We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Quirky Place”
Review of Linnen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linnen
Ranked #4 of 191 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Linnen is not a B&B since breakfast is extra at the separate, wonderful cafe downstairs. It's not a hotel since owners are only haphazardly present. Rooms are spare, basically a bed and a bathroom. Still, this quirky place works: neighborhood is a varied delight and near the U Bahn, cafe owners Nicoletta and Benedict couldn't be more hospitable (with good music some evenings), and the rooms' designer touches give a sense of playfulness. You'll be pretty much on your own as a guest but we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelguestNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Linnen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We loved this place. Great for a couple escaping run-of-the-mill accommodation and a fantastic and somehow very German hotel. Unique, but unpretentious, fun but kinda hip too. And importantly not too wacky. Just a great little place run by lovely people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Linnen hotel was awesome! We stayed in the Cuba apartment which is in the same building as the hotel, you just enter from a residential entrance. The apartment is just as amazing in real life as it looks in the photos.

You check in at the cafe and we were welcomed by the staff and introduced to Tony who checked us in. He is awesome! He had heaps of great advise and info, and was so relaxed and friendly, I felt like I had know him for years. He was one of the highlights of the stay, it was great chatting with him. If you need any info or suggestions, he is your man!!

The apartment is a really comfortable and stocked with most things that you might need. There is also the cafe downstairs which looked amazing. Unfortunately we didn't get to try it because we arrived late on Sunday afternoon and they were not open on Monday.

Over all it was an amazing introduction to Berlin. The area is beautiful, full of amazing restaurants and interesting streets. It is very close to a station and there are trams and buses right outside the door. I will defiantly be staying there next time I am in berlin. This time it will be a longer visit, I loved every minute.

Room Tip: The apartment is on the first level of the building, so if you have a lot of luggage you will have t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirtyfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Linnen after arriving from Croatia and the staff were very welcoming after our long trip, very helpful and friendly. We stayed in room 1 which a modern, minimal take on a four poster bed and the room was huge with a small balcony, a little corridor and a decent sized bathroom with 2 sinks. The room had a sort of restored vintage look that suited the hipster area, there was a strange feel to the room at night with the high ceilings and frosted glass doors but a good sleep non the less. The location couldn't be faulted but we didnt have chance to eat in the cafe.

The only negatives are really negative but a few odd jobs on locks and the lightig system wouldn't go a miss but at the same time they added to the restored element. All a great hotel and would definately reccomend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hazel rarely gets accommodation choices wrong. Even by her high standards she excelled last weekend. With 6 rooms and a 9/10 location their "more Home, less Hotel" strap-line could not be more relevant. Bodo and Antonio made our stay.
We arrived from Schonefeld close to midnight on Friday (tip: 6 of you in a taxi for €50 well worth it).
No problem. Bodo welcomed us like long lost friends.
Chemist? No problem. Metre perfect instructions.
Breakfast included? No - but the Woolworth sweet counter approach. Perfect. Rosemary smoked ham, a couple of cheeses and pumpkin seed rolls spot on - for me. Excellent coffee.
Rooms? large, spacious and as commented upon elsewhere - bathrooms of a quality us Brits would have to save up for, for a long time!
We were in room 1 - a fridge would have been nice. But a walk in shower to die for.
Rooms 2 and 3 (also on level one and occupied by Dangerous and Carell) both very different - but individually characterised, stunning en suites - and to note - very deep baths.
Want armchairs - room 3 ; 100 drawers for your bits and pieces? Book room 2.
Value. Excellent. But don't tell them!
Location? For us on a 3 day break - perfect (note - the flea market is nearer 500m than 50, but who cares!). The Overground-Underground U-Bahn stop of Eberswalder Strasse is 250m left out of the front door. Three stops Alexanderplatz and you are off.
The chaps have been operating "Linnen" for around a year. We love it.
Next time we return - is a no brainer. Same again please
Vielen, herzlichen Dank :)

Room Tip: its worth checking your room has a fridge
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

There was no air conditioning or fans. Opening the windows at night meant hearing all the outside noise and its on a busy street. We had the suite which only had a tub and no shower. Door to get inside the building was tricky and difficult to open. Location is ok, about a block to the U-Bahn, then about 15 minutes to city center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trump23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

'More home, less hotel' is Linnen's slogan. It's true. A beautiful, charming, clean home with lovely hosts, delicious breakfast (e.g. müsli with yoghurt and fruit) and sublime beds. Room Four with the wooden wall is quit and cosy. Perfect for one (or two) person(s).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
475 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,840 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 635 in Berlin
993 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnen

Address: Eberswalder Str. 35, 10437 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: £87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linnen 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnen is a modern boutique-style "inn" with a lovely on-site café. In addition to 6 individually-styled rooms, we offer a separate three-room apartment in the same building. We also rent out three apartments in Mitte on a long term basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Linnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing