We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #71 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel really needs A/C and WiFi that works. It can be very noisy if, like us, you are located above the main entrance. Suitcases dragging on the cobbles and the night manager yakking and smoking with his friends at 0400 directly below our window is not a great recommendation for this hotel.

Breakfast was good but pretty expensive. Not a lot of GOOD places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    225
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
131
237
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel and were very pleased. Close proximity to Check Point Chalie and Friedreech Street. And bus and U-bahn service very comfortable.

Great Value for the money.

On our previous visit we stayed in the eastern side of the city but the western side is much better and has more possibilities.

Room Tip: all roons are quiet since the hotel faces an inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeev56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedbaek, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We only stayed at the hotel for one night but the impression is very positive and I'd definitely consider it if I need to come back to Berlin. The hotel is located a few blocks away a metro station. There are a number of bakeries, shops and supermarkets in close proximity. Berlin's historical sights can be reached by foot if needed: the closest one is Checkpoint Charlie.
The rooms are new and nice, with an individual balcony. There is a nice kitchenette in the room, which has all basic things needed. The bathroom has Molton Brown's cosmetics. The only draw back is the cleanness of the bathroom: there was dirt and hair from previous guests in the corners, so I'd definitely suggest noting it to the cleaning staff.
If you come with kids, there is a small but decent playground outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very centraly located hotel. 5 min walk to Checkpoint Charlie and metro. Very comfortable apartment-rooms with small kitchenettes. Nice and clean. Free wi-fi.
The staff was also extremely helpful. There were some minor misunderstandings regarding the booking (on our part) which they handled immediately and with excellent service.

We will definately recommend to others or stay here again ourselves if we come back to Berlin.

Room Tip: You can choose between apartment style rooms and regular hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carstenvoigtlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our three day stay here was very good. Thee were ongoing issues with the elevators. One was always out of order and you did not know until you walked from one end of the floor to the other. We mentioned this to the reception and they looked surprised that we thought it was an issue.

Our room was quiet, clean and adequately sized. There was only one chair in the room so we had to bring in one from the balcony. It was rather crowded with the extra chair. We had a balcony that enabled us to enjoy the local residents at play in the park. There is a huge building facing Mondrian that is under construction. It is at least seven stories high. The number of people that will live in there will impact on Mondrian guests as you will be facing each other. Already the noise is a factor if you want to sleep with the door open which we did. If that is not an issue for you, the room is sound proofed. We were aware of people in the park, cars revving and driving out the front and guests dragging suitcases across the cobblestones when they arrived. (After 10 pm)

There is a good supermarket Lidl 3 mins away and plenty of cafés and restaurants within an easy walk. Taxi was about 14 euro from the station. The Topography of Terror is within walking distance as is Checkpoint Charlie. We walked everywhere from these apartments. We would stay again but not after the adjacent building is completed.

Room Tip: We were on floor four 408 and 407 these rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in an apartment for 2 which is really just a hotel room with a sink, fridge & microwave, however having said that it was all very nicely presented & exceptionally clean. The bathroom was immaculate with Milton & Brown toiletries & a shower I wished I had at home! It was nice to have a balcony & although there is construction work going on opposite, this didn't disturb us & I'm sure with German efficiency it will soon be finished.
Yes, there were problems with the lift but we were advised by the staff to use the service lift. All staff were very friendly & helpful.
The apartments area about a 5 min walk to Checkpoint Charlie & very convenient for the U-Bahn.
There's a Lidl just over the road to stock your fridge (where you see the sign, you need to go through the alleyway go the other side).
Pillows were a little soft but as we were only there for 3 nights we didn't bother asking for them to be changed - had we been there longer we probably would have.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed there in April 2014 at Easter. Booking by phone was very easy and fast. It was great to hear that they will accept a dog for EUR 15 per day. On our arrival, check-in was quick, friendly and unbureaucratic. When we entered the suite, we were amazed. It is a big, bright room with an integrated kitchen unit and a spacy bathroom. A little balcony shows to a large inner garden. The suite is modernly and nicely furnished and very clean, the kitchen is well equipped with a large fridge, glasses, dishes and more. The suite has a flatiron, an ironing board, a safe, an iPhone docking station, a micro wave and other details. Even our dog has got an extra drinking bowl and an own blanket. The bathroom is huge and the shower excellent (with Molton Brown shower gel!!). The hotel has a few parking spaces, which you should book as soon as you arrive. As the hotel is very new (opened in 2013), it also has a few downsides. So, some doors slammed at night as they were not well adjusted, there was a TV interference one night, the shower was lukewarm one morning, and the lift didn't work for a whole day. But we considered this as over and done with 'teething problems' of a young hotel and got a fair compensation when checking out. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Mondrian Suites and in Berlin and would consider this nice hotel again, as it has a nice atmosphere and it is located centrally with Friedrichstrasse and Check Point Charlie around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#77 of 634 in Berlin
1,818 reviews
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Markgrafenstr. 16/16a, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Central close to Checkpoint Charlie, Friedrichstrasse and the Jewish Museum the mondrian suites berlin offers modern and comfortable studios and apartments of 20 sqm up to 55 sqm. All rooms have a balcony or a terrace and are facing to the courtyard. The facilities include a flat screen TV, ironing facilities, laptop safe, wood flooring fridge, microwave oven, dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine, 4 USB Port and Molton Brown toiletries. The front desk team is available 24 hours for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing