We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #130 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel gives good value for money and is located conveniently in the center. The rooms have sufficient space, but for some reason, I was expecting a little bit more for a 'suite hotel'. I did not like the blue/red colour combinations used in the room design and the furniture looked a little bit worn.
The breakfast is fine, but the breakfast room is not well designed, so you cannot have a quiet breakfast if the hotel is well occupied. The breakfast buffet is simply too close to the tables causing a lot of traffic around most of the tables.
The staff was helpful, but one of the reception people seemed to believe that we were to blame for a couple of problems we reported: the room keys did not work at first, and she suggested that we had put them too close to our bank cards (both of us ???). The address on the registration form mentioned 'Poland' where we live in Belgium. When I mentioned this small mistake, she said this was because we did not mention our country when we registered (which again was not true).
We visit Berlin once a year. This hotel is certainly not bad, but I will probably choose another hotel next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knolpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at another Novotel in Berlin for Thanksgiving last year and we enjoyed our trip so much, we decided to return this Thanksgiving. It is almost impossible to find good quality hotels that can accommodate families in one room, that are reasonably priced and in good locations in Europe. Novotel, though, offer all of this.
The pros: the location, room size, free Wi-Fi (a must for my kids), the suite box with on demand videos, a microware/fridge, complimentary coffee in the lobby in the mornings, a smart car offered on stays of 4 or more days, computer with printer in the lobby, a camera to borrow if you forgot yours at home, umbrellas available to guest when it's raining, free back massages (on Thurs. - we missed this, though), AND we got a fruit/snack basket in our room upon check-in.

BEST OF ALL - my husband left his Omega watch in the bathroom, he returned to the room, although the cleaner was still in the room, the bathroom had been cleaned and his watch was STILL there!
The cons: not a warm welcome at the front desk when we arrived, often felt that the front desk was "finishing something on the computer" that was more important than the guests, soap containers in rooms not regularly refilled, (after 2 days of not being filled my husband put it on the sick empty and it still wasn't refilled), not replenishing coffee and sugar daily.

I still give this place 5 stars because the pros soooo outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived into Berlin by train from Hamburg and saw the hotel as we passed it on our way. It is only a couple of stations from Berlin Hbf. We anyway, took a taxi back due to the luggage.
The location is excellent. It is across the street from the S-Bahn station and every attraction in Berlin is within very easy distance either by train or even walking.
We had a family room. The size was great. The shower and the toilet were separate and ideal for family use. There was enough at the hotel lobby to keep the kids occupied.
Breakfast spread has great variety to choose from. This is very important when you are traveling on leisure with family. We enjoyed our breakfast thoroughly each morning. Though it gets a bit crowded at the serving area during the morning rush hours but the variety & quality definitely makes up for that.
The sleep quality is great. We had a very comfortable stay. Lots of eating options nearby and all are very reasonably priced.
It rained one of the mornings while we were there. The hotel also provides free umbrellas which again is very friendly. The taxi stand is also next door in case you need it.
Overall, we loved our stay there. We found the hotel very friendly especially for the families. Couldn’t have picked a better place for the price we paid.
One negative though, do not purchase any packages, tickets or passes from the hotel. You get much economical & better options outside.

Room Tip: Don't buy any passes at the hotel, even though it is tempting. You get better deals outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very good hotell at a central location, walking distance to several tourist attractions for example Check Point Charlie. Room was nice and service good. Breakfast was worth to money. Next time I visit Berlin I will stay here

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I've been visiting Berlin since the 1980s and stayed in many hotels good and bad. In recent years I've been staying in the city with my family and until now not found a good hotel that is reasonably priced, centrally located and suited for a family who wants a clean, convenient and friendly base for a short trip.

This hotel ticks all the boxes from that point of view. It was reasonably priced, easy to book, and it's central location meant we could get to anywhere we wanted very quickly; buses stop in the streets right by and the is a main S-Bahn station just a few minutes walk away.

The room we had was for three people; a comfortable double and a single. The shower room and toilet were clean and of a good size, and the addition of a fridge, microwave and servery area was very welcome.

Breakfast was a buffet and there was a good selection. There are no evening meals at the hotel, but you can get food close by at the Ibis and an Italian, where we ate one night and the food was good and not expensive.

Staff at the hotel were co-operative and helpful, and the bar and breakfast area staff were particularly friendly.

A great base for families visiting the city and one I think we will be using often.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank battlefieldhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a reasonable location with kids in Berlin this place hits the mark. I stayed with wife & 2 kids - room was big enough having fridge and kettle was good as was the free on demand films in english. Kids loved it. Breakfast was good and room was clean. It has good links on the SBahn system with the S1, S2 & S25 stopping just across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10sherrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What I did like:
S-bahn station is just over the street, U-Bahn 8 minutes away. You can walk to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburger Tor, Reichstag and so on. The rooms are comfy and spacious and come with a separate bathroom and toilet. There is kitchenette with a kettle, a small fridge and a microwave.
What I didn't like:
When we arrived, the desk clerk was grumpy and started to make a lengthy phone call, after we were nearly check in. After a few minutes a new desk clerk arrived, who handed us the keys.
The kitchenette comes with 2 ! paper cups, no cutlery and no dishes. You get a bottle of water for free but no jar to drink from and I'm not sure how to use a microwave without a plate.
You get 1 towel per person and when we asked for another towel, we did get just 1 towel not 2 as you would expect when a couple asks for a towel.
AC was not working. We were told it would only work if outside temperatures exceed 22 deg. Celsius. We had 21. At least they brought as a fan. Opening the windows wasn't an option because our room was facing the back of the hotel with noise from passing people all night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fra_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#86 of 634 in Berlin
2,915 reviews
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
2,382 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#39 of 634 in Berlin
720 reviews
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz

Address: Anhalter Strasse 2, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Berlin
#71 Family Hotel in Berlin
#113 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#119 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £60 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz hotel, you can enjoy a relaxing stay in one of our spacious 30m² suites. Rooms feature a microwave, kettle and separate shower from the bathtub. Explore the city and its attractions and sights on foot or using the public transfer leaving from Potsdamer Platz or Anhalter Bahnhof. Enjoy a hearty breakfast buffet and round off your day with a drink at the hotel bar. Every Thursday, you can enjoy a free 10-minute massage at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Suitehotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing