We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for Berlin stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Close to TLX (note - take a cab it is a 10 minute ride). close to tour bus stops. Close to Zoogarden trainstation. Close to Sauvigny square which is has a lot of highly rated restaurants in the area. Consistently great treatment by staff. It has a nice balcony cafe area to sit and eat or drink. The new bar has signature cocktails made from fresh ingredients that rival any I have seen. It was nice to end the evening talking to friendly people with a great drink. They even have a beer specially brewed for the hotel ("Endell") which is an excellent ale. Our dinner was excellent at the restaurant. The remodeling was first class. We were upgraded to a balcony room overlooking the street. Always nice to have a huge overhead rain shower head. Really was perfect for the trip.

Room Tip: upgrade to balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was very tasty. The grapefruit juice was fresh squeezed. The room was clean and large. Less than 5 minutes to hail a cab to anywhere in the city. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. Roughly 20 minutes to Tegel airport from the Marriott AM Steinplatz.

Room Tip: I stayed on floor 1, looking out on the street. The windows must be double pane because I did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EricS122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June 2014. Wonderful experience!!! It is located in a very nice and quite area. The hotel is beautifully appointed. It is an old art deco building delightfully refurbished. The rooms are small but pleasant and the bathrooms are gourgeous!!!
Being a Marriott Gold member, we got our breakfast included in the rate which was very good. Service was also excellent. It is a wonderful value for the price.
I highly recommed this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the second Signature brand we have stayed in (the first being St. Ermine's in London). And I can honestly say that I am now a fan of this brand. Marriott is grabbing up these large boutique style hotels and giving them the Marriott signature customer service experience and it shows in the Hotel am Steinplatz.

Our room was a long walk from the elevator...that is about the worst thing I can say about the hotel...but we were on the 5th floor, same floor as the spa which blocks off one side of the four-wing hotel. Really, this is not a complain, the long walk was more than reasonable and the hallway very wide and well lit. The best part of the hallway - aside from the motion sensor lighting - was the pictures on the wall. On one side, regular pictures that highlighted a long-ago era of hotel luxury. On the other side - moving pictures. There seems to be two types - one that showed a vase with butterflies flitting about that would change to a rotating woman, and the second a rotating news fell style from the 19202. In any case - it was very unique and wonderful detail.

the room was spacious enough for myself and my wife -- we were also traveling with our two dogs. the hotel was very accommodating and reasonable (40 extra Euro for the entire stay per dog for "sanitizing"). Across the street was small park that was perfect for our dogs. The best part though...every morning we would take our dogs for a walk around 0900 and be gone for 45 to 60 minutes. As we were leaving, we always told the front desk. The room service would move to out room and clean it while we were out. When we would return the room was spotless and you would not know that two large, stressed-out dogs had spent the night in there!!!

The view from our room was non-existent. We looked out into the courtyard, but is it rather narrow and there is not much to see. But, we were always so exhausted from our day that a view would have been wasted anyway. The highlight of the room was the bathroom though. It was very large, a pleasant surprise for a hotel in Europe. It had a hidden drawer with a hair dryer and lots of counter space and empty under counter space to help store our luggage. The mirror covered the entire wall of the bathroom with an oval of light around the main mirror over the sink. But, without a doubt, the best feature in the bathroom and the entire room, was the shower. I am rather picky about hotel showers and am often just okay with the findings. Some in Las Vegas have blown me away. But this is the best I have ever seen. It was a typical European style shower with a removable wand that was adjustable. Not the best part - that was the giant overhead rainfall shower head mounted into the ceiling. It was so large, the water pouring out of it covered your entire body. The two shower heads have separate controls so you could choose the one to use. This feature came in very handy for us it was very warm while we visited Berlin and the rainfall felt wonderful after a long, hot sweaty day of sight-seeing around Berlin!

Marriott is well-known for customer service and one of the reasons I always try to book first with Marriott is because of this reputation. The Hotel am Steinplatz did not disappoint. From the welcome at the reception desk, to whisking away our luggage, our car and escorting us to the room to show us the features and hidden gems (the safe is hidden in a drawer!). Ice is not easy to come by in Europe...in the US of course, we are used to an ice machine on every floor and available 24 hours a day. Not so much in Europe. We asked for a bucket of ice to be brought up to our room one night and we were not even sure if the request could be filled - the response was more than surprising. We were told of course and it would be brought up right away (it took less than three minutes to reach us!), but the reaction was almost as if she was disappointed that she didn't anticipate our need for the ice, like she felt she let us down that we had to ask for it! It was a very refreshing experience. (I could go on about the customer service - but one last item of note - a personalized welcome note - IN ENGLISH - waiting for us in our room!!! Great touch!!).

I can not recommend this hotel enough. If we ever find ourselves back on berlin, you can bet we will be staying at the Hotel am Steinplatz~~

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel was a perfect match for what we wanted in Berlin. Boutique feel, quiet and local neighbourhood with good restaurants, close to main shopping area and 5 mins walk to transport hub. The staff we came across were all excellent, welcoming, pleasant, and genuine right through our stay. Great bar and restaurant. Good sized rooms with WIFI included . It still smells new from when it opened and it was a real treat to stay here. Highly recommend for those who don't want to feel like they're in a big chain hotel but still want to enjoy the benefits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NFitzdelfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the Am Steinplatz for four nights in May. We had a superior room which, for two people was not spacious, but was adequate. The designers have made the most of the available space with clever built in cabinets. I like the location a lot, which is in West Berlin. The location has character and by S bahn it's reasonably close to the attractions in thevEast, while everything in the West is easily accessable The hotel has good quality bikes which are available at a reasoble price. In summary, our stay mirrored the good and the negative noted in the posts below. the main negative was that the air conditioning was not working for one and one-half days and I felt we got the runaround from the front desk about the problem. We were not advised of the problem when we checked in and the lady who took us to our room told us the room was a little stuffy because the air conditioning had been turned off. After a couple of hours we advised the from desk that the room had not cooled and we were told that an adjustment would be made to solve the problem. The front desk must have known all along that the air conditioning was completely shut down but the reassurances about an adjustment to this or that continued until one brave staff person finally fessed up that the air conditioning was completely kaput and that they were waiting for an essential spare part. Being forthright about the matter would have Been better. However, I like the hotel and I would return. In fact I will give it another try in August, when I hope to be greated by a well air conditioned room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singapore57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very nice hotel with beautiful furnishings and appointments. It is prices less than the marquis brands pricing and you get more for your money. Staff was absolutely great. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Datatraveler2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
568 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
1,596 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louisa's Place
#4 of 634 in Berlin
637 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,712 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection

Address: Steinplatz 4, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel am Steinplatz)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £108 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection and enjoy a boutique hotel in Berlin, German that is located in walking distance of West Berlin's main attractions including the famous shopping boulevard, Ku'damm. We offer 84 stylish guestrooms, 3 suites, restaurant, bar, and lobby lounge plus spa, fitness room and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing