to explore the surrounding area, as well as the main attractions.

The only reason we're not giving it a five-star rating is because we'd paid for an upgrade to a junior suite and we believe they originally put us in a Stue room. Although reception dealt with this politely, they continued to maintain we were in the correct room, despite it (217) looking exactly the same as the picture of a Stue room on the internet. The only way I'll believe it was a junior suite is if someone gets out a tape measure and gives me the square footage! And if the picture they show on the internet on the Stue room page isn't a Stue room, they really need to address that so as not to mislead people.

Although the room was great (ordinarily, we'd have been over the moon with it), we wanted what we'd paid for, so after a few trips back and forth to reception debating it with them, we were upgraded to a suite (320), which was incredible.

Despite the confusion of room types, I'd still completely recommend this hotel. All its design features and atmosphere make it an incredible place to stay and if we were to return to Berlin, we'd book in like a shot.

Room Tip: Just check you're in the room you've paid for. If so, you'll be delighted with it!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elu42f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank for you sharing your experience and I am happy to hear that all turned out well. Sometimes expectations are just not met and it seems that in this case room 217 failed us. Indeed I have to agree with you that this room is on the smaller side, but it was originally classified as a Junior Suite as it located on the Bel-Etage floor with 4 meter high ceilings and is a little larger than our standard rooms. Saying this we do listen and will change this room category to the deluxe category of rooms (Embassy Room) to avoid further disappointment in the future.

It is only through guests who share their experience with us that we can improve and I am happy you did and also enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

A stay at this Hotel is like a drive in an expertly crafted supercar, it exudes style and elegance and blends world-class design with cutting edge technology. We stayed in two Stue Rooms on a four night city break with my elderly parents and the novelty and delight of the expertly-designed rooms with their views across the African animal enclosure did not wear off for our entire stay. For us the location was perfect with a delightful stroll through the leafy Tiergarten Park starting and ending each day. The breakfasts were delicious and the casual dining restaurant served top-quality tapas-style food and a vast array of drinks. Despite all of these positive things, the lasting impression of our four night stay will be of the friendly and professional staff who genuinely looked after us exceptionally well. We will be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest

I am very pleased to read your review as you not only appreciated our award winning design but also praised our wonderful staff members of which i shall share your review with.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#11 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#17 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Property: Das Stue
Address: Drakestr. 1, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Peréz.Other facilities include a spa by Susanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing