We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lace to stay in Berlin”
Review of Hotel Johann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Johann
Ranked #22 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed there recently.Small hotel, but very stylish with great location . Great service staff indeed very friendly
,Quite spacious rooms well equipped. Lovely breakfast. Highly recommend.Berlin is Great will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBellRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Everything was lovely! Excellent and tasty breakfast and quite a good location. Wi-fi connection worked properly. Rooms are perfectly cleaned and the sleep quality is assured. Staff was extra friendly and helpful. My girlfriend and I really liked our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatOLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in this Hotel 3 nights as we wanted to visit a concert in the Columbiahalle (C-HALLE) in Berlin. To reach Columbiahalle this hotel is perfectly located (about 20 minutes walk to the venue), but even for the center it is fine as there are buses and metros which get you in no time in the center and even a taxi into the center is under 10 euro's. Also in walking distance is the Jewish Museum. As for the Hotel we had a great time, the staff is very friendly and helpfull, the hotel and rooms are clean and the area is pretty quiet, the beakfast was excellent and had everything except baked stuff (as that would mean the would need to employ a cook) but they did have eggs (boiled), big variety of luxery bread, cheese, ham, vegetables, fruit, youghurt, salmon and so on perfectly to our taste. We will definitely stay in this Hotel again when visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights at the end of September. Everything was fine: the staff was very friendly and helpful; their breakfast buffet provided a wide choice and was very good; our room (n. 302) was quiet and confortable with two large windows and lots of space. There were also two armchairs with an Eileen Gray's coffee table. Everything was simple but designed with charme. We really had a nice stay and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

By Berlin's standards, quite commendable and good value for money (when you manage to get a room!). Obviously, the owners aim at creating a "cool" atmosphere, "easygoing-thirtysomething-healthy lifestyle" kind of stuff. But business is business! I needed to stay at this hotel in particular and had difficulty getting a room for only one night on a Friday as the policy is to force people to book for two nights at week-ends. Hotel receptionist was helpful but I had to wait until the last minute for a cancellation in order to get a room. Not practical. Said room (single, 307) was very cramped (impossible to reach window handle because large bed in the way) and had a minuscule triangular table.
On the + side, recently renovated building in quiet + safe neighbourhood (very easy to park nearby). Access for wheelchairs. Fancy elevator with folding seat as in the old days. Breakfast included (nothing to write home about, though). Last but not least, good whiskies reasonably priced at the bar! Will go back if they still let me in after this review...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101 and 102 on ground floor: located next to entrance, in the corridor leading to the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indianawilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here for a wedding taking place nearby. The room was quiet and the staff were most friendly and helpful. The location was very handy for the wedding, but I wouldn't have stayed in this area of Berlin otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_MZ9085YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

“Hotel Johann” might best be characterized as a budget design hotel (with more emphasis on “budget” than on “design”). As usual nowadays in a budget hotel, there was no wardrobe in my room, only two tiny shelves and a hanging rail. The hotel is located in an old building that seems to have been thoroughly renovated fairly recently. In particular the brightly lit bathroom was elegantly designed and furnished in a functional manner.

This did not apply to the room itself. Although very small, it was equipped with an extremely large bed. The distance between the bed and the wall was so small that I could hardly reach the garment rack, which was accessibly only in this way. Apart from the huge bed, furniture was basic. At least, there was a small desktop with a good reading light and a comfortable chair.

“Hotel Johann” is situated at equal distances from three different subway stations, each at a walking distance of about 10 minutes. Despite this suboptimal accessibility by public transport the best thing about this hotel is nonetheless its location. The neighborhood is a calm residential area and absolutely silent at night. There are no run-down buildings full of graffitis as one might expect at Kreuzberg. The many restaurants of the bustling Bergmannstrasse and its surroundings are only a 15 minutes walk away.

Though there was no disturbance by noise during the two nights I spent a “Hotel Johann”, my sleep quality was markedly reduced by the excessively soft pillow. While the mattress was alright I never before was confronted with a pillow as horrible as in this hotel. I improvised with a bath-towel as good as I could, but in spite of that I did not succeed to sleep comfortably.

The breakfast buffet provided a wide choice. Its only shortcoming was in my eyes the quality of the bread. One had to put up with either frozen bakery products or dried up slices of packaged bread. No fresh bread or rolls from a bakery were available.

For a budget hotel, the room rate was not a bargain, but not expensive either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austriacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,937 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 633 in Berlin
1,285 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 633 in Berlin
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#35 of 633 in Berlin
2,381 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 633 in Berlin
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann

Address: Johanniterstr. 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Family Hotel in Berlin
#42 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#48 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johann 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Johann is situated in the lively Kreuzberg district of Berlin, just 700 m from Prinzenstraße Underground Station. It offers contemporary-style rooms and a daily breakfast buffet. Featuring light wooden furniture, the Hotel Johann’s rooms include a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi internet access and parquet floors. Guests also receive a free bottle of mineral water on arrival. The historic Jewish Museum and the Berlinische Galerie art museum are 1 km away from the Johann. Guests wishing to explore Berlin on two wheels can rent a bicycle at the 24-hour reception. The trendy bars and restaurants of Bergmannstraße can be reached in around 10 minutes on foot. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 9 for a two-person trip. This property is also rated for the best value in Berlin! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Johann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing