We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whats happen to the aircon?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #129 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“whats happen to the aircon?”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

every time where out for a vacation i always look for novotel and other accor hotels partners, because of the quality and low price. we stayed for 2 nights here, as always the novotel rooms are nice. but this time i don´t know if the aircon is broken or they just turn it of to save money. coz it will stop running during evening and works again in the day time. as a result we have to open the windows to sleep comfortable. luckily not so much cars pass by during night time so it was bearable. Cleaning staff didn´t took the trash out, so we got a little over filed trashcan on the side. but the location is perfect. walking distance to every historical landmarks and museums, malls and tourist spots. pleasing and helpful staff.

Room Tip: ask not to turn off the ac when sleeping. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erjohn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Erjohn,
thank you or your appraisal via Trip Advisor.
I am personally very sorry for the inconvenience you had caused by the broken aircon. We had a electricity cut last Sunday, so the aircon didn´t work this night. But please be assured that this is not standard.
Hopefully we will get the chance to regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Frank Franke- Hempel / Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    1,020
    285
    52
    22
See reviews for
994
395
86
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am a big fan of Accor in general and the description its "Suite" product certainly grabbed my attention when I was looking for a hotel in Berlin. Sadly I cannot recommend this property--or any other Suite Novotels that use this room configuration.

But first the good. The location is great, a 5 minute walk to Potzdammer Platz or Checkpoint Charlie, with great U and S bah access. It's relatively quiet, but there's a lot of amenities within walking distance. The staff were polite and professional and helpful. No complaints there.

The "suite", however, is a design fail. There's only one curtain and it only partially covers the bedroom window--so when the sun comes up the room brightens up. The three windows in the "lounge" area only have two narrow opaque curtains, which don't give comprehensive privacy. When I called the front desk they promised to sort something out, but never did.

To provide some ostensive privacy (and darkness) between the sleeping and lounge areas, there are 3 tatami-like mats that slide out of the wall. I happened to be travelling on my own, but these certainly wouldn't prevent any sound travelling between the two sections of the room. They also created a barrier between the bed and the toilet, making early morning "services" cumbersome to access when half asleep (and wanting to stay that way!).

One thing that did work well: the TV is on a mounting that allows you to angle it across 200 degrees: so it can be viewed from the lounge, the bed, the bathtub or in-between. I approve of this. :) Wifi was reasonably zippy as well.

The toilet and rest of the bathroom are on opposite sides of the room, which means both are claustrophobic. The bathing room has a separate stall shower and bathtub: had this been a combined shower/bath, the stall could have been the toilet.

Won't stay in one of these again. Rather downgrade to an Ibis (there are two on the same street) with a more functional room design.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JawnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jawn,
thank you for telling us your experiences of our Suite Suite Novotel. I regret that we could not convince you with our concept. Please contact me personally ahead of your next trip to Berlin, to can make a reservation in our Ibis next door.
Best regards,
Frank Franke-Hempel / Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It has the facilities, location and good breakfast. But we may have been out of luck because the room was worn, air condition only working occasionally, smelled very bad the whole time during our 3 day stay and staff experience was very mixed - some were hopeless and some were offering great service. For the price we got, the location makes up for everything. Oh, beware of the dreaded elevator with a mind of its own and the expensive garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jacob,
thank you for your blunt appraisal for our Suite Novotel.
I am sorry that we could not satisfy your expectations.
But hopefully we will get the chance to regain your confidence at your next trip to Berlin.
Yours sincerely, Frank Franke-Hempel / Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is perfectly located in front of a main train station so connection to all the Berlin sights is very easy. Also, around 15-20 min walking distance to Brandenburg Gate and the main attractions but you can also take the train in front and get there directly. There is some construction around the hotel but it is in general ok. Several restaurants are nearby as well. The hotel offers a good breakfast to start the day (13E/person, kids under 16 free). The hotel has 7 floors and the family rooms are of good size. One double bed, one single bed and 1 smaller single roll bed that comes from under the double bed. This is mainly a bed for a small child. Bathroom facilities are good with shower and tub and a separate toilet. The room is spacious enough and has a table, small fridge, microwave and a sink. The hotel also offers underground parking for 14E/day and it is good compared to another nearby parking that is similar in price but not right under the hotel. In overall, I would definitely consider staying at this hotel for a future visit to Berlin since the overall hotel package you receive for the money is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmejias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#76 of 634 in Berlin
2,745 reviews
Kreuzberg
Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#34 of 634 in Berlin
2,129 reviews
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz

Property: Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Address: Anhalter Strasse 2, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Berlin
#71 Family Hotel in Berlin
#113 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#119 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz hotel, you can enjoy a relaxing stay in one of our spacious 30m² suites. Rooms feature a microwave, kettle and separate shower from the bathtub. Explore the city and its attractions and sights on foot or using the public transfer leaving from Potsdamer Platz or Anhalter Bahnhof. Enjoy a hearty breakfast buffet and round off your day with a drink at the hotel bar. Every Thursday, you can enjoy a free 10-minute massage at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Suitehotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing