We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big and looks like a faceless business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Ranked #42 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is big and looks like a faceless business hotel. There is a numerous number of corridors and you may get bored until you reach your room from the entrance.
Room is not really big but clean. Bathroom is new, big, comfortable and have enough light. Sleeping quality is good. Hotel location is perfect if you prefer to stay in the Berlin part which is called Mitte (my personal preferences are Ku-damm and I suppose that it is nicer in that part of the city, imho). Two metro stations are really close (4-5-6 min walking distance), Potsdamer platz is approx 10 min away.
Can say nothing about breakfast, never visited it (as far as I remember the price is something like 15 or 17 EUR/person) but there are plenty of cafes and restaurants around where you could start your day either with just a cup of coffee or with a normal breakfast.
Real problems with wi-fi, you have to log in every time you are entering the Internet and most of the times you woun't succeed because network is too busy. There are two computers in the lobby but always occupied, so you would have to wait.
Check point Charlie is in the end of the street, 2-3 min away from the hotel, Trabant car museum is just opposite to the hotel. Hotel got a parking in the yard, costs 15 EUR/night what I think reasonable but I am sure that when the hotel is full you could hardly find the space, so try to book in advance.
All in all I could recommend this hotel to anyone but only if the price would not be high.

Room Tip: try to choose upper floor but ask the room located closer to the elevator otherwise you would have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel's location is very center, so very close branderburger Tor, postdamen Tor and Unter der Linden. Also good restaurant arrounded. İntetior modern and cousy atmosphere,comfortable hotel. Lady in info desk was very helpful and frienfly. The point is, cleaning operation is so amateur. Maybe it was my luck at this time. Room service probably unexperienced trainer person. But must be selected person for serving this hotel, guests expects more than this.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Batufuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel has a very central location, and the value for money was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful although they sometimes seemed to struggle with understanding english. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was clean and modern. There was also a mini-bar in the room, however, it never really seemed to cool down our drinks too much. All in all, a very pleasant stay and I will really like to recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its good location, there are two metro stations nearby and the main street of the city can be easily reached on foot. The hotel has all necessarily basics. One small inconvenience was that two evenings during my stay internet connection through wifi was unavailable as there were too many visitors using it. Nevertheless, there are two guest computers with internet available downstairs. I didn't take breakfasts as they were quite expensive in my opinion, but overall the price-quality ratio of this hotel was very good during my stay in early January. Although I was supriced that it was very quiet there in the evening and at night, although there is a very popular museum a few hundred meters away, so there are quite many tourists around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location. There was a bit of confusion when we first arrived as we were supposed to have a room with a kitchenette, but there wasn't one available. Within 30 minutes of arrival there was a cancellation so they were able to get us into the proper room. Our room was very comfortable with a very comfy bed and a nice shower and the kitchenette had everything we needed for the 4 nights we were there.

The location is perfect, right next to Checkpoint Charlie, next to the subway line, many other popular attractions and plenty of food choices in the surrounding area. The hotel does have parking, but it's 15€ a night and you can find parking close by at 4.50€ a night (we parked at the Q Shopping Center, which is just a 10 minute walk away).

We also rented bikes, from Fat Tire, while we were in Berlin, which is an excellent way to get around as the city is completely flat and has excellent bike lanes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DtotheN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid December and chose it for it's location and price. The hotel was clean and modern, the room and bathroom spacious and a comfortable bed. The room had large sliding doors which we could open as often it can feel stuffy. I can't comment on breakfast as they're generally pretty standard and we prefer to experience the city. I can concur with the previous reviewer the hotel staff were unable to recommend alternatives! I suggest Berliner Kaffeerosterei for coffee and breakfast. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettymay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in room 406 on the top floor from 27 to 30 December 2013. The room was big and the bathroom was very nice with a bathtub.
Many good restaurants nearby (although we had to find them ourselves, not getting any dining recommendations from the hotel reception).

We had a very uncomfortable experience when staying in our room one day in the afternoon: suddenly we hear a "click" and a person from the hotel staff has locked himself into our room without knocking on the door first! He disappeared immediately, when he saw us sitting on the bed, but I went after him, and he apologized, and I asked him to knock on the door next time before he enters. This was a very uncomfortable experience.
Furthermore, we could hear the TV from the room next door. Several times the internet did not work, saying that too many users were online. The reception did nothing about this, saying that we had to wait until later in order to log on.
The reception staff was unable to locate the fitness center, which the hotel had a special deal with, which was very unprofessional. Furthermore, when we asked for a recommendation for a place to eat brunch on a Sunday, the reception staff only referred to their own bistro, not wanting to give any other recommendations. All hotel staff was very young and not very professional.

We would not recommend this hotel considering the many other good hotels in Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibekefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,939 reviews
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#37 of 634 in Berlin
720 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#73 of 634 in Berlin
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin The Wall

Address: Zimmerstr. 88, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £49 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin The Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Select Hotel Berlin The Wall is located in Berlin's historic center between Friedrichstrasse and Wilhelmstrasse. In a quiet side street you will find our 4-star hotel with 170 rooms in a partially listed building. All the modern and spacious rooms have air conditioning, flat screen cable TV, minibar, laptop safe and free Wireless - LAN. The Bar "SECTOR" completes the offer culinary. Whether art and culture, shopping or entertainment highlights or the versatile range of Berlin nightlife: From Select Hotel Berlin The Wall you can reach every point of the city easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin The Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing