We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable choice - nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Ranked #49 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Ittre, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reasonable choice - nothing special”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Very close to Tiergarten S-bahn station, which is good. On a rather busy road close to mostly offices and the park - not many restaurant options within walking distance. Rooms are fairly typical for a Novotel. The sound insulation works very well, which is more than can be said for the a/c: even on the mild days, when we were there, the room was oppressively stuffy and the cooling, such as it was, mysteriously turned itself off in the middle of the night! The beds were too soft for my taste.The public area was spacious and well-appointed. The breakfast was very good but rather expensive. Unlike with the French Novotels WiFi was not free. Staff were very polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    749
    141
    21
    13
See reviews for
690
434
148
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

What is the true value of this hotel, well it is not the view and it is certainly not the breakfast or the rooms - the value is that you will get very close to the fair (IFA) and a taxi ride will cost you 10-15 Euros which is not bad. It is easy to get there from this hotel and there will be plenty of taxis waiting for you even at busy times, if it is raining you can borrow an umbrella from the reception which I think is great.

So what about the hotel itself? How does it stack up to other hotels? I would say that the reception and the staff are very efficient and very polite, no question about that. It seems very organized but on the other hand when in Germany you would of course expect the "German Efficiency". The rooms are ok and clean but a cannot understand why hotels are so stubburn to keep these horrible rugs on the floor, why not go for a wooden floor which is much nicer and certainly much cleaner. The other thing in the room I got was that is was facing another building and I plainly dislike that. Somebody else is starring into your room and you have absolutely no view than a boring building. One other thing is that they had the toilet in one separate room from the bathroom and I want to wash my hands if I go to the toilett, this is also a rather strange design. I know that many US hotels have a similar design but - they have the bathroom next door so it is not a problem. The bed was also a bit low, I would say the bed more belongs to a hostel than a hotel where you have to pay 160Euros a night. What about th breakfast, well it is ok and you can order your omelette and get your toast and coffee - the only thing that I don't like is the breakfast area, you have table to table very close and you will not get that cosy feeling where you really can enjoy the breakfast and maybe relax with a newspaper. To crowded for my taste. Otherwise the service was ok but on the other hand, how hard can it be to ask if somebody wants coffee and then put the pot on the table...not so hard I guess. If I was a tourist in Berlin I wouldn't pick this hotel - I would look for something different.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamboswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

The location is ideal, right across the street is the s-bahn. S-bahn connects the city very well. It is only 4 stops away from hackescher market. From there 5 min walk to the museum island. Berlin has good public transportation, very predictable and fast. We feel like we stayed close to mitte.

Novotel is one stop to the zoo and 2 stops to the main train station. s-bahn is better connected than u-bahn. S-bahn can also take u to Potsdam.

Novotel provides excellent breakfast. Lots of choices, smoked salmon, cold cuts, juice, fruits, etc.

The bed is comfortable. I have read reviews about their beds. I was concerned about it. But it turned out to be fine. The decoration is pleasant. We will stay there again.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A solid German hotel with polite, if slightly clinical, staff. The room (superior triple) was comfortable and quiet with adequate space. Decoration was plain and therefore quite calming after a long journey. The seperate toilet and bathroom were welcome. The late evening functioning of the restaurant was especially helpful as we had travelled a long way and did not want to search for a place to eat. When I thanked staff for their attentive service after this meal they replied that they were just doing their job. Breakfast was plentiful, with enough variety to entertain our teenage son and for his Parents good quality tea and coffee. The hotel is in a central position and so good for people who want to walk to sights, yet it is very near a station for those who want public transport. Staff were equally efficient at processing our reservation on arrival and our left luggage the next day. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel and are able to pay a little more this one is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Just had three nights at the Novotel, yes it's a nice hotel,the staff is nice the breakfast is nice , the room is nice, yes it's all nice,but nothing special , the room is not large, the bathroom is smallish. I paid 119euro for two nights then it jumped to 154 e for the third night, go figure, apparently some sort of conference was on , so I was penalized 30 euro for it. Breakfast was extra 18 e but quite good, I don't think you can eat for what you pay, there is a nice cafe in the tier garden, the tee-haus which will give you a good breakfast for half
the price and in beautiful surrounds, just walk straight up the main road to the centre memorial, approx 10 minutes and it's on the right. In the evening there is a nice hotel with a beer garden across the road and it's a three minute walk around the back of the Novotel and along the rail station , cheap , well cooked German tucker. The Novotel is air conditioned but it does switch off during the night for some reason, probably to save power. All in all a reasonable hotel if you get it for a reasonable price, but it is out of the way some-what. It cost 9 e to get the taxi to the Brandenberg gates which will then allow you access to most other places of interest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Spent 5 days in Berlin & found the Novotel to be just perfect for our party (2 adults 2 kids aged 5 & 9)

Rooms were spacious,clean & comfortable.Although we were on 4th floor facing main road & S-Bahn station there was never an issue with noise at any point.

Breakfast was always good with plenty of typical continental fair which the kids just hoovered up & always set us up for a great days wandering around Berlin

Bar area was spacious enough and even during Champions League evening when it was really busy,the bar was always fully staffed & we were always able to grab a nice cold Veltins !

Staff were always polite & helpful (even with my best tourist German) so nothing ever lost in translation.

Would I stay here again ? Yes I probably would.S-Bahn on the doorstep as well as Tiergarten & Berlin Zoo a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#76 of 634 in Berlin
2,746 reviews
Moabit
Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#20 of 634 in Berlin
1,222 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#50 of 634 in Berlin
880 reviews
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#52 of 634 in Berlin
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten

Property: Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Address: Strasse des 17 Juni 106-108, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Berlin
#42 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#53 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten features a design concept for the future with bright colours, natural materials and ergonomic forms. This 4 star hotel is located between the Kurfurstendamm and the Brandenburg Gate with transport links to the main train station, the airports and the exhibition centre. 274 airconditioned rooms and 11 meeting rooms welcome business and leisure travellers from around the world. Enjoy the views over Berlin from the spa area or Mediterranean cuisine in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten Hotel Berlin
Berlin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing