We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Johann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Johann
Ranked #31 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here for a wedding taking place nearby. The room was quiet and the staff were most friendly and helpful. The location was very handy for the wedding, but I wouldn't have stayed in this area of Berlin otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_MZ9085YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Johann
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

“Hotel Johann” might best be characterized as a budget design hotel (with more emphasis on “budget” than on “design”). As usual nowadays in a budget hotel, there was no wardrobe in my room, only two tiny shelves and a hanging rail. The hotel is located in an old building that seems to have been thoroughly renovated fairly recently. In particular the brightly lit bathroom was elegantly designed and furnished in a functional manner.

This did not apply to the room itself. Although very small, it was equipped with an extremely large bed. The distance between the bed and the wall was so small that I could hardly reach the garment rack, which was accessibly only in this way. Apart from the huge bed, furniture was basic. At least, there was a small desktop with a good reading light and a comfortable chair.

“Hotel Johann” is situated at equal distances from three different subway stations, each at a walking distance of about 10 minutes. Despite this suboptimal accessibility by public transport the best thing about this hotel is nonetheless its location. The neighborhood is a calm residential area and absolutely silent at night. There are no run-down buildings full of graffitis as one might expect at Kreuzberg. The many restaurants of the bustling Bergmannstrasse and its surroundings are only a 15 minutes walk away.

Though there was no disturbance by noise during the two nights I spent a “Hotel Johann”, my sleep quality was markedly reduced by the excessively soft pillow. While the mattress was alright I never before was confronted with a pillow as horrible as in this hotel. I improvised with a bath-towel as good as I could, but in spite of that I did not succeed to sleep comfortably.

The breakfast buffet provided a wide choice. Its only shortcoming was in my eyes the quality of the bread. One had to put up with either frozen bakery products or dried up slices of packaged bread. No fresh bread or rolls from a bakery were available.

For a budget hotel, the room rate was not a bargain, but not expensive either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austriacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely small hotel, modern elegant style, good location in green street, very helpful staff, extremely friendly, I had a foot injury and Andreas went out of his way to help me with hospital.
Clean ,spacious rooms, nice minimal modern decor. Good breakfast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

i really loved the plac. the place gives you good value for your money. the staff is really friendly and i would recommend the place to fellow travellers. the rooms are really cozy and comfortable. i loved how the hotel is conveniently located in a quiet residential area. i did not stay as long as i would have loved to. the food is really delicious. i plan to stay here next month when i go back to Berlin

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolverineaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a quickly organized trip for work and it was near the meeting location and recommended by my colleague. My single room was very clean and bright but rather small if I had been wanting to work - as it was I arrived late and left after breakfast so quite adequate for the purpose. I think the double rooms must be larger. My room was at the back of the hotel and opened onto the garden - it was so quiet that I could open the windows at night which is rare as I am such a light sleeper.
The breakast was very good - there is also a nice terrace at the back for breakfast/ drinks etc.
I would stay here agin, but would ask for a bigger room I think - it is greta value and the staff were helpful and friendly both on the phone and in person.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, better high up as well
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Although the Hotel Johann's location is rather remote from any of the usual Berlin sights, it is located in a pleasant residential area and is three blocks from a bus line that can take you to several major U-Bahn stations; there are also two U-Bahn stations within a ten-minute walk.

We had a large double room, which included a sofa and desk. The decor is spare but attractive, and the bathroom is spacious. The frosted glass door dividing the bathroom from the bedroom is not a problem for privacy.

The breakfast room is large and bright, and the breakfasts are outstanding. The buffet provides cold cuts, cereals, pastries, fresh cut fruits, tomato with mozarella, yogurt, and soft-boiled eggs, and probably the best coffee we had in Europe.

The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. The hotel has the Berlin Welcome Card, and we would recommend that you get it if you are staying for three days or more, especially because it covers several museums and makes it easy to use the bus and U-Bahn and S-Bahn systems.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShandRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I really enjoyed the modern style of this hotel. It's location was excellent. While not in the center of it all, it was well positioned to take advantage of Kreutzberg, and was not far from the U-bahn station. The staff was friendly and helpful. I loved my small room, which had a contemporary style. Free WiFi is a plus. Overall, highly recommended unless you are expecting luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
#197 of 635 in Berlin
151 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
#356 of 635 in Berlin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#115 of 635 in Berlin
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann

Address: Johanniterstr. 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Family Hotel in Berlin
#48 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £79 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johann 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Johann is situated in the lively Kreuzberg district of Berlin, just 700 m from Prinzenstraße Underground Station. It offers contemporary-style rooms and a daily breakfast buffet. Featuring light wooden furniture, the Hotel Johann’s rooms include a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi internet access and parquet floors. Guests also receive a free bottle of mineral water on arrival. The historic Jewish Museum and the Berlinische Galerie art museum are 1 km away from the Johann. Guests wishing to explore Berlin on two wheels can rent a bicycle at the 24-hour reception. The trendy bars and restaurants of Bergmannstraße can be reached in around 10 minutes on foot. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 9 for a two-person trip. This property is also rated for the best value in Berlin! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Johann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing