We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Context definitely needed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of GDR Watch Tower

GDR Watch Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
US$163.48*
and up
Private Half-Day Walking Tour: Berlin Wall, Cold War and Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #62 of 798 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Berlin Wall Watchtower at Potsdamer Platz The "BT 6" tower, introduced in 1966, permitted panoramic surveillance. There were more than 200 towers of this type deployed along the border line surrounding West Berlin. The gunports were covered by heavy metal shutters that were pulled up for shooting. The solid construction was meant to protect the soldiers from fire originating from the potential enemy in the West. The cabin on top of the tower was manned around the clock: One surveyed the approaches from the GDR ("friendly") side, the other kept his attention on the "enemy"- side. This is the only preserved example of this type of watchtower. And the oldest relict of the Berlin wall. We have started a private initiative and have taken over this authentic relic from the City of Berlin. The purchase of your ticket or a donation will help us to restore this document of a bygone era further and assure its upkeep in the future.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Context definitely needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this while on a bike tour, so were lucky to have the context and background provided, as there is nothing at the site but the tower. This would be so much better with some photos to show the distance between the inner and outer walls, the barbed wire, sand, landlines, dogs and armed guards that would also have present, and perhaps some way to describe the impact on the families left by successful escapees. If you don't have a tour guide, don't bother visiting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    81
    32
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torroella De Montgri
2 reviews
“Watchtower "BT6" - last example of this type.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The "BT6" tower, introduces in 1966, permitted panoramic surveillance. Ther were about 200 towers of this type deployed along the border line surrounding West Berlin. The solid construction was meant to protect the soldiers from fire originating from the potential enemy in the West. This is the only preserved example of this type of watchtower. Visitertime at midday and week-ends. Entry 3.50€ - 14-18 years 2.50€ - HIGHLIGHT
www.berlinwallexpo.de
Facebook.com/berlinwallexhibition

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jutta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the last DDR guard towers standing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were in the neighbourhood, so we decided to take a look. Amazing to think that its surroundings, not long ago, were no man's land...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RENATA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go between 2-6 on a sunny day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We called in on the way to the Topography of Terrors which is not far. The tower is the last remaining of it's type an has been restored privately. From Potsdammer Platz it's tucked down a small side street.
We went on a Friday afternoon and the owner was there so for 3.50 euros each we were able to climb the old ladders inside to the top. It's now surrounded by fairly modern buildings but you still get the feel of the place.
Once we'd had a look inside we stood and chatted to the guy who showed us old photos and explained the history of the area.
He was interested to know that we'd found out about the place on Trip advisor and said to tell people that because it's either him or a trusted student looking after the place they are only there in good weather usually between 2 and 6pm as they are literally stood on the street.

Defo worth popping by to see and if you are brave have a climb to the top.

I found this article about it when I got home - http://travel.cnn.com/rare-berlin-wall-watchtower-still-standing-tall-694451

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank shoggypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An interesting diversion while in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Found this tower an interesting 10min diversion for my day. The people that run this tower are very passionate and informative. I wouldn't treck great distances to go see it as there is no guarantee that it will be open as it is run by volunteers. But if you are in the area definitely stop in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GDR Watch Tower also viewed

 

Been to GDR Watch Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing