We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chandelier but pity about the towels and pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Ranked #121 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is an opulent looking 4* hotel. Everything is very good though expensive.It is not exactly central being on roads occupied by embassies but a fifteen minute walk through the Tiergarten gets you to the Reichstag, Inter den Linden etc.
What was surprising was the poor quality of the pillow and the towels. We did ask for another pillow, admittedly fairly late in the day to be told that housekeeping was not available.The towels are slightly larger than hand towels and extremely thin.Really not what you should expect in a hotel at this price

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueleeds186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We regret that we could not fulfil your expectations completely and we herewith apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Your criticism about the towels, we will gladly include in our future planning. Other pillows are of course available at our housekeeping and also our night-staff has the possibility to hand over them to our guests on request. We can not understand why this not happened in your case.

It would be nice to welcome you back nevertheless again as a guest in our hotel.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

There are many pluses as well as many minuses about this hotel but for 5*+ hotel the best I can mark it is poor. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of a tour group. The first impression was favourable despite a long walk to our room. We enjoyed the quality and variety of food at the breakfast buffet and I filled in the survey that had been placed on the table but when I handed it to the member of staff at the entrance to the dining room he just threw it to one side(26th June). Our room was quite acceptable but it was rather dominated by a mirrored glass cabinet containing 6(?) wine glasses, a half bottle of local wine (priced at 10 euros), a bottle of water at 6.50Euros, and various kinds of overpriced (I am sure-- though there was no list) junk food. We did find the Potsdamer Platz which was about a 10 minute walk away where we found wine for less than 2 euros though we lashed out on some French and Australian wine which was not much more. This area and the nearby Sony centre were good for food and drinks at reasonable prices The fridge in the room in the hotel was also jammed packed with numerous highly coloured drinks and junk food and did not give us any space for things of our own such as medication, fruit etc. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. I have noticed that the comment about space and safety issues being given for this omission but considering the space given over to wine and junk food how can you justify calling yourself a 5*(+) hotel without complimentary tea and coffee? Hotels all over the world even 2* in France provide this facility. As for safety issues when will you consider a walk-in shower instead of guests having to climb into a slippery bath and try to operate a very difficult shower. The range of toiletries offered were minimal and of poor quality and THE TOWELS!!! They were extremely thin or threadbare. I did complain to reception and was provided with fluffy ones but I had to repeat the process the next day. There is no excuse for offering poor quality amenities. AND the TV is like something out of a museum (I noted a previous response from The Management in March states that replacements are in progress.....how long does it take???) and there are so many German stations. The only non-payment English speaking station was CNN which seemed to repeat itself every half hour. Is this hotel interested in guests outside Germany? We also used the swimming pool but found the area uncomfortably hot and rather small for the size of the hotel.The towels offered for use there were of the threadbare type. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant but the conference being held in the Lobby made it very difficult to negotiate one's way across it. This hotel seems to cater only for business people not for tourists. The wifi is also very expensive. Please note you only get one chance to give good service and there are plenty of other hotels out there. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrueBrit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are saddened that we could not met your expectations. For good order’s sake allow us to note that we are a 4*+ hotel, not a 5*+, which should be not an excuse for your criticisms. You have already read some of our responses here and therefore we only want to answer some of your criticisms in more detail.

We can assure you that the opinion of our guests is our top priority. The mentioned guest surveys are all forwarded to the General Manager and evaluated very closely. Furthermore, we answer, of course, all guest surveys, positive or negative, if names and/or address are registered. So our service staff just put them beside because they are collected to give them to the Management.

The purchase of new televisions for our rooms is already being planned and is organized centrally for several hotels of our company. This requires, however, in a house of our size a longer preparation and investment time. We ask for your understanding.

Your other points of criticism, we also take very seriously and we gladly will check opportunities for improvement for the future.

We really regret that we could not convince you of our hotel and our services and we formally apologise for all inconvenience caused.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked as part of a tour, we were astonished to find we were in a 'smoking room' - didn't know
that these still existed. You can't even smoke in any cruise ship cabin thank goodness so why here? .Reception blamed communication from the tour company! On a more positive note the room was a good size and very clean and comfortable.The t.v. was ancient and we watched the football complete with German commentary, volume down!! We ordered room service on one evening as the restaurant menus were not appealing and it was good. Hotel location not ideal for those less able to walk distances after a day of sightseeing. Breakfast was included and there was an excellent selection, very good. This hotel is more geared for business than for a relaxing stay, the lobby which is huge was allocated totally to a corporate launch and was quite hectic.

Room Tip: State that you either do or don't want a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crunchkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we like to thank you for your visit. With great interest we read your comments about your stay at our hotel. We were very glad about your kind words regarding our rooms, the breakfast and the room service.

We are sorry that you were annoyed due to the smoking room. Unfortunately we were fully booked and had no possibility to give every guest the desired room, although 80% of our rooms are non-smoking rooms. Please accept our apology for the trouble caused.

As already mentioned in other responses here the purchase of new televisions is in progress, but it needs some time to prepare the changeover for a hotel of our size.

Nevertheless we hope that we can welcome you back as a guest in our hotel occasionally and send kind regards from Berlin

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The rooms are nice and have a good size and are clean.
However I was missing an electric kettle or hotwater source for making coffee or tea.
The price for the room was very high in view of the lacking facilities and poor internet.

The biggest drawback is the internet, or rather the lack of it. First of all it is incredible expensive and very very slow and of course it is wired so you can not use Ipad or Iphone.
The T-mobile hotspot has an extremely poor coverage, so even I signed up for it I lost all the money as I was unable to use it in the room.

As usual in Germany, the number of English Language channels in the TV is limited to one (CNN)
The staff was generally very friendly and polite, however only a few spoke or understood English.

The breakfast buffet has a large and varied selection. however I have never experienced such a huge crowd of travel groups and conference participants, at the peak time it make the acces to the buffet nearly impossible.

It also counts very negative that The hotel does not have a coffe shop. During the day and evening the only option is the bar which have a very limited selection of snacks.

As a consequence of the poor internet I was forced to move to another hotel as I needed to do a lot of work on the internet.
The High price for the room was also an incitament to move to another hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your visit and taking the time to assess our hotel.

We are very sorry that you had trouble with the internet connection during your stay. The speed of the wired Internet connection is dependent on the number of users. If many of our guests use the ports at the same time the speed decreases unfortunately. For problems with the Wifi connection we have a service number of the contracting party German Telekom and have to contact them directly. If our guests inform us about the problems on the spot we try to help of course.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused and we regret very much that our hotel could not convince you.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed here a total of 5 nights. Very conveniently positioned hotel near Potsdamer Platz in Berlin. The rooms are clean, the facilities good, the breakfast excellent. So what is there not to like? Well quite a few things actually. For the cost of the rooms (250EUR per night) I would expect a first class experience. In fairness it was close - but a this level it is the little things that count - and here the Maritim was left wanting. The towels were thin, almost threadbare. The service, though generally efficient and courteous, often did not go that extra mile. An instance of this was when my colleague and I had lunch at the bar one day. She could not finish her burger and wanted to take it to her room. She asked the bartender/ waitress, and was somewhat surprised when there was no offer to pack the food, or even place some food wrap around the plate. There are no doormen. There were not enough bartenders serving at night. The gym has a tiny TV which no-one can hear. The whole place lacks ambience and soul. You get the picture? This would get an overall 4 stars plus if the service was a little less hit or miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrst1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear guest,

With great interest we have taken note of your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel and we thank you for describing your impressions. About your generally positive assessment we were pleased.

Of course it is our utmost concern to satisfy our guests expectations and as possible to exceed them. Unfortunately this was not completely successful in your case. We are grateful for your constructive criticisms and we will take these into account for the improvement of our services in the future.

It would be a pleasure for us, if you would give us a second chance and visit us again occasionally. In this hope we send our best regards

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed as part of a conference. Rooms OK and clean. It was a while since I had to watch a football (UEFA game no less) on a "fat" 15" TV. Good German breakfast in the morning but no soy milk despite my asking for it.

Front desk staffed by young automaton who can only "be sorry" when there is a problem (no no-smoking room in my case).

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank YS1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks for visiting us and giving your evaluation here at Trip Advisor. We understand that you were not satisfied with the TV. As mentioned here a few times the changeover of our room TVs is already in progress but for over 500 rooms it needs a bit more preparation- and investment-time.

We were surprised about the fact, that you did not get soya milk at breakfast. Our Head Chef assured us that soya milk is always in stock. We assume that you have asked a new employee, who was, unfortunately, not well informed in this regard.

Furthermore we regret that were not able to give you a non-smoking room, because we were fully booked at the time of your stay.

We apologise formally for the inconveniences caused.

We would be glad, if you would give us a chance to revise your negative impressions and visit us again sometimes. In this hope and with best regards

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Located 10mins walk from postdama platz Tube station and the Sony centre. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately I was given a smoking room. Despite that you would never have known except for ashtray in bathroom. This hotel is well equipped to handle business meetings and clients. For families I would probably want somewhere more central. If you are attending the conference centre then it is quite a distance away but tubes and trains are negotiable 35min on average.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ironman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post your feedback. We appreciated your positive comments very much and hope we can welcome you back on any future visits.

Best regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#183 of 634 in Berlin
1,070 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#50 of 634 in Berlin
943 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
fjord hotel berlin
fjord hotel berlin
#89 of 634 in Berlin
490 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#18 of 634 in Berlin
3,167 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 634 in Berlin
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Berlin

Address: Stauffenbergstr. 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Berlin
#37 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#67 Family Hotel in Berlin
#82 Business Hotel in Berlin
#90 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £71 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Berlin is located in the heart of Germany's capital, between Ku'Damm and Brandenburg Gate. From here you can easily go for sightseeing or shopping. Many sights and shopping malls are within walking distance. The nearby Tiergarten offers best conditions for sportsmen. Whether for jogging, cycling or just walking - on approximately 2.1 hectares pure nature awaits you in the middle of the city. Only a few meters away is the Kulturforum with the world-famous Philharmonic Berlin, the New National Gallery, the Gemäldegalerie and the Kupferstichkabinett. Potsdamer Platz or about 8 minutes walk. Highlights include: Sony Center, Leogoland, Stage Musical Theater, Mall of Berlin, Potsdamer Platz Arcades, Espionage Museum, Museum of Film and Television, Martin Gropius Building and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing