We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design hotel in the middle of history!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Ranked #41 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A very Nice hotel to a reasonable price! We stayed here for four days together with many others during a wedding celebration. You are in the middle of HISTORY at this Place, with the wall and checkpoint Charlie just e few steps away. Sometimes there was a bit crowdy outside with busses and People, but in the hotel lobby you could sink down in comfortable sofaes. Nice new design through the entire hotel, smashing colours and big, nice rooms. The breakfast buffet had everything!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Front Office Manager at Select Hotel Berlin The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Good Day Mette H,

We thank you very much for your time and effort to rate our Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte the Wall at Checkpoint Charlie in such great detail. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location of the hotel to be so convenient!
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

best regards from Berlin
Soeren Ahlmeyer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location just a few meters from Checkpoint Charlie. Here you have the museum, access to most hop-on/hop-off buses and different local types of transport.

The hotel is looking great. Nice new design, good spaces, plenty of room. The staff was helpful.

Rooms:
We got a superior room due to the deal we got for the hotel. It was a big room with 4 beds and a sleeping couch for the kids. Two TVs, mini-bar and a spacious bathroom. Our room did not have bathtub but you could ask for a room with that. A funny thing was the window from the bathroom to the main room. Might not be a good thing depending on whom you share with. For us as a family - no problem. All in all great for a 4* hotel.

Breakfast:
We had breakfast included which was good and made it a great deal. I have going to hunt for my first coffee or food in the morning with kids. The buffet was prices at €14 (I think) but was well worth it. Many types of coffee, two types of juice, two types of eggs, bacon, sussages and other hot items. Plenty of cheese and ham options. Many fruits. Five cereals. Many types of bread and croissants - even some danish pastry. A very good start of the day going from 6.30 (was it 7.00?) to 11.00.

Parking:
A €2/hour fee on the street from 9-22. The hotel offers parking at €15/day but didn't take reservations for us ahead and neither from day to day which was bad. We ended up parking a 10 minute walk from the hotel in a parking building suggested by the hotel at €4,5/day. Just under the Ritter Sport visiting center which is also a great 'experience'!

All in all really recommendable.

Room Tip: Shower or bathtub - ask Window from bathroom to the room - don't know if they have rooms withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LarsBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Leiter Front Office at Select Hotel Berlin The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear LarsBrink,

thank you very much for your very detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time to really go in depth with your text. The whole team is going to be happy to hear about your review as it is the best reward for their work!
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Safe travels and best regards from Berlin
Soeren Ahlmeyer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The good: The hotel is in a good location for underground and easy walk to some very good restaurants. It is in new condition and kept clean and tidy. I was B&B, the breakfasts were extremely good and the staff on duty pleasant and helpful.
The bad: After a tiring journey I checked in, being greeted by a somewhat somber receptionist. I was given my door key card only to find that it did not work. Went back to the receptionist who did something with the computer, handed it back and said "that will work now", not a word of sorry. It was a large double bed but a very small duvet? Surely a duvet should match the bed? Trying to get on the internet is a challenge. If you are a business man and need the internet, don't bother. I did ask at reception and was told, yes it is a problem, depending on how many people are using the system. Finally, I witnessed 4 people trying to get attention at the reception, only 1 at the counter. I saw 1 member of staff behind a partition at reception and it was only when she saw me looking, did she come around to help her colleague. Might as well mention buying one coffee at the drinks bar at reception, that member of staff, again, very cold and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 140George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear 140George,

thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!
We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Berlin so that we could deliver the service that you expect!

best regards from Berlin
Sven Fischer
Electronic Distribution Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked into this hotel last minute due to other accommodation falling through. We are travelling in Europe so probably aren't their normal clientele! The hotel didn't have all the facilities that had been listed on the website we booked for, however the hotel was still very good. Great room, comfortable bed, amazing bathroom/shower with constant hot water. Was surprised there wasn't a bath for 4* but won't complain on the price! A/C worked perfectly.
Only criticism is that a member of staff kept letting themselves into our room when we were in there for no apparent reason and no apology!! We expect that in a hostel but not a 4* hotel. As soon as we put a 'do not disturb' sign up we had no problems.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Good day Anna R,

thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time.
We are very happy that you found the rooms comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

best regards from Berlin
Rene Conle
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent location - within walking distance to the centre of Berlin and close to the metro, not to mention a 5 minute walk from Checkpoint Charlie.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and the hotel felt safe.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, as we were only in Berlin for a weekend and had a lot to cram in, but the hotel was exactly what we were looking for: clean, comfortable, safe and central - all without breaking the bank! I would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jillymac102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. We appreciate you taking the time to write the review.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
best regards
The front office manager
Soeren Ahlmeyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a more central and convenient hotel. It has a train station, museums, shopping, eating even a convenient store around the corner. my only complaint is the wifi that is only available at the lobby- when you are from another country, it is your daily bread. We were so desperate for it, we would spend 5 minutes loitering downstairs just for downloads.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bonolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Good Day Bonolo,

thank you very much for your review, but I do believe you meant to rate the Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte am Gendarmenmarkt not the Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte The Wall @ Checkpoint Charlie. There is a slight difference between those two hotels as they are apart from each other only by 800 meters. Nonetheless we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to rate this hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards from Berlin
Sven Fischer
Electronic Distribution Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms were clean. It is convenient to the Ubahn and to the bus lines.
The hotel is conveniently placed and there are several restaurants within a few minutes walk.
Breakfast was always of the highest caliber.
Great Hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank gorje325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Verkaufsleiter at Select Hotel Berlin The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014
Google Translation

Guten Morgen Gorje325,

es freut uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns so gut gefallen hat! Wir freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Aufenthalt bei Winters.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Sven Fischer
Verkaufsleiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,886 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#79 of 635 in Berlin
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin The Wall

Address: Zimmerstr. 88, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £56 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin The Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Select Hotel Berlin The Wall is located in Berlin's historic center between Friedrichstrasse and Wilhelmstrasse. In a quiet side street you will find our 4-star hotel with 170 rooms in a partially listed building. All the modern and spacious rooms have air conditioning, flat screen cable TV, minibar, laptop safe and free Wireless - LAN. The Bar "SECTOR" completes the offer culinary. Whether art and culture, shopping or entertainment highlights or the versatile range of Berlin nightlife: From Select Hotel Berlin The Wall you can reach every point of the city easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin The Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing