We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Decent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #57 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose this hotel to be close to Checkpoint Charlie. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from this location. We did have a hard time finding the hotel at first as the address is misleading and the front entrance is not on the road that is indicated by the address. You have to walk around the back to find the entrance.

The reception staff was incredibly friendly. The young lady that checked us in was very new and was having some difficulty, but, was very honest and pleasant about it. She asked for help and we were checked in no problem.

The room was very clean and was a good size. More than you would need for a busy time in Berlin. We quickly dropped off our bags and headed out to explore. When we came back, we were impressed to see that housekeeping had come to our room and prepared the pull out bed for our children. They even tucked their teddy bears into the blankets.

There is breakfast available at the hotel. We did not take part in the breakfast as we stopped by the grocery store close by and stocked up on breakfast items for the week we were there. The kitchenette was adequately equipped with all the necessary supplies to make breakfast quick and easy in the room.

The hotel is very close to the metro and it is incredibly easy to get around Berlin from this location. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

The only complaint that I would have is that the bathroom had a funny smell at times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Mondrian Suites. I had a mid level apartment on the top floor which was 2 rooms and very large. It was clean and everything seemed very new. Checkin was simple, and even though I didn't eat the breakfast it did look quite good for EUR 10.

The only drawback was the internet. I couldn't log in at about 11pm the first evening. I called the front desk and in essence he said there were too many people on the network - which happened frequently between 10pm-midnight. I've never been to a hotel with a max internet user amount, but obviously guests want to use the internet in the evening - so I expect this happens every evening.

I'll give my stay 5 stars when all guests can log onto the internet at the same time. For the time being I'll say an enthusiastic 4 stars.

Room Tip: Go with the apartments - they're large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atshannon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Mondrian Suites in Berlin is excellently located, being less than a 5-minute walk from Checkpoint Charlie and the Kochstrasse metro station. You can walk up to Friedrichstrasse in 20 minutes. The area surrounding the hotel has a lot of restaurants and pubs, and there is a Lidl one street up, which is useful as the accommodation come with a kitchenette.

We stayed on the fourth floor and found our room nice and quiet. Although the room was a little cramped for us as we had two sets of luggage, it was still comfortable. The Wifi in the room was good but I did have a problem getting reception on my O2 SIM card in most of the room. Phone reception was strongest by the balcony.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, which made our stay even more pleasant. I would highly recommend this place and will return again when I have the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I recently stayed here with my girlfriend for a night, the hotel is only 3 blocks from Check-Point Charlie and Kockstr U-bahn so easy to reach and useful to explore Berlin. A nice new construction, our room was a decent size with a small kitchenette although it didn't have a kettle. Breakfast was a bit pricey but we opted to eat locally anyways (bakery nearby). You can go up onto the roof and the views aren't too bad of Berlin (9 stories up) although nearby buildings are a similar height. There is a jacuzzi on the roof to use and if we had time, would have been quite nice to chill-out up there!

Would definitely stay here again if I went back to Berlin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albie-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a room for four people over the weekend and it was nice and spacious. The second bed was a pull out sofa, but it slept ok. It would be nice if it had air conditioning and breakfast included. The breakfast is 9 Euro.

Good location but parking is where ever you can find it out on the street. (But street parking is free.) Those looking for lots in the area may prefer the Potsdamer Platz, but we were able to get back from Brandenburg Gate in a taxi for 7 Euro, which I thought was reasonable. The public transit would have also gotten us here, but by then I was worn out and the taxi was worth the cost.

Room Tip: 214 is on the end, away from the entrance and the elevators and was moderately quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely large room with lounge, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and terrace. Those are the good points. If you want space, stay here. There was no airconditioning which for most of the year wouldn't matter, however when we stayed the previous days were hot so the room was hot and it was difficult to cool down, even at night.

Wifi was spotty and kept on logging out, no shower door so bathroom floor got flooded each time the shower was used and the room wasn't finished to a decent standard. Repairs had been partially done, but not painted, skirting boards mitred but not painted, barcodes left on robe as if fresh from the shops. There are all little things but with a bit of time would lift the impression of the room.

The terrace was really nice, but all you could really look at was the construction next door.

Location was really good, however a little hard to find for taxi companies.

Would stay here again if travelling to Berlin, provided it wasn't hot!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The whole checkpoint charlie area whilst not discrediting the history and location, is simply historical. Besides CC, there is not much to do in this area so take this into acccount on your trip to Berlin.

Great clean new build Hotel as mentioned in previous reviews. The only flaws of this place is twofold - The shower. This is something they will need to address. Fittings and soaps are of the highest quality, but unfortunately the waterpressure and temperature control is absolutely horrible.

Secondly is the lack of climate control. You get the feeling that the building was built as apartments and then converted later to hotel usage, OR there is mixed usage in the building (some floors are hotel, some are apartments) It would make sense that it was constructed this way, especially with the location.

Do ask for an extra pillow at the reception as you will need it. Otherwise a most excellent fitout and quality with a sense of charm. They even have a piece of the wall out the front. If anybody knows where to buy pieces of the berlin wall that size do let me know.

Room Tip: ask for the higher floors if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Hotel Angleterre
Hotel Angleterre
#161 of 634 in Berlin
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#157 of 634 in Berlin
277 reviews
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Markgrafenstr. 16/16a, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £61 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Central close to Checkpoint Charlie, Friedrichstrasse and the Jewish Museum the mondrian suites berlin offers modern and comfortable studios and apartments of 20 sqm up to 55 sqm. All rooms have a balcony or a terrace and are facing to the courtyard. The facilities include a flat screen TV, ironing facilities, laptop safe, wood flooring fridge, microwave oven, dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine, 4 USB Port and Molton Brown toiletries. The front desk team is available 24 hours for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing