We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe in the winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #126 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Maybe in the winter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is not air conditioned. The hotel was advertised as air conditioned, and we selected the hotel for this reason. Upon arrival, however, we switched on the air conditioning only to find out it was turned off in the entire hotel because according to the front desk, the hotel is only air conditioned when the outside temperature reaches 20C (the temperature was in fact above 20C). Additionally, the window only opens a few centimeters and was unable to provide adequate ventilation throughout the night. If that wasn't enough, the constant street noise, including buses and motorcycles made it hard to sleep. I immediately requested a room change to face the back of the hotel upon learning of the air conditioning problem. The hotel, however, refused to change our room until the next day. There is no excuse falsely advertising that the room was air conditioned, and no justification for turning on the air conditioning for only a short period each day.

On the positive side, there are a number of reasonably priced restaurants in the area, including a 3.90 all you can eat breakfast buffet on Stresemannstraße across from the Holiday Inn Express. You can't miss the banner hanging from the window. http://www.wirtshaus-hasenheide.de/fruehstueck_en.htm. Also, the Anhalter S Bahn is also conveniently located less than a block away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the rear of the hotel as it is much quieter with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattNYCWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    560
    130
    24
    5
See reviews for
144
378
136
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Berlin Wall, Check point Charlie just down the road, this Hotel has a great location. Downstairs bar and breakfast was very good. Only downside was the cost of Wifi in the rooms, however internet is provided free in the lobby. Airconditioning was very confortable in the Berlin summer too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is very close to S-Bahn station Anhalter Bahnhof. And it's better decision to find hotel. Postdamer Platz is far from hotel: 2-3 bus stop or 1 S-Bahn stop or 15-20 min walk.

Near S-bahn there are 2-3 bars - you can drink beer till midnight and get most better and cheaper breackfast from 8a.m.

Room - Ibis standard.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Arkhipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Hotel is located in a great location. We can walk to Berlin Wall, checkpoint Charlie & etc.

We just found that a pillow of IBIS is small if compare with other hotel (When we stay at Marriot we got 3bigs pillow per person but in IBIS we got only small one!!) breakfast cost 10EUR not included in room rate , we’re OK for this price coz we got everything…

If compare with the price & location. It’s good enough to stay at Ibis Berlin Potsdamer Platz 

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nungning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The service is okay for this type of hotel and the rooms are okay but there is always a funny smell in the hallways to the rooms, internet access is limited and depending on where you book the room is a little miss leading!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I am a WW2 and Cold War Buff and from that point of view, the location of this hotel is simply unbeatable. Anhalter Bahnof ruins - 50 m. Prinz Albrechtsrasse Gestapo HQ - now a museum Topography of terror - about 200 m, with a section of The Wall adjacent to the museum. Hermann Goering's Reich Air Ministry - now the German Finance Ministry - bang opposite the Topography of Terror. Hitler's Fuhrer Bunker location - now a car park - about 300 - 400 m. The Holocaust Memorial and museum - about 100 m from the car park. Brandbenburg Tor and Hotel Adlon - another 100 m. Soviet War Memorial - about 200 m from Brandenburg Tor. Reichstag. Siegesaul - another 3 - 400 m from Tor. You can lazily walk it up and finish all of these in half a day - as I did (though I would have loved to spend more time in the Holocaust and Topography of Terror museums) . Don't forget Checkpoint Charlie which is about half to 1 km from this hotel. If you are not the Cold War or WW2 buff tyoes - and its hard to escape both these 20th Century events in Berlin - then go to Potsdamer Platz which is about 200 m from the hotel, buy a Hop on Hop off ticket - as I did - and you can tour Berlin and see the other historical sites. As an Indian , I found the "all you can eat for 10 Euro " breakfast , absolutely monotonous (same spread for 3 days ) and even pathetic but I am sure most Westerners will like the breakfast . Its no frills stay and no room service but that's why the hotel is so cheap (about 130 Euro for 2 nights three days for a couple ! ) It was comfortablebut again the room is no frills - you want tea or coffee or anything to east , you have to go down to the restaurant on the ground floor. The Net connection in the room was chargeable but is free in the lobby ! All in all for a history buff like me, the location is unbeatable

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvr4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#111 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Ibis Berlin Mitte
Ibis Berlin Mitte
#148 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz

Property: Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Address: Anhalter Str. 4, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#34 Green Hotel in Berlin
#59 Family Hotel in Berlin
#112 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#138 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Berlin, just seven minutes' walk from Potsdamer Platz. Simply park your car in the large parking garage and all the renowned sights, such as the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag, are just a short walk away. Feel at home in our fully refurbished rooms with comfortable beds. The reception and bar are open 24/7. Enjoy warm and cold snacks from our ibis kitchen at any time of day. We at the ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz focus on sustainable development. Together with our guests, partners and employees, we meet many requirements that have a positive impact on your health, the environment and CO2 emissions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing