We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, but nothing exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Ranked #113 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but nothing exceptional”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel was clean, convenient, and reasonably priced. As others have mentioned, the breakfast buffet was particularly extensive, and the rooms are a good size. I thought the wardrobe was particularly well-configured and offered plenty of hangers. The staff is very nice and helpful and there is an indoor poor & sauna available.

Be prepared that a "queen" or "king" bed is actually just 2 twins pushed together. This is fine for a single traveller but couples may find it uncomfortable. The TV is very old and small. The wifi is unworkable - you have to buy service from t-mobile and the connection drops constantly. If you just need to briefly check email you'll be ok, but trying to do anything for work was impossible.

If you like museums, there are plenty in the area. However, there isn't much in the way of nightlife. We mainly ventured to other parts of town for dinner or drinks.

Room Tip: Elevators are on one side of the building, so a room on the opposite side includes quite a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking the time for an evaluation here. We have read your comments very interested and are pleased, that you were satisfied basically.

We can understand your criticisms regarding the wifi and TV offer and assure you, that these points belong to our priorities. As mentioned here before, we are still under contract at the moment, but we hope to be able soon, to offer contemporary solutions.

Our beds are in fact mostly 2 twins, but we also have rooms with king size mattrasses. Please ask for it at an eventual next reservation.

If you prefer a more lively area for your next time in Berlin, we like to recommend our sister hotel Maritim proArte at Friedrichstraße, near the Brandenburg gate, with many shops, restaurants, theatres etc. in direct neighbourhood.

We hope, we can welcome you back as a guest occasionally in one of the Maritim Hotels in Berlin.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    501
    157
    39
    14
See reviews for
113
322
97
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel foyer is absolutely wonderful and it doesn't stop there. The rooms were lovely and a very good size, the beds were comfortable and there was more than adequate storage.
A very short walk from the shopping area.
The breakfast was unbelievable - what a choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for this fabulous feedback and are very delighted, that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel. In the hope, you will visit us again in the future, we send kindest regards,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I was last at this hotel last week. This is a great hotel with very nice rooms, and great service. The breakfast has the largest option that I ever had. The amount of food and quality is outstanding. The only drawback is the TV set that is very old. Other than that the hotel is perfect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmetbrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

A big thank you for visiting us and for your kind review here. We were very pleased about it. Your criticism regarding the TV set is understandable and it is one of our priorities to improve this service in the near future. As mentioned some times before here, we are still under contract at the moment, but hope to be able soon to replace the TV sets. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again, whenever your travels brings you to Berlin.

Kindest regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

lovely room, excellent customer service. If you can afford it go for the premium rooms- the VIP food and wine selection makes it worth it. Excellent breakfast. Short walk to shopping area with choice of othe restauramts if desired.

Room Tip: high floor premium room for excellent food and drink in the VIP lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

With much pleasure we took note of your positive assessment regarding your stay in our hotel. Many thanks for the recommendation. We hope you will stay with us again on your future visits in Berlin.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in September as part of a package. Lovely hotel, with major sights all within a reasonable walking distance. Nice to have a bathrobe as part of a standard room, good qualities toiletries, very comfortable. Was on a B&B basis, but the breakfast included just about everything anyone could want, and the service was excellent. A tricky window fitting was rapidly fixed for me, and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me4Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your visit und for taking the time for an evaluation. We are very pleased, that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our services. In the hope, that we can welcome you back as a guest occasionally we send our best regards

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I booked 2 rooms in this hotel for a three-day long weekend in Berlin. It had good reviews on another site and the price was relatively low compared with others nearby. The hotel is about 10 minutes' walk from Potsdamer Platz which is well connected to the rest of the city by cheap public transport. The only downside to its location is that there is no U-bahn or S-bahn station less than 10 minutes' walk away but there are bus stops nearby and taxis are not expensive in Berlin.

When we arrived I was amazed at the size of the place. The hotel is well presented and modern-looking and the lobby is huge with an area for functions in the middle. At check-in the person on reception was polite and helpful and spoke excellent English. He booked us a table at a restaurant in the city for the following evening at our request and gave us maps and directions to find out way around Berlin.,

The rooms were a decent size and well decorated. We booked two double rooms for our group which had what looked like single beds pushed together with separate single duvets on top. I found the mattresses on the beds too soft but that is just down to my preference. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a table and armchairs plus a desk and office chair. The TV looked about 10 years old and it was a tiny CRT-type TV in a cupboard. That didn't bother me as I wasn't there to watch TV but I think they should upgrade to larger LCD screens.

The ensuite was clean and modern with a shower over the bath. The shower was one of the most powerful I've ever used which was fantastic.

We had drinks in the bar before a night out. The bar is large and has a good atmosphere. The bar staff were happy to chat and give tips about where to go. Prices were high compared with the pubs in the city with a half litre of beer for about 6 euros versus the same for 3 to 4 euros in the pubs in town.

The only disappointment, and the reason it gets 4 stars rather than 5, was the lack of free WiFi access anywhere in the hotel which is pretty poor in 2013. The hotel offers internet access via a LAN cable for a fee (you need to bring your own cable and actually own a device that you can plug one into) or there is a paid WiFi service from T-Mobile which is overpriced. This won't bother the natives much but for travellers from abroad with high data roaming costs WiFi is essential and to charge extra for it throughout the hotel is tight.

Overall I was very happy with the hotel room, staff and facilities. There can't be many hotels in Berlin that offer this much for this price and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor in a room overlooking Sigismundstrasse. There was no problem with noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shubb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted, to read your positive evaluation following your stay at our hotel and we thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We have enjoyed your kind words regarding the facilities, service and location.

Of course we can understand your criticisms about the TV and internet offer and we assure you, that it is one of our priorities to improve those services as soon as possible. As mentioned before here, we are, unfortunately, under contracts at the moment.

Furthermore you mentioned the prices for drinks at our bar. In the range of the 4-star hotels our pricing is in line with the market, but we regularly take a review of the existing prices.

It would be a great pleasure for us, if you would stay at our hotel again, whenever your next travel brings you to Berlin. In this hope we send our best regards

Yours,
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

So I agree with my fellow reviewers. Great room. I had an executive superior room, which I had to pay 50 Euros a night extra for because they only had a smoking room! So I had to pay the extra to get a non-smoking room. What?
In any case the room was great. Plenty of hanging space, bright, nice desk and plug in wifi. But...I had a horrible wifi signal for my phone and had to pay to hard connect and separate wifi phone connect. Could not use my ipad if iphone was connected.
Bathroom heated floor and speakers, tub and super strong and hot shower. Nice sink. TV- bad. Should be flat screen with AV hook up. Executive club nice but food does not lay out you have to ask for it and they give you a menu. Most food free in there.
Gym way too small for a hotel this size. No free weights and only one treadmill. Towels could be of thicker softer quality. You are almost 5 star. Get internet and flat TV's. If you need a steam iron and board get it early and hang on to it. Shampoo and soap just OK so I bring my own.

Room Tip: Get room on 4th or 5th floor or higher. 5th floor was great to be right near gym and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScopeDRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

With much interest we have taken note of your comments following your recent stay at our hotel and we thank you for sharing your impressions.

It was a pleasure to read, that you were satisfied with your room. But unfortunately we were not able to give you a non-smoking room. 80% of our rooms are non-smoking rooms. If we know the relevant preferences of our guests in advance, we try to fulfil this wish, but we can not guarantee this, because if the hotel is fully booked, it is not always possible to give every guest a non-smoking room. For this reason our staff offered you the Superior Executive Suite for an extra charge. We ask for your understanding.

As mentioned often before here, we will improve our internet and TV offer as soon as possible, but at the moment we are still under contracts.

Gladly we will take your other hints into consideration for our future planning.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings and inconvenience caused. Nevertheless, we hope you will give us a second chance by visiting us again occasionally.

Kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#182 of 634 in Berlin
957 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,705 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 634 in Berlin
2,795 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#48 of 634 in Berlin
851 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Berlin

Property: Maritim Hotel Berlin
Address: Stauffenbergstr. 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Berlin
#36 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#67 Family Hotel in Berlin
#82 Business Hotel in Berlin
#85 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Berlin is located in the heart of Germany's capital, between Ku'Damm and Brandenburg Gate. From here you can easily go for sightseeing or shopping. Many sights and shopping malls are within walking distance. The nearby Tiergarten offers best conditions for sportsmen. Whether for jogging, cycling or just walking - on approximately 2.1 hectares pure nature awaits you in the middle of the city.    Only a few meters away is the Kulturforum with the world-famous Philharmonic Berlin, the New National Gallery, the Gemäldegalerie and the Kupferstichkabinett. Potsdamer Platz or about 8 minutes walk. Highlights include: Sony Center, Leogoland, Stage Musical Theater, Mall of Berlin, Potsdamer Platz Arcades, Espionage Museum, Museum of Film and Television, Martin Gropius Building and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing