We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 5 Night Stay at the Pension Funk!”
Review of Pension Funk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Funk
Ranked #288 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our 5 nights at the "Funk" was a perfect way to end our 22 night trip. We had room #22 (the room on their web site that has the cream colored curved bed frame with sitting area.) The room was large at least 20'X25' with a 15'+ ceiling! Room was in the front of the building but on the 3 level with double windows and no street noise. Only draw back about the room was the cruise ship size bathroom. But that wasn't a problem after we go used to it. The location of the Funk is perfect. 10 minutes to Zoo station and a short walk to many great and inexpensive restaurants on Bleibtreustrasse. Breakfasts were the traditional fare for Germany but very good and slighty changing every day. I think we met all of the the staff during our stay and all were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and tourist info. One of Tourist Information offices is between the Funk and the Zoo station. Can purchase Berlin Welcome Card there. If you are flying out of Tegel the bus to airport has a stop on Ku'dann. a 3 minute walk from the Funk. Would stay at the Funk again.

Room Tip: When making reservation confirm if room has full ensuite facilities. Room 22 was large but I noticed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveandJaniece1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

4 nights, first time in Berlin, solo traveler, October 2013 - I stayed at Hotel-Pension Funk - a turn-of-the-last-century house once the home of Asta Nielsen, a silent movie star. Photographs and posters of her decorate the hallways. Wonderful place - lovely breakfast room, antique furniture and accessories, high ceilinged room with a chandelier and wooden armoire, lovely parquet-topped table with two velvet chairs - you get the drift. Comfortable bed. Bath small but clean and functional. Breakfast in the parlor was lovely with coffee and juice, cheeses and meats, bread, yogurt, soft-boiled eggs. Lovely in the morning light through the big windows overlooking the courtyard in back. "Honor system" beer and water refrigerator. Enjoyed it and it was a great value - 300 euro for 4 nights for this kind of experience is an absolute steal.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 24, which was lovely and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived by train and took the S Bahn to the Zoo station,easy.The short walk down the main shopping street to the pension was busy, with several good places to eat and lots of shops.The Pension was on a quiet tree lined street. The room was simple and clean.Take the 100 city bus from the Zoo to the East side and see all the sites with a day pass (you buy it on the bus).

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank DianeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights following a friend's recommendation. It was the worst ever! No service, the room was really not like in the pictures. We were harrassed by mosquitos all night, although someone from the "reception" told us we could open the windows during the night without worrying about mosquitos...
The bed is not made for a couple since it consists of two single beds placed side-by-side...
And the price was too high for this really low standard place: 95 euros/night is way too much for what it is. On the top of that the internet connection was poor. For such an amount of money you can find a better place than that breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sherlley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our family of 5 had a fantastic stay at Pension Funk. We rented two rooms, each with their own private baths. The kids had plenty of space, with three twin beds and an enormous armoire, beautiful curved window. Our room was less charming architecturally but very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was in a beautiful room, the staff was attentive, and everything was fresh and well-presented. This is the place to stay if you like feeling like you actually live in a Berlin neighborhood. What is truly amazing is the location combined with the price--you just can't beat being so close to K'damm and all its amenities, the U-bahn, and the Zoo. Great restaurants nearby, terrific shopping, of course, too. This isn't the place to stay if want a predictable, cookie-cutter hotel. I think next time I might sacrifice the private bath in favor of one of the truly huge rooms on the front of the hotel--caught a glimpse of one as it was being cleaned and it looked very cool. The staff was also very low-key and terrific. Helped us arrange a very early morning taxi and made us feel very much at home. Loved this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forstweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This family-owned and run hotel has an excellent location in Western Berlin, three minutes from an U-Bahn station on the Ku'Damm, and perhaps ten minutes from the Zoo U-Bahn/S-Bahn Station. It is a quiet, upscale residential district close to good restaurants and transportation. The staff could not be more pleasant and accommodating -- the building has a locked elevator but with prior notice they will meet you at street level so you don't have to haul your bags up the stairs.

The building somehow survived World War II, and retains much of its Roaring Twenties opulence -- and in Berlin, the 20s definitely roared! It was the mansion of a German silent film star before the war, and home to a Luftwaffe bigwig during. It is a bit dark and creaky, but the rooms are good sized with most original fittings intact. The entryway from the street is truly grand, leading to a marble staircase. Only downside for some is those stars -- the elevator is locked and only accessible with prior notice, and the stairs are steep, and the hotel begins on the third floor -- but one you get there you're in for a treat.

The place has quite a nostalgic air about it, both for the prewar and Cold War eras, when this area was close to the heart of West Berlin. I traveled there often, usually staying at places like this, so my stay felt like a homecoming of sorts. Since reunification the center of action in Berlin has shifted to the former Eastern sectors of Berlin, so this area has returned to what it was before the War -- an upscale, leafy residential area close by good transport but removed from the frenzy of the center of town.

Some of the period furnishings are a bit tired, although the mid-century room phones add a charming note. Bathrooms though are updated and modern, with wonderful water pressure in the shower.

The breakfast room and buffet are quite grand -- all the expected German elements such as hard-boilded eggs, fresh rolls, cheese slices, and salami (or wurst, auf Deutsch!), as well as yogurt, fruit salad, cucumber and tomato slices, cream cheese, and smoked salmon, along with unlimited coffee -- quite a pleasure for caffein-starved North Americans!

Free WiFi is included although the signal was not very strong in my room; It was quite strong near the breakfast room though, so I was able to haul my laptop there and get online.

One other benefit is room rates around 20 Euro lower than comparable properties in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Casey1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Pension Funk is a really interesting place to stay and literally a few yards from the main Ku'Damm shopping street. A little quirky as it has kept the feel of a 30's apartment, but all the better for it. No telly and teasmade which was a benefit in our book though we did have a room with en-suite. Michael the host was very hospitable and looked after us well. Our room was right at the back - wonderfully quiet for a city centre, even with the window open.
Vist the Cafe at the Literatur Haus, just oppoiste - also a great vietnamese restaurant in Savigny Platz, a short walk away.
Loved it - will be back.

Room Tip: Double at the back with En-suite -very quiet, tucked away and away from the main door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Henri Hotel Berlin
Henri Hotel Berlin
#212 of 633 in Berlin
310 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#89 of 633 in Berlin
280 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Pension Fasanenhaus
Hotel Pension Fasanenhaus
#366 of 633 in Berlin
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Midi Inn City West off Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Art Nouveau
Hotel Art Nouveau
#279 of 633 in Berlin
149 reviews
Spandau
Hotel Lindenufer
Hotel Lindenufer
#243 of 633 in Berlin
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Funk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Funk

Address: Fasanenstr. 69, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Funk 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Pension Funk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Funk Hotel Berlin
Funk Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing