We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Ranked #105 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent three nights here, from arrival to departure we were made to feel like family even thou this is a very big hotel. It's centrally located between Potsdam and Kufustemdame the main shopping centre. Plenty to see and do, once again comfy shoes are a must.
Visits to Reichstag are possible but need to be booked in advance, but with a travel group it may be possible to arrange a group visit sooner.

Room Tip: Most rooms appear quiet and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeBobHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guests,

It's a wonderful compliment for us, that you felt like family during your stay at our hotel. We thank you very much therefor and cannot wait to welcome you again, if you come back to Berlin.

Sincerely yours,
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    492
    151
    38
    13
See reviews for
112
314
95
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights, cannot complain about anything. Nicely decorated room, very good breakfast, helpful staff, nice surroundings, close to the main tourist attractions and shopping street. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Felice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your visit and your kind feedback. We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back on your future visits in Berlin.

Kindest regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for two nights, a great hotel and location, a must to stay at if in Berlin. Food, service, location and a fabulous breakfast. I will be back. Easy walk to Brandenburg Gate and may other sites you will want to see. Good restaurant, high quality. G Cook

Room Tip: Stayed at end of corridor , very large room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest,

Very pleased we have taken note of your very kind evaluation regarding your stay in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you hopefully soon again in Berlin.

Sincerely yours,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel has wonderful 1920's style of décor and is extremely comfortable. The breakfasts offer an extensive variety, in fact we were spoiled for choice. We had an excellent evening meal during our stay, well presented delicious food and good service.
The hotel is well situated just a short walk to the Tiergarten and a comfortable walk to the Reichstag, the Brandenburg Gate and Potsdammer Platz where there are restaurants and shops. A hotel I would happily visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time for a feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would happily welcome you back, when your travels brings you to Berlin again.

Sincerely yours,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights here as part of a Riviera Travel Tour. The hotel has an opulent 1920's/30's style (we imagined Hercule Poirot staying and dining there!) Breakfast was almost too much choice but I especially loved the variety of smoked fish and breads. My husband loved being able to have his egg cooked how he liked it. Nothing was too much trouble for the English speaking staff. My problem is with the odd square pillows in all continental hotels not just this one! They are not wide enough to fit the bed and a bit too long, so need folding in half and scrunching up. A lot of German and Continental things are excellent but not their pillows! We asked for and received very promptly 2 extra pillows but in my humble opinion English (though I guess I should really say British!) pillows are the most practical shape and most comfortable.
As mentioned in other reviews the TV's leave much to be desired, including the choice of channels but hopefully this will soon be improved. We English (British!) don't come on holiday to watch TV, especially in such a vibrant 24 hour city as Berlin but we do like to keep up to date with world events so BBC World News is really a must for us!! CNN just doesn't cut the mustard!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadPat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guests,

Many Thanks for visiting and evaluating our hotel. We are glad, that you felt comfortable in general and appreciated your kind and amusing comments. Of course we understand, that you prefer your usual pillows, but our pillows correspond to the German standard. You know the phrase "When in Rome do as the Romans do." and the Germans think they have the best shaped and comfortable pillows ;-) Please accept our apology for the trouble caused regarding the TV. As soon as we can replace the old TV's, we will also offer more English TV channels. Unfortunately, the amount of assignable channels is currently limited.

It would be a great pleasure for us, to welcome you again as guests, when you visit Berlin in the future.

Kindest regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have just come back from a trip to Berlin having stayed at the Maritim which was a superb hotel. The location is fine. Close to Potsdamer Platz and Shopping Plaza where their are plenty of restaurants of all standards all within a 10 minute walk. If you need to walk a little further again plenty more restaurants. The hotel lobby looks spectacular,a bit like Hollywood and the rooms are very spacious with all your needs although the TV is a little antiquated, but who needs a TV when you are on holiday. The breakfasts were fantastic with a huge variety of everything you could ask for. The bar was good but a bit pricey for teas and coffee.
Staff all spoke good English and were most helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest,

That was a superb evaluation, which we have read with much pleasure. We can not wish anymore, except that you re-visit us soon again! Thank you and best regards from Berlin.

Maritim Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The interior of the hotel needs serious refurbishment. Furnitures are worn out, TV are still box and not flat screen etc. Breakfast variety is good. Location is quite far away from everything except for the large park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry, that we were not able, to met you expectations and you had the impression our hotel is very aged. Please allow us the note, that our hotel is not 10 years old and was decorated deliberately in the glamorous style of the roaring 20s as it should be adapted to the historic neighbourhood, such as the Bendler-Block and Shell-Haus.

We apologise, if you have seen worn out furniture. This is unfortunately inevitable in a hotel of our size, but of course we always try to be up to date with refurbishment. The purchase of new TV's is planned, but we are still under contract at the moment. If you prefer a more lively area for your next time in Berlin, we like to recommend our sister hotel Maritim proArte at Friedrichstraße, near the Brandenburg gate, with many shops, restaurants, theatres etc. in direct neighbourhood.

Please accept our apology for the shortcomings. Nevertheless, we hope that we can welcome you back in one of the Maritim Hotels, when you travel to Berlin again.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#181 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#48 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Berlin

Property: Maritim Hotel Berlin
Address: Stauffenbergstr. 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Berlin
#36 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#67 Family Hotel in Berlin
#78 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#82 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Berlin is located in the heart of Berlin, between "Kurfurstendamm" and "Brandenburg Gate". Exclusively located in the embassy district on the picturesque Tiergarten, it is the ideal starting point for exploration and shopping trips. This luxury hotel, decorated in the style of the golden 20s, has all the amenities you can want. The interplay of classic decor and modern facilities make each stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Maritim Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing