We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served a Purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #105 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Modern hotel with very friendly staff. Situated only a couple of hundred yards from the Hauptbahnhof, this hotel is also handy for buses. It is within walking distance of the Reichstag and Brandenburg Gate so is an excellent base for sightseeing. This is made easier by the fact that you get a complimentary travel voucher for use on all public transport.
The bedroom was comfortable with the usual amenities; extra tea/coffee available on request. Bar prices were reasonable but the price for breakfast was a bit steep. However, the breakfast itself was very good with a variety of choices. The bonus in the bar was the complimentary glass of peanuts brought to your table with the drinks.
Check-in was reasonably efficient although a bit slow. Also, we were not advised that you have to swipe your door key in the lift in order for it to operate!
Although next to the railway, we were not troubled by noise. The view from our room actually was the railway.
The breakfast room was always busy but the efficiency of the staff in clearing tables meant that we did not have to wait. Also, the food trays were regularly topped up.
All in all I found this hotel to be good value and would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stay in this hotel about 5 days and first impression was good because this hotel very new ,clean and huge.
Nancy was first receptionist that we met in reception.... We were waiting until our turn to get served to check in but she was too busy to do papers things and didn't say anything to us about 4 minutes,she could say " I'll be with you in a minute,sir" but she didn't say anything to us ....she said only " do you want to check in?" Bad words to say that to guests......she could say more polite things like.....hi,how are you? ( smile ) how was your journey to come to us? Was it difficult to find?.....anyway please teach more your staff about hospitality .

Room is big and really nice bath room...we love it.
Our 2nd day the housekeeping didn't clean our room and since we stay here our sheets didn't change at all....I feel like sleeping on dirty bed :-(((

Telephone doesn't work at all....we informed reception but no body fix it :-((

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Youvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is located in just a few minutes walk from the Central Station, close to other transports, easy to access some of the tourist spots such as the Deutscher Bundestag. The hotel is clean, modern designed and with reasonable facilities in room, including heater in the bathroom. A good value for the price, in particular it provided a free travel card.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a bare bones hotel that is spotless and soundproof. Even though right next to train station it is perfectly quiet. Its such a great deal to get a free public transportation card with your stay, really came in handy. The other great thing about these hotels is that you know once you get off the train you can walk to the hotel without having to get a cab. I would have liked to have had a coffee pot or water boiler in the room but can live without it as long as the place is so clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is new, and located a few hundred metres from the main railway station. Good rooms, good value.

However, check-in was fairly slow; and from my room there was a surprising amount of noise audible from the busy road outside. The breakfast room was very congested when it was busy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The location is great for business - right next door to central station that has loads of facilities beyond lots of trains.

Hotel is 4 star and even taking into account that Berlin is one of cheaper German cities for hotel accommodation, it is still superb value.

The room was nice, bathroom was spacious with a shower cubical. Bed was comfy, good pillows, a work desk and good cupboard space. Very peaceful, no noise from corridor or railway station.

Staff very helpful, loaned me an adaptor as my one broke.

90 Euros - there is nothing to complain about. I would stay here for business or leisure in a heart beat.

It is a stripped hotel in some ways, but I missed nothing that was missing.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street and a building site - I heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient - ideal if you arrive late at the mainstation (Hauptbahnof) - if you take the right exit it is only 3 minute walk - tops. There are many places within walking distance: Unter den Linden, Reichstag, Brandenburger Tor are just some of them. At the trainstation you can go to other parts easy with the tram and metro as well and the hotel offers a free transportation ticket for you during your stay for areas A, B and C (covering a LOT of trips you will want to make). The WiFi is free, but very slow and unstable. Not good if you are there for business, but well for private use it will do.
We didn´t choose to get breakfast here as there are so many backeries and restaurants nearby - within 10 minutes the metro takes you to Haeckeser Markt for instance, where you can get a great breakfast in many restaurants. We did have drinks in the bar - service was good but prices were a little high we thought. Still, if you arrive late it is nice that they have this service!

Room Tip: If you want to have the window open, as for a room at the inside of the hotel! In the rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Friedrichshain
IntercityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Address: Katharina-Paulus-Str. 5, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £71 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In October 2013, we have opened our biggest InterCityHotel right in the middle of the pulsating metropolis Berlin, set directly at the main station. Within spitting distance, you can find some excitement here in the beautiful city centre with its important sights like the Federal Chancellery, the Reichstag, the Brandenburg Gate, the shopping centre Friedrichstrasse or the legendary Ku'damm. From the centrally located InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, you find the best connections to all forms of local public transport within walking distance. Therefore, you can reach all of the interesting parts and sights of the city in no time by using your FreeCityTicket, as a special service of the hotel for every guest, included in the price of the room. Regardless of whether you are in the city on business or for pleasure, you will immediately feel at home in one of our 412 delightfully furnished rooms with their modern colour concept. All the rooms are designed in warm brown and beige tones and topped off with stylish accents in terra cotta. Why not start the new day with a great range of delicious breakfast treats available from our sumptuous breakfast buffet. For the remaining meals you will certainly find something tasty in our restaurant or Bistro Lounge. It is our utmost pleasure to welcome all our guests in a warm and friendly manner, as with pleasure we strive to create a superb experience to all our clients visiting Berlin. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. (Parking fee from 01.01.2017: 25€) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing