We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifty feet from the ostriches in a swanky hotel room. Yes, please.”
Review of Das Stue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Das Stue
Ranked #6 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Fifty feet from the ostriches in a swanky hotel room. Yes, please.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent hotel. Everything very well done. Breakfast was great, decor was sleek and whimsical in a historic building, and staff were marvelous -- especially Tobias, he is a rock star.

But the star of the show was our room overlooking the zoo. It was crazy. It was our favorite on our nearly three-week vacation. We left the windows open and watched the ostriches and antelope-like things and all their little offspring run around and put on a show.
Simply brilliant.

Room Tip: Grab a bike and go. It's Berlin, that's what you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    205
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
188
744
72
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent a hundred $ extra and upgraded to a junior suite and it was beautiful. The regular rooms looked very nice and good-sized but the junior suite was HUGE with a gorgeous bathroom, exceptionally comfortable bed, view of the animals in the zoo, tons of storage space, etc. Could not have been happier and would suggest you try and upgrade if you're exploring Berlin for the first time.

This hotel rents bicycles and locks. We didn't realize how bike-friendly is Berlin. From the hotel's location just outside the Tiergarten, it is central to everything. A 15 minute bike ride in any direction and you were at a great museum. So we spent two full days riding bikes, visiting museums, exploring East Berlin, riding to hip neighborhoods, the palace, the art galleries, the Holocaust memorial. We truly could not have had more fun!

The hotel is a great base camp. The bar is wonderful. There's a very nice outdoor space for beer and a smoke. The restaurant tries very hard. The food is okay but it's presented well and thoughtful. And the staff could not have been nicer explaining ways around town, good restaurants etc.

This was our first trip to Berlin and we didn't want to leave. Half of that had to go to Das Stue who made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The other half to the wonderful people of Berlin and their beautiful city. We will definitely be back for both.

Run, don't walk. Das Stue is a keeper!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your very positive experience at Das Stue. It is great when one can both enjoy the hotel and the wonderful city of Berlin. We agree that the city is perfect for cycling around. And we are happy you were able to enjoy our hospitality so much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment I arrived I was greeted by the friendly door man. My first night I had a zoo view room. I wanted a room with a bathtub to soak after my long travels so they were kind enough to move my room. The beds are so comfortable. Wonderful bed linens & soft pillows as well. The staff were incredibly accommodating. I was very sick when I arrived to Berlin. Room service prepared a nice soup for me even though it was not on the menu. The hotel arranged for a doctor to visit me in the comfort of my room. They went to the pharmacy & delivered my prescriptions to me. What fantastic service! Not only were the staff so kind but it's a beautiful, unique hotel that's wonderfully decorated with a mix of modern and retro inspired furnishings. The owner of the hotel has one of the best collections of black-and-white photography so wonderfully curated & displayed around the hotel. I could call Das Stue home. They exceeded all of my expectations in a hotel from design, location, customer service, comfort and hospitality. Hands down one of my most enjoyable stays anywhere in the world!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nickit98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having shared your wonderful experience at Das Stue. We are very proud to read your review and so happy that you felt like Das Stue is your home. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was lucky that my company booked me into this hotel on my last trip to Berlin. My room was a bit on the small side but not a problem as I was traveling solo and it had everything I needed. Staff was extremely helpful. Thank you for the nice stay, i come back with my hubby :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringwear B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review and we are also happy that your company chose our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back with your husband.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in Berlin for five nights, and found Das Stue through the Design Hotels group. We were instantly drawn to it's beautiful fit-out, location and great reviews.

Service - the Germans know how to deliver great service. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. Across the duration of our stay we interacted with the reception, concierge, restaurant, bar and door employees - all with a smile and an eagerness to please.

Our room, Junior Suite from memory, was well-equipped with modern technologies and comforts - an Apple monitor as a tv (in two rooms - the bedroom and lounge area); comfortable chair and seating, great bed (although I will say the pillows - giant as they were - were too soft for my liking); shower with multiple heads (I know, right).

When booking, ask for a room overseeing the zoo - everyone does and its' certainly the room you want - although don't be disappointed if you miss out, there are plenty of places to get a view of the animals from around the zoo gardens.

We'd had breakfast there every day (after thinking we had it included in our cost, which we didn't - d'oh!) which offered quite a selection; we ate at the casual restaurant once (it was nice, but I'd pass it to explore Berlin's other foodie stops) and we skipped Paco's 5 resturant (the reviews seem slightly mixed - plus it's Spanish and we just spent two weeks in Spain!)

Would we stay there again? Hell yeah. We had a great time and again, the service was fab. If you're willing to fork out the funds (it ain't cheap), do it - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmysteelegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your most positive review and for having stayed with us at Das Stue. We are very happy to read that you appreciated all the hotel's facilities and especially the service.

Next time though, do try our Cinco restaurant. It does have a Spanish influence, but the food is exceptional and very creative.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is one of those places where you long for returning. Hospitality, atmosphere, rooms , bar and garden lounge as well as the position and calm surroundings make this hotel THE ONE AND ONLY! We visited many hotels in Berlin but this one is definitely the best!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mopa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We just love to be called the Best! Thank you for shaing your experience with us. We are happy to read that we exceeded expectations in all departments.

We do really hope to welcome you back very soon to our special place.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a very nice design/boutique hotel in a great central location in Berlin. The rooms are very cool (good luck finding all of the cupboards!) and the bed was extremely comfortable. Downstairs area is also very nice, outside sitting area, bar and restaurant all great and the staff very professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your very positive review on our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon


With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,164 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 634 in Berlin
3,371 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
434 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Property: Das Stue
Address: Drakestr. 1, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Peréz.Other facilities include a spa by Susanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing