We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Ranked #121 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have just come back from a trip to Berlin having stayed at the Maritim which was a superb hotel. The location is fine. Close to Potsdamer Platz and Shopping Plaza where their are plenty of restaurants of all standards all within a 10 minute walk. If you need to walk a little further again plenty more restaurants. The hotel lobby looks spectacular,a bit like Hollywood and the rooms are very spacious with all your needs although the TV is a little antiquated, but who needs a TV when you are on holiday. The breakfasts were fantastic with a huge variety of everything you could ask for. The bar was good but a bit pricey for teas and coffee.
Staff all spoke good English and were most helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,

That was a superb evaluation, which we have read with much pleasure. We can not wish anymore, except that you re-visit us soon again! Thank you and best regards from Berlin.

Maritim Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

The interior of the hotel needs serious refurbishment. Furnitures are worn out, TV are still box and not flat screen etc. Breakfast variety is good. Location is quite far away from everything except for the large park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are very sorry, that we were not able, to met you expectations and you had the impression our hotel is very aged. Please allow us the note, that our hotel is not 10 years old and was decorated deliberately in the glamorous style of the roaring 20s as it should be adapted to the historic neighbourhood, such as the Bendler-Block and Shell-Haus.

We apologise, if you have seen worn out furniture. This is unfortunately inevitable in a hotel of our size, but of course we always try to be up to date with refurbishment. The purchase of new TV's is planned, but we are still under contract at the moment. If you prefer a more lively area for your next time in Berlin, we like to recommend our sister hotel Maritim proArte at Friedrichstraße, near the Brandenburg gate, with many shops, restaurants, theatres etc. in direct neighbourhood.

Please accept our apology for the shortcomings. Nevertheless, we hope that we can welcome you back in one of the Maritim Hotels, when you travel to Berlin again.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Maritim is a good hotel to stay but doesn't serve the need to business travellers. I have been there couple of days back and had a comfortable stay. However, it doesn't provide a basic service of free water or free wi-fi. I must say that a hotel of this stature should have these facilities. Also the TV in the room were of medieval period. Who uses these Box TV's these days?
The staff at the hotel are quite smart, well dressed and presentable. But they lack Smile on their face. Hey! Is there any mourning?
Overall, decent stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rhsethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and evaluation of our hotel. We are glad, that you had a decent stay overall.

For the shortcomings we apologise formally. The free Wifi access was still in preparation during your stay. Since yesterday we have this service available for all guests. The purchase of new TV's is one of our next priorities, but unfortunately we are still under contract at the moment.

It would be a pleasure for us, if you visit our hotel nevertheless again in the future.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The good:
Location is fine. Close to Potsdamer Platz and Shopping Plaza.
Parking is available.
Ironing board/Iron is available upon request (for free although it doesn't say so on the website.. go figure :) ).
Room are reasonably sized and equipped ; just beware that the water, as ofc the mini bar, is not complimentary .
Air conditioning worked well and the room was quiet. There were complimentary city maps available and booking a taxi took all of 60 sec.
Generally the service was friendly except for one female receptionist whose attitude was condescending and definitely not service oriented.
It was clean all around. The bathroom was bordering on luxurious with a great shower and plenty of towels as well as a hair dryer and some basic toiletries. We had hospitality/catering booked as part of an event hosted in the hotel and the food service was first class. Waiters were omnipresent without being obsequious, friendly, catered to our desires and the food was delicious. Well done.

The bad:
25 E for breakfast is ludicrously expensive. We skipped it .
Internet (WiFi) costs 5 E per day and is basically unusable. In room 6012, the signal wavered between 0 and 1 bar on several devices.. quite unreliable and definitely not acceptable for business use if you were looking for that. Websites load very slowly. I don't mind the price so much as the poor quality.
Parking costs 25 E per day which strikes me as somewhat expensive.
Service & coffee/tea: Website advertises coffee and tea maker facilities upon request. Yes you can request it (order from room service), but it costs 10 E per day. The receptionist told me that unless the website says it's for free, it may incur extra costs, and she pitied me for I was surely not widely traveled or I'd know that coffee/tea making facilities is not something commonly found in hotels. Really??? In a 4.5 star hotel in the Western world? Enough said...
The double bed consisted of two twins which kept moving apart on their own, with very soft spring mattresses. We didn't get much sleep on those.

General: Not sure which category of room we had booked as it was part of a pre-booked event but I assume it was a standard/'classic' room. Would we return? Maybe, once they get over the coffee/tea maker and internet barriers and breakfast pricing i.e. accept that a hotel in this category needs to provide a slightly better default service level.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guests,

First of all we thank you for your visit and your detailed feedback, which we have read with much interest. We are pleased, that you were generally satisfied with the location, facilities and service.

Unfortunately, you had reason to complain about some conditions and we formally apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We understand your criticism regarding the Wifi connection and are pleased to inform you that we will be able shortly to offer free Wifi for our guests. The preparations are already under way.

The price for our lavish breakfast buffet is in line with the market in the range for the 4* hotels in Berlin, but we also offer alternative options. In addition to the breakfast buffet you can have a continental breakfast for EUR 9,60 and furthermore you can have coffee, tea, croissants and other snacks a la carte at our hotel bar from 08:00 a.m. in the morning.

The purchase of new mattresses for all rooms is already planned for this year. If you had informed us on the spot about your problem, we would have tried to help you immediately, for example with a move to another room.

Your hint regarding the coffee/tea making facilities we will gladly involve in our future planning.

Once again, we sincerely ask for apology and hope, you will give us a chance to revise your negative impressions by visiting us again occasionally.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Close to Potzdamerplatz and walking distance to the main tourist sights of Berlin. Huge atrium. Large room. Great breakfast. Helpful staff. A great base from which to explore Berlin on foot.....close to art galleries, concert hall, shopping mall and restaurants....yet quiet and relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for visting us and giving your kind evaluation. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back on any future visits in Berlin.

Best regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Fabulous hotel . Excellent quality . Rooms are a very high standard. TV was a little dated, but go out and explore , leave the TV alone !! Breakfast was wonderful . There was a very large corporate event taking place during our stay but the breakfast room had plenty of staff and masses of food to choose from . It's a short 10 min walk to Postdam Plaza. Lots of places to eat there . Taxi cost 10 euros to Check point Charlie. A very comfortable stay and would defiantly recommend the hotel to anyone . Free wifi would have been nice thou .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank JamesBond0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure for us to read your kind comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Thanks a lot therefor and also for your recommendation. Gladly we want to inform you, that we will offer free wifi for our guests shortly. We are currently working on that.

In the hope, that you will stay with us again on your future visits in Berlin, we send our best regards

Sincerely,
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Maritim is a first class establishment where I have stayed on previous visits paid for by my employer. it is near the Philharmonie and the Neue Nationalgalerie and not too far from Potsdamer Platz. It is in fact next door to the must-see Gemaeldegalerie museum. Room elegantly classic, only objection could be a non flat screen TV, not too many channels for anglo or franco phones and no free internet.

A very fine breakfast. no idea what it costs....
a quiet room even on the main street there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stays in our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments about the location, the rooms and the breakfast. The purchase of new TVs is planned for the near future and we hope to be able then, to expand the program selection for foreign guests also. Free Wifi will be offered shortly. In the hope, that we can welcome you back soon as a guest, we send our best regards

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#172 of 634 in Berlin
1,089 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#50 of 634 in Berlin
952 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Berlin

Address: Stauffenbergstr. 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Berlin
#37 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#82 Business Hotel in Berlin
#91 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £64 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Berlin is located in the heart of Germany's capital, between Ku'Damm and Brandenburg Gate. From here you can easily go for sightseeing or shopping. Many sights and shopping malls are within walking distance. The nearby Tiergarten offers best conditions for sportsmen. Whether for jogging, cycling or just walking - on approximately 2.1 hectares pure nature awaits you in the middle of the city. Only a few meters away is the Kulturforum with the world-famous Philharmonic Berlin, the New National Gallery, the Gemäldegalerie and the Kupferstichkabinett. Potsdamer Platz or about 8 minutes walk. Highlights include: Sony Center, Leogoland, Stage Musical Theater, Mall of Berlin, Potsdamer Platz Arcades, Espionage Museum, Museum of Film and Television, Martin Gropius Building and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing