We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, Great Location, Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Ranked #315 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Peoples' Republic of Boulder
Level Contributor
227 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great room, Great Location, Good Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were in Berlin for a conference and then stayed over to be tourists so were at the Zarenhof in the Mitte (middle of Berlin) for ten nights. It was a great experience. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the Nordbahnhof, one of the ghost underground stations where trains from the West ran through the East during the time of the Berlin Wall. The Berlin Wall Memorial starts at the station and runs for about a kilometer to the east. Another Ubahn station is a couple of blocks the other directiion so getting around Berlin from the Zarenhof was extremely easy once you got the lay of the land. Our room was large, with a desk, free internet, and an instant-hot shower. The bed was wonderful; sleeping under the duvets was toasty. We opted for the "Zars Breakfast" each morning of our stay. Since the owners originally came from Georgia this Russian-German breakfast was quite a feast. Breakfast is from 7:00 to 10:00 weekdays, 7:00-11:00 Saturday and Sunday; Sunday includes champagne! The staff were gracious and helpful. Overall, the Zarenhof was a great, relatively inexpensive (for Europe) place to spend 10 days.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably better; we had a room at the end of the hall which probably added a bit of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    70
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
41
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We got the best room of the hotel although we had reserved a room in the lower category. We found the service really friendly and the room was, naturally, big and cosy. We had also breakfast here, the food was delicious although the breakfast room was quite small and dark. I would say this is a good *** hotel, maybe ***1/2.

Helpful?
Thank AMDG78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel is in a good location. We booked a room with a kitchen so that we had access to the washing machine, which was useful give that we were travelling light. It was in a quiet location but close to transport links. There are several restaurants and bars within walking distance. Wifi is reliable. Breakfast was varied enough for us.
It's a little quirky but perfectly comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time2fly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel was a little odd, once through the small reception we walked down an ally between two very tall buildings to an elevator, up to the 4th floor. Our room was quite small(but the biggest in the hotel) it had everything it said in the brochure, it was adequate for our needs. Breakfast was very nice , well laid out

Room Tip: Don't expect to much
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 757kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Too many things went wrong during the two days I stayed at this hotel. First, the economy room was tiny, with almost no deskspace and with very small beds. So if you really have to stay at this hotel, consider one of the more expensive options. Second, the room was on the ground level, with windows opening to the inner yard, so they had to be kept closed and shaded. For the second night I moved to a more exensive room on the 2nd floor, but because of the well-like nature of the inner yard (the opposite window just a couple of meters away), still had to keep windows closed and curtains drawn. Third, on the day of the arrival, the receptionist promised that I would be upgraded on the next day for free, if a room was available, but on the next day, a different receptionist had a different view on the matter. The service was rather impolite, esp. the second receptionist – taking a long call in the middle of a conversation with me, etc. In short, it was the worst hotel experience in many months (and I travel a lot).

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. If you can't, take a "superior" or “lux” (?) room facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaadaaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband, teenager and I just returned from our Eastern European trip and stayed at the Zarenhof during a heat wave. We were in "Apt. 3" room type which didn't look like the pictures associated with this room type. The pictures make the room look quite large but it was fairly standard. The bathroom was clean, very tiny and the shower was small and somewhat difficult to get in and out of. There was no AC in the room, which was on the top floor and very hot. The hotel didn't have any fans (we asked twice and were told we would be brought one) or they could not find any. The portion of the hotel we were in didn't look luxurious with gold trim, but looked dark and needed some upgrades (we looked out on the interior courtyard). The location is great and the Prenzlauerberg neighborhood has great restaurants and cafes. The breakfast buffet was the best of our trip, and the people who run the hotel are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I promised myself to write a review for this hotel after I have been to Berlin. Even though it took me a couple of month, here it is.
I had such a pleasant experience at the Zarenhof. I booked the hotel online way in advance and got a great deal. Only after staying there I realised what a lucky pick this was. Not only have I received great value for money but also picked a hotel with a great location. The area of Prenzlauer Berg developed into one of the most trendiest neighbourhoods in Berlin. There was Kastanienallee with lots of individual shops just around the corner, as well as the flea market at the Mauerpark. The hotel is only two stops away from Alexanderplatz on the underground (Eberswalder Strasse) and therefore perfectly located.
We arrived relatively late at night from London and there was nobody at the reception desk. There was a first shock but after a couple of minutes we were greeted by the friendly receptionist.
The room itself was small but clean and tidy. The bathroom was very light and modern. It fitted our needs and we felt very comfortable. As our room rate included buffet breakfast we made sure to enjoy it every day. It was fantastic. It was a mixture of German and Russian breakfast options. There was a wide variety to choose from. The hotel even hired a harp player for the guests to enjoy their calm morning hours even more. The staff was friendly and forthcoming.
If I would go to Berlin again, this would be my first choice to stay. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Honigmond Hotel
Honigmond Hotel
#193 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Mitte
Novalis Hotel
Novalis Hotel
#347 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#175 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#242 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Mitte
Honigmond Garden Hotel
Honigmond Garden Hotel
#296 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#158 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zarenhof Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zarenhof Berlin Mitte

Property: Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Address: Eichendorffstrasse 4, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zarenhof Berlin Mitte 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the heart of Berlin lies in aquiet side street, just 400 metres from the Nordbahnhof S-Bahn Station and 200 metres from the famous Friedrichstrasse Boulevard. It offers free W i-Fi internet access via hotspot. The hotel is decorated in a luxurious traditional Russian Empire style. Features include wood panels and gold details throughout. In the morning, a breakfast is served offering Russian specialities. The Zarenhof is just 400 metres aw ay from the Naturkundemuseum Underground Station. The Friedrichstadtpalast Revue Theatre is just 700 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zarenhof Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarenhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing