We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
253
246
54
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
246
54
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheckpoint charliecomfort apartmentper devicemolton brown toiletriespremium studiokitchen sinkcheck point charlienice apartmentlidl supermarketself cateringthese apartmentslaundry facilitiesaround the cornercentral positionliving areabig bathroombathroom floor
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Our initial impression of Mondrian was positive: the rooms are modern and nicely furnished, and are clean. However, there are some problems. We had a ground floor room, and the window opens out into a public courtyard like a door. This means that you cannot leave the door open at night as it would be insecure; this would be alright if the hotel was air conditioned, but it is not (I'm not being critical of lack of AC, because it was not advertised, but about the strange window/door arrangement). The wifi reception was very poor in the room and we had to resort to standing in the hallway to catch up on email. Also, sound transmits very loudly from the hallway into the rooms. The maid service was poor, and we often had to ask for clean towels.

There were a couple other peculiar features of the room: the toilet was very high (my 5'10" friend could not put his feet on the ground when sitting on it), the shower has no door and the water floods out, and the kitchenette lacks a sink.

The location is good for visiting landmarks like Checkpoint Charlie, Brandenburg Tor, and the Reichstag - all of these are within walking distance. However, there's not much in the way of cafés and restaurants in the area immediately surrounding the hotel, and it becomes very quiet after business hours.

The staff were hit or miss. The girl who checked us in was very pleasant, but a couple others were very gruff. The hotel does make it feel like guests are being nickle-and-dimed; they charge a rental fee for umbrellas, and the breakfast is not worth €9,50. Lastly, when we checked out they tried to add a €20/night fee for a third person in the room when we clearly had a reservation and price quote stating 3 adults, and they didn't fix this until we talked to a manager.

This hotel has potential, but has much room for improvement too.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank carsncars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a nice location.
Reasonably close to a underground station and check point Charlie.
Also to walk to the opera house.
Check in was easy and staff helpful.
Clean room although only on our 3rd day were we given any fresh towels and the room cleaned which was a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We picked this location because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. Most of the time these are reliable and in this case they were! The Mondrian Suites are an "apartment hotel". Serviced like a hotel but without full hotel services - let me explain: there is a breakfast room with an excellent buffet breakfast for an affordable price. Beds are made, rooms are cleared and towels replaced every day. The rooms (or apartments) have a kitchen where you can cook your own (simple) meal (as there is no restaurant in the building) or breakfast and put your stuff in the dishwasher afterwards. But you have to bring your own stuff: no coffee, tea bags or milk are provided. There are two supermarkets very close (one well stocked Lidl in the next street).

We had a "premium" apartment with a sizeable sitting room and a smaller seperate bed room. Both with TV screens. Our room had a balcony - not much of a view but nice to sit and relax after sightseeing. The bathroom is large but the shower stall is unusually small without a door so that water splashes half the bath room. Still - plenty of room to stand dry after taking a shower.

We were there during one of the few extremely warm days of the year with temeratures over 30C and fairly high humidity. There is a "super fan' in the room but when set to "cool" (evaporating water) the humidity only increases. I know... in NW Europe airco is not common but we could have used it.

Under cover parking is available on request (at an extra E 15 a day). Free (and fast) wireless internet for as many equipment as you want (laptop, phone tablet...)
Reception staff is very friendly and helpful - checking in and checking out was a pleasure.

The location is convenient: 5 minutes walk to checkpoint Charlie (Friedrichstrasse, which is one of the main shopping streets) and the nearest U-bahn station Kochstrasse.

Room Tip: Most rooms face a quiet courtyard. However at present (July 2014) building activities start at 6:30 across the courtyard. Windows are sound proof but and keep the noise out (but not when open on a summer night).
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HenkT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a modern very clean hotel right in the heart of Berlin. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were very helpful. Excellent directions really knew the area well and anticipated what you needed. It was close to the underground Checkpoint Charlie and Jewish Museum, but quiet and relaxing after a day's sightseeing my Daughter and I looked forward to getting back. The breakfast was a little pricey but as it was an all you can eat buffet not a problem as I'm a big eater! It was so clean in the studio apartment and the little kitchen was just enough to sort out a simple meal. We used the Lidll just around the corner very good salad's bread and Deli selection better than England. Towels and Moulton Brown toiletries provided so you don't need to take much with you just toothpaste and deodourant! This was an excellent hotel for an incredible price through booking.com I can't praise it enough and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is a "bad" room in the place
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location and price for the beautiful newly renovated apartments.

The only issue we had was the lack of air conditioning or ceiling fans. You can open the balcony door and windows. And they will provide a very small fan. But it was still very warm.

Our stay was in early June, it was hot even in the evenings with the sun down.

It is also a bit hard to find, tucked away behind the two major cross streets. If you are coming from the subway at Check Point Charlie yu can either make a right on Markgrafenstrasse and watch for a small sign on the left side of the road behind the first building or keep going on the on the right side major street until you come to an opening with tall pillars that leads into an open park area. The hotel is through this gate and on the right.

There is a small dining room for a paid breakfast, and an all night bar service.

If air doesn't matter to you, or you are booking during the cooler months..... this is a hotel you will enjoy.

Room Tip: The sleep quality was poor only due to the heat. The bedding is all very top quality.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisinlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews